We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint gem in Old Saybrook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Saybrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. After reading so many encouraging reviews, my expectations were, understandably, set relatively high! Our experience met those expectations: the staff were friendly, the property was refreshingly clean, and our room served its purpose of providing a comfortable -- and nostalgic -- experience. Deacon Timothy Pratt is a remarkable little gem in the heart of Old Saybrook. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Deacon Timothy Inn - we really loved our room and found Patty to be very knowledgeable about the inn and the area. We stayed in "The Suite", which is on the 2nd floor of the main building. There are 3 rooms in the Suite - a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi Tub (love!), a small extra bedroom with a twin bed (like something out of the Secret Garden) and the master room. It's conveniently located within walking distance of shops and restaurants. There is a TV and WiFi, which, in our experience, is rare for B&B's. There is also complimentary sherry, coffee 24 hours a day, a corkscrew/wineglasses in the room and guest fridge.

With regards to the noise from the road: yes, it's on a main street. But it's not that loud.

What We Liked: area guide books, sitting area, our room, jacuzzi tub, location, outdoor garden area to relax in, fireplace in room, met greet people.

What We Didn't like: steps to the 2nd floor are very steep - to be expected in an older home, but made it tricky bringing in luggage. Breakfast was good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Street noise from our room was the worse. All windows in room are single pane and the street noise comes right through to the room. It was a warm night so we would have liked the windows open. Room had no fan so no air movement in the room. We found this B&B one step above a motel room. The only positive point was Patti the hostess who served a good breakfast and had a great attitude.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't fact the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeaconTimothy, Manager at Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We apologize that our two lane main street was noisy. Being that the house was built in 1746 the windows are still part of the original charm and it was still too early to install the storm panes. The windows do open for ventilation as well as the ac's are still in the window.
Our staff is always available to assist our guests with any questions or concerns.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I joined Tripadvisor today so am just now getting around to reviews, but suffice it to say I am in love with this B&B. We have stayed here 3 times and it is always just perfect. Loads of charm and fantastic hosts. Thank you for the wonderful visits over the years! Planning to hopefully return this Winter!

Room Tip: The large room with the fireplace or the one with the huge central jacuzzi are both terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

As a facility, this house is just fine. Our room, The Suite on the second floor, was fine. Spacious with a nice bathroom. Lots of light and the convenience of a second room with a day bed.
But service was diffident at best. We called to say we would be about 30 minutes later than expected, but could only leave a message. We arrived to find an open, empty house. No one was there to tell us anything. Then a second couple arrived. They knew nothing about the process of settling in. So, after waiting a while, we just went to our room and unpacked. The other couple could not find their room, The Hideaway. (Ironic, yes) Fortunately, we used the web site to find out the Hideaway is on the second floor of the building next door. The mystery continued. When one guest had trouble with the WiFi, we all pitched in to determine how to make it work. Potential customers arrived, asking if there was a room for them. We guests just shrugged and said we had no idea. Not good for business.
The house stayed open, unlocked all night while we just made do. Eventually, we found an envelope with our name on it that said the proprietors were gone but make ourselves at home.
Fortunately, the next morning, someone arrived to prepare a nice breakfast.
Actually, having no one there but guests encouraged us all to band together to discover what was where and how it worked. We had a very nice group of pleasant guests.
The next morning we departed. We never met the proprietor(s).
There was a lot of traffic noise on the main road in front.
The backyard is nice except for the large number of mosquitos.
In the future, we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The Suite is very nice. More rooms, fewer stairs. The Hideaway is, well, hard to find. It's in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeaconTimothy, Manager at Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We apologize that you did find your welcome enevelope on the front door until later. Our pastry chefs don't stay as late as the proprietor on the weekends, One can always contact the owner as contact numbers are listed in each guest room. Mr. Dunn is never more than a few minutes away. We are having problems with our internet service espcecially if one is staying in the Miss James Building, that is being worked on. We do however always offer 24hr. internet connection in our office upon request for anyone needing to do business related work.
Our goal at the Pratt House is to provide a home-away -from- home experience, with cozy rooms guest rooms, a relaxing parlor with some port wine and in the winter with fireplaces. When checking- in at the appropiate times, our guests are met by one of our staff members. After hours we leave our welcome envelope (with all the information on the location of your room) as stated on our website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently spent one night at this b&b. We stayed in the English Garden room which is actually in the building next door. The room itself was quite nice: painted red with lots of toile fabric. There's a small sitting area and a fireplace. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and there was good water pressure in the shower. And the air conditioner worked well. The main negative for some people would be the access to the room is up a very narrow back staircase with a railing only on part of the stairs. If you have much luggage or have any difficulty climbing stairs, you should ask for a room on the first floor.
Breakfast is served in the main house. There is just one long table so you will likely be joined by other guests (not a negative for me but just pointing this out)-evidently on weekends the breakfast is more elaborate than the fruit and pastries during the week.
The only staff member we met was Patty and she was very pleasant and helpful.
This is not a super high end luxury spot but it has some charm, a good location and is reasonably priced. It was about the same price as some of the generic chains in the area and for me, was a more interesting and enjoyable choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgbslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Coming up to Ct. from Staten Island, I was a little concerned about what would be facing us after a 3 hour drive. Never been to a B & B before. Read the reviews and although most of them were very positive, the New Yorkers seem to have had a problem that there were no locks on the doors. THERE ARE LOCKS ON THE DOORS. Everything was beautiful. The room was charming. The A/C was excellent. The breakfast was filling. The mix of guests was fabulous. I think the best part of the day was chatting at the breakfast table with the guests. The room was small but our goal was not to stay in the room all day. If that is your plan this is not the place for you. The grounds were nice and had the weather been nicer we would have spent more time sitting in the back yard. Everything in the Hideaway room worked. (outlets, there was a hair dryer and an iron, shower worked, ) There were wine glasses and a corkscrew and a frig down stairs.
If you need to be in this area Deacon Timothy Pratt B & B is highly recommended. The only thing keeping this from a 5 rating is that the room was not cleaned during the day. There were plenty of towels but it would have been nice to get fresh glasses and have the bed made. (we obviously could have done that ourselves) Not a big deal

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
1.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
773 reviews
12.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.2 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 325 Main St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2375
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £161 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and enjoy the splendor of yesteryear in this magnificent center chimney colonial bed and breakfast inn listed on the National Historic Register, featuring elegant rooms with fireplaces and whirlpools. Located in charming New England village of Old Saybrook, Connecticut (CT). Built in 1746 by Deacon Timothy Pratt, this charming home boasts many fine original details. The guest rooms are romantically furnished in period style. A formal, candlelit breakfast is served in the elegant dining room w/ fireplace on fine china. Relax in our picturesque grounds with pretty gardens, a 3 tier fountain, inviting sitting areas, and 2-person rope hammock. Located in the heart of the historic district, on a pretty gas-lit main street, walk to quaint shops, restaurants, cafe's, art galleries, coffee houses with entertainment, town green activities, spas, and the water. Next door to old-fashioned ice-cream parlor and cafe; across from an old house museum and pillared white church. Beautiful area for walking, bicycling, and scenic drives along the CT River and Long Island Sound. One mile to beaches, lighthouses, sightseeing cruisecruises, waterfront dining, and waterfront golf and mini-golf. Beach passes, maps, and advice provided! On the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound, Old Saybrook embodies the spirit of a charming, small New England town with a rich seafaring tradition. Come enjoy its charm, beaches, pretty coves and beautiful setting at the mouth of the CT River! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deacon Timothy Pratt b&b
Deacon Timothy Pratt Hotel Old Saybrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing