We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Well our reunion (2oth) at The Water's Edge brought us to Westbrook a
quaint Conn. town on the shore. Looking for easy accommodations we opted
for the Super 8 seeing that the majority of the evening would be spent
at the reunion.

Well... we arrived and the hotel was ok cookie cutter. Nothing fancy,
quite a bit of highway traffic as we were about 200 yards from 95. We
checked in, the service was ok, not terribly friendly. Not expecting much
of a super 8 the pool was cold (in mid summer) and the furniture around
the pool was tired and dirty. A dip was out of the question. The
astroturf on the stairs was tired and ripped.

The room was ok, clean but very dated and tired. TV was frozen in
place, likely table wax from decades of waxing. The shower and bath were
clean but tired.

When checking out our rate was 10.00 more than the guaranteed rate that
included taxes and fees... I asked what this about and began in a
lengthy discussion with the manager. Not that 10 bucks is a lot but hey... I
paid already!

Breakfast was a 100 year old pastry in the plastic bag variety. Knowing
the area I opted for D&D down the street. I wrote up something about
this and other in my travel blog at [--]

Basically avoid this super 8 unless you cannot.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 303 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
PA
15
Reviewed 15 July 2005

What is worse? The sound of a car driving over the rumble strips on adjacent I-95, The train whistle in the early morning hours from the adjacent rail tracks or the sound of a truck starting up and idling? You can have all 3 at this Super 8! We did! Even though we were on the side of the property away from the highway and the tracks it was LOUD!

Also, the pool is visible from the state road the motel is located on. My wife refused to use it because she felt like she was on parade for every passer by.

Don't get me wrong, Old Saybrook is a great town we visit it periodically to see friends or on our way into and out of New England. There are other places to stay in O.S. that are not located in such a terrible area, we just thought we'd give this motel a try. The Super 8 was OK, but the location stinks.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, General Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Daggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#5 of 7 in Old Saybrook
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
772 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super 8
Old Saybrook Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing