We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local restaurant”

Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We needed a place for an early dinner on Saturday between two family events. A friend who lives in Old Saybrook recommended the Penny Lane Pub. It was a delight. It is a charming restaurant in an English pub style with a nice variety on the menu even for kids--we had two 8 year olds. The food was quite nice and the service was good. They had an interesting Oktober Fest menu for the weekend as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainelovers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    112
    45
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
253 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Local Pub highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Penny Lane Pub was recommended by several locals for their awesome lunches and we for sure were not disappointed. It was crowded enough that we chose to sit at the bar, where the bar tender treated is very well. The bowl of clam chowder was as good it's recommendation with plenty of clams and served hot. The club sandwich was also excellent. One reason we travel to this area is the awesome seafood and friendly people and we found both here. I would highly recommend this place and we'll for sure return during our visit next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food bad acoustics.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here yesterday, dinner tonight. The food is very good but being a small place the sounds are really amplified. Do not think people realize how loud their voices are in small places!
Great Creme Brulee and very good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Spot Good Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Average burgers and sandwiches, dependable quality and service. Pub atmosphere and kid-friendly which is not our thing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LIDDAROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been eating here almost every trip to CT over the last 5 or 6 years, and always the overall experience is positive - I guess it is the cross over American/British menu which gives me a bit of home from home - but the quality of the food, the service & the ambience is always of a high standard - Penny Lane Pub is one of my must do restaurants when I am in CT.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing