We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the Ice Cream!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc - CLOSED

Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kate's fine confections specializes in handmade fine chocolates, candy, baklava and pasties, tea, coffee, artisan hot chocolates, and imported and old fashion candy. On scheduled eveingins by reservation only we host prefixed Moroccan dinner nights known as "Dining at Tissa's". We also offer prepared Moroccan Meals to go to take home and enjoy.
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for the Ice Cream!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were excited to try Tissa's after reading the reviews. But I have to tell you, we were very disappointed. There are only 4 tables in the dining room, and I think we waited close to 90 minutes for our food. We were told it may take a while to prepare, but we wanted to try it. We ordered sandwiches/wraps, 90 minutes????? As a group of 4, well traveled, we didn't really care for the seasonings on the food. Oh well. The redeeming quality of the place lies with their (J. Foster's) ice cream. We did return for numerous visits for ice cream.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy1972100, Owner at Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
If you came on a busy evening it could take up to 40 min for your food but NEVER has it taken 90 min for my food to leave the kitchen. The only thing I can thing that could have caused a delay of that incredible nature is if your ticket had been pushed to the back of the orders by accident. I cook to order as the orders come into the kitchen. If this was the case I do apologize. Moroccan food, to me, is one of the most incredible cuisines of the world but it is not to for everyone. John at J. Fosters does and incredible job making ice cream for us and I am pleased that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tissa’s was a delightful surprise. The food is exquisite and exotic. I grew up on Middle Eastern food (Greek) and this Moroccan is a whole different take. We had Lamb tagine, which they gladly split to share and it was plenty for two. Lamb, potato, vegetables and fruit served over just the best couscous. We ordered it spicy and it was not so hot as to take away from the taste. And what taste – fresh, flavorful and full.
They have their own line of homemade ice cream in flavors both familiar (butter pecan) and exotic (rose). The Moroccan ice cream flavor was full of dates, figs, nuts and sweet spice (I think cardamom). It was grand. You order by the scoop 1, 2 or 3 in a cup or cone. This is real, rich ice cream.
The service was great too. Place your order at the counter inside and take seats inside or out and they bring your food and return to see if you need anything else. Drinks are limited to tea, exotic juices (like aloe pomegranate) and soft drinks. I imagine they allow you to bring wine but call and ask first.
If you visited when the place was an ice cream bar with Middle Eastern and North African groceries, it is far better now as a restaurant. The groceries now are mostly a vast selection of Moroccan candy and dried fruit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, and great staff. A new favorite!! Very authentic food with lots of flavor. The staff are very friendly and kind.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holy Moroc-amoly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

First time tried this restaurant. TERRIFIC! Odd little ice cream parlor with N. African over tones but a tasteful delight. I had apricot chicken tagine, hubby had lamb sausage tagine. Both came tihe a sa lovely salad, bread with oil and all wonderful. You've gotta give it a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrierGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you are anywhere near Old Saybrook you should stop in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We randomly picked this one from Tripadvisor when we were in the area, I am glad we did. Tripadvisor having this number one is spot on. Unfortunately for us a bit far away for a regular stop but anytime we are driving north I will find an excuse to stop in. We had one Tangier and one Hummus Kawarma followed up by some turkish delight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tissa's Le Souk du Maroc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing