We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Monroe MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Miss it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When in Old Saybrook, CT, be sure to make time for some food at Luigi's. As you pull into the parking lot do not let the fact the lot may be full stop you from finding a spot and going inside. No matter where you sit the menu is excellent. It started with an excellent antipasto and the bread was both fresh and warm. You could see the steam rising from the basket as you nibbled the antipasto. I ordered the Scrod Putanesca and it was excellent. My wife ordered the fettucini with broccoli rabe. It was good but she felt it needed a little seasoning. Though the restaurant was busy, there was not much of a wait and the staff was quick and attentive. Like I said make time for Luigi's you won't be disappointed. If you stop in on a Friday night there will be some entertainment so be prepared for that as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value. Even when busy, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went last night, Sat during during the summer (shoreline weekends are bedlam). Sat us within 15 minutes of our reservation. Good hearty food; large portions. Decent pizza. About $20 p/serving (large enough for 1.5 -2 people). Might order an appetizer and one dinner for 2 people... decent wine and beer selection. Very lively.

The restaurant is packed for a reason. Worth your trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CodyLuckyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is by far my favorite place to eat when I am in the area. The service is friendly and efficient but the food is out of this world. I have never had a bad meal here ever and the portions are huge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Living locally we have visited Luigi's on several occasions. It is a good, family-friendly restaurant. While friendly, sometimes the service is a bit slow. The food portions are generous and overall, we have been happy with our experiences.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hadn't been here in years, but always loved it. We were in the neighborhood with friends and decided to try it again. The service was relaxed and friendly. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The servings were ample.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing