We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip in CT!”
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick Trip in CT!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had to stay overnight in CT for a meeting, with a very strict budget my options were limited. I found this motel on the internet and gave it a shot. The outside grounds were beautiful, I loved the fountain, I just wished it was on all night. The room had everything I needed, blow dryer, microwave and an iron. The room was cozy and tidy. Overall it was a great stay, and I would reccommend this gem to anyone who needs a place on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
17
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting saybrook and our nephew in old Lyme. The motel is about five minutes from old Lyme but also close to everything we wanted to do and see in Saybrook. Our room was clean and comfortable and we didn't pay an arm and a leg for it!! The man wo runs the front desk was friendly and helpful with directions and places to eat. We will surely visit again and stay here when we do. It met all of our needs.

Room Tip: We had non-smoking king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

If you're in Old Saybrook or nearby in Essex this hotel provides good value. It's spotlessly clean and the rooms are spacious and have hairdryers, ironing boards, fridge, microwave and toiletries. There is also a basic complimentary breakfast of cereal, bread, bagels etc. We found it quiet at night also. The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibertyInnOS, Manager at Liberty Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you, when you come to usa, you are very wel come@ liberty inn.

Thank you
manager
liberty inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The guy at the front desk told us he only had a room with two double beds, which was a ploy to get us to spend $99 instead of $60 as advertised. Whatever. We were tired of driving and just decided to grin and bear it. I slept maybe a total of three hours all night even though I was in bed for eight. The room never really got dark due to the signage out front, the pillows were like sandbags, and there were no fitted sheets on the bed, only a flat sheet tucked in at the corners. That meant that at some point the sheet covering the mattress came untucked and then MY FEET WERE TOUCHING THE MATTRESS! Gross. Plus there were no liners in the trash can, so equally as gross.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two-ships1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Saybrook hotels

Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I would like to comment on the Liberty Inn,, During the Hurricane situation on October 2012, after staying at the Comfort Inn with less than pleasing results, you can also see my comments and situation which myself and 6 other had experienced during a difficult time of need and shelter on their review page, the State of Connecticut has also been notified as they have also broken the law of price gouging during a crisis situation. My posting for the Comfort will be up shortly with the most obscure details on the link below.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g33878-d85825-Reviews-Comfort_Inn-Old_Saybrook_Connecticut.html
The Liberty inn was great, it is a perfect basic hotel with all the amenities you need, Sparkling clean room and very comfortable beds. And mostly I wanted to comment on the Management, I have never been treated so well anywhere I have stayed. I travel for business in total about 4 months a year all over the country. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and 1 star, I have never found anyone who was totally concerned about my stay and if everything met my approval. Very courteous and customer oriented. They don’t have a restaurant however; there are more than enough within a 3 mile drive. Other than that they where fantastic, and not to mention they did not price gouge during the Hurricane. There pricing is consistent honest as it should be.
So if you want to enjoy the Connecticut shoreline, and need a nice place to sleep, this is the place, besides, if your visiting Old Saybrook area, you’re not spending a day inside anyway, Happy travels

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriscraft36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibertyInnOS, Manager at Liberty Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for your honest review.

manager
liberty inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, MD
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Older and very established old school motel. Don't be looking for upscale amenities here. The beauty of this little place is its easy access (right -on- I-95) and relative affordability. The area's hotels are very expensive, even the budget jobbies like this one. Affable and friendly manager has maintained this now dated place well. The pond fountain adds some welcome white noise versus the I-95 at your front door. Continental breakfast...uhm, good for a coffee and donut, and I enjoyed both. Good spot for a quick shower and rest on your journey. Would choose another place as tourista operations central though. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: No pool, workout, wireless, or anything. It's a room and shower on the road, no more. Perfect if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnamukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I booked this motel online for two nights and it was the biggest mistake ever. Upon checking in, I realized that we were the only guests. As soon as we entered the room I realized that we could not stay there. It was old, dated, had a huge mirror opposite the bed but the worst was the smell; it reeked of must. I returned to the office and the owner offered me any other room that he had but there was no way we were staying. He was upset but agreed to void the charge on my credit card. This was my error when I was booking. Be wary of the photos that are shown online. "What you see is not always what you really get"!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janyFairLawnNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.8 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
137 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
269 reviews
5.3 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Property: Liberty Inn
Address: 55 Springbrook Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liberty Inn Old Saybrook is minutes from Tanger Factory Outlet, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlet, Gillettes Castle State Park, local beaches, Essex Steam Train/Riverboat, Waters Edge, Connecticut River, Mohegan Sun, and Foxwoods Casino. The hotel offers amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, electronic locks and access via exterior corridors, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Old Saybrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing