We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for lunch”

Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co.
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for lunch”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Being true to their name we stopped for a cup of clam chowder and and hot pastrami sandwich.
The soups are homemade and wonderful, and the sandwiches are generously filled. Clean and reasonably priced, I suggest frequent visits especially during the off season (Sept. thru May).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 243CuisineExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great soup selections for non-vegans”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I'm not a vegan but I'm not a big fan of cream based soups and traditionally I've preferred a vegan based soup (except for Manhattan clam chowder). In that respect, they don't offer a lot of selections. My husband LOVES their NE clam chowder. Their brownies and gelatos are out of this world!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineIndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lunch supreme”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

not a fancy place, but simply the best soup and sandwiches! It is immaculate, and one can watch the food being prepared ... all soups are pureed, but the flavor is outstanding ... potato leek asparagus is my favorite ... have always been more than satisfied with salad or sandwiches ... fresh products, creative combinations, and bright, sunny environment

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCV_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Don't miss this restaurant!!! They have such creative,interesting food. It's fresh made. And it's quality!! During a 3 day stay we were there twice. Soups are delightful. Asparagus Potato Leek was just delightful. My sister had the Shrimp&Bell Pepper Bisque, also delightful. The strawberry Gorgonzola Arugula salad was so fresh and large enough to share. The Atlantic Tuna salad on the multigrain bread was very,very good. Desserts were also great! We shared the Tiramisu and Mousse, I couldn't decide which was better. Oh, they also had a Garlic Spinach Aioli served with toasted bread that was amazing! The decor is bright and inviting. They have outdoor seating as well. The staff was super friendly and the food was served quickly. Be sure to give this place a try when in the area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissUla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great new place for casual meal”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had a nice meal there last evening. The butternut soup was delicious as was the strawberry Gorgonzola salad. My friends had a couple of the sandwiches and they were also great. We sat outside although there isn't much of a view. The decor inside was nice and bright. Would definitely stop in again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMandGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co. also viewed

 

Been to Saybrook Soup and Sandwich Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing