We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine outside dining”

Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine outside dining”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This pub has consistently good food, from pot pies, hamburgers, and fine dinners. Summer dining outside in the evening is a most pleasant. Inside the bar area is noisy but the environment makes this a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    119
    46
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very memorable”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Everything about this place is completely mediocre. The menu is a little bizarre for a pub that
is trying to be an English/Irish theme pub. They have some odd choices that even include Thai. The food itself was just very bland. I think the chef has never heard of salt or seasoning. I got the hanger steak and my wife got the salmon. They were cooked OK but we found ourselves having to add salt and pepper a several times just to be able to taste something. The best part of my dish was actually the mashed potatoes. The beer selection wasn't very impressive compared to similar pubs I've been to. The service was just OK. They also crammed all the tables upstairs together so that it was a little uncomfortable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattituck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I went to this town for a long weekend and stumbled across this pub. The food was really good. It was so good that we went back for dinner too. The lunch was burgers and they were great. The dinner was really great if you ordered meat but I ordered pasta and was not impressed. The chili had good flavor with a bit of a kick on the back side. The spinach artichoke dip needed less cream cheese more artichokes, spinach and seasoning. The cost for the dip was 12 dollars. The onion soup was very good. The server, named Jeff was such a nice guy. He was friendly and had a great sense of humor. I would recommend eating here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another great lunch at "The Pub"”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Penny Lane Pub on Main Street in Old Saybrook, or "The Pub" as it is known to us locals, has become a prized and loved institution. Beer and wine choices are well selected and the pub food is extremely well done. This time I had a Reuben sandwich on grilled marbled rye bread, chock full of wonderful and tasty meat, just as it should be and rivalling the best deli. At other times I have had fish and chips, done to perfection (just as it is at the other seafood take-out restaurant owner Bob Hanson owns, "Johnny AD's", but that is another great review), perfectly done, tender fried Calamari on a ceasar salad (one of my favorites) and so many other good dishes.
The staff, many of whom have been there for years, are always friendly, attentive and professional. You will not go wrong at this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LUCKEY PENNY”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Penny Lane Pub is always one of our favorite places to stop in and have lunch or dinner. Not only is it a very relaxed and welcoming restaurant, but the staff is always so nice and accommodating. No attitudes here. I noticed some reviews saying that the food is average or not good. The food is PUB food at it's finest. Always good, always fresh and appropriately priced. There is something for everyone. They also have a very nice wine selection. Any season (indoor dining in the cold weather or patio dinning in the warm weather) the Penny Lane is a great place to dine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChillinChetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing