We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mike's Deli and Restaurant - CLOSED

Mike's Deli and Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Italian, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Out for a Sunday drive. I was looking for a
Nice restaurant for lunch. I seen the reviews and they sounded good.
I had a bowl of chicken soup with a Reuben. It tasted like home cook meal.
There's a lot of sandwiches to choose from. I enjoyed the lunch and will
Return if in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank popib56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in on our way down 95 and were greeted with a smile from Mike. Food was great and they were very hospitable.

Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-G-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best prime rib in the state”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you're looking for real, home cooked food come to Mike's. Though known for their prime rib, all their meals are superb. Mike and Adam create delicious meals and you'll never leave hungry. If you can, sit at the bar, meet new friends and watch the chefs cook. Our favorite place to eat...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on the CT Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited Mike's Deli and Restaurant for a Friday night, and had to make a reservation for the bar area! But I understand why...the bar overlooks the kitchen, and you can see your meal being prepared in front of you. This little restaurant, right on Boston Post Road (US Rt.1), is a little gem. Since the meats come from the Deli side, and Mike is a butcher by trade, you can be sure that the menu is fabulous when it comes to steaks and ribs. But, don't be fooled, because their seafood is fresh, pasta dishes are creative, and the appetizers are unique. Want to "tweak" the dish a little (add garlic, sub broccoli for potatoes, no problem, the chefs are there to please. You have to try this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachguy341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Frustrated waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We should have left as soon as we came through the door! The woman behind the counter could not have been more rude. Sarcastic and just on the edge with her attitude. There are plenty of places in town that have great sandwiches so I will never subject myself or my husband to such obnoxious service again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Deli and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing