We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historical B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Saybrook B&B and Inns
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely historical B&B”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a lovely, quaint and historical B&B. I felt like I stepped back in time, walking into the B&B. Everything in the house has been preserved or restored back to it's originial condition. It was great to look at everything in the house and learn the history behind the historical landmark. I was only there for one night but wish I could have stayed longer. I stayed in teh Gambrel Room which was perfect for me. I loved the beams and window seat and the shower!!! It is a really great room! My breakfast was delicious - fresh pastries and french toast that was fantastic. The staff that work here were also super helpful even though I was not there much. Highly recommend if you are passing through Old Saybrook, CT!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    62
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
159
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a nice old house with a heavily carb breakfast. I am afraid we have higher standards for BnB breakfasts, but it was a sort of continental- fruit, several types of sweet breads, muffins, etc. Nice, but not knock your socks off. (We were there during the week so cannot speak for the weekend offerings.) Our unfortunate choice was the room. Just skip the Chimney Room. This may go down as the most cleverly photographed room in hostelry. The chimney dominates the room and if the person on the wrong side of the bed needs to use the bathroom during the evening...look out! The chimney is smack dab in the middle of the route. The bath had a jacuzzi, but there was minimal lighting and the whole bathroom needed a reno. To add to our angst, there Is a Middle Eastern restaurant directly below (this room is in a separate building)and while it was not noisy, the aroma of garlic gets old fast. In addition, all the rooms in the James Soda Fountain building are reached by a most hideous and dangerous staircase. Narrow, dark, steep. Not welcoming at all.

Although we nixed the English Cottage Room based on the pics on the website, it is lovely and spacious in person and we would have been much happier there. Did not see the bath in that room, however.

Room Tip: Not the Chimney Room. Perhaps best to stick to the Main House. In the side building the English Cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Now we decided there is something to be said for Old World Charm, quirkiness and such, but also agreed a bit of up-keep wouldn't hurt.

We staved in the Chimney Room which was nice albeit a bit loud for me, as it is a front room on main street.

When we first got there we were greeted outside by the woman who turned out to be the care taker of the place, Ms. Pat McGregor. A very nice, helpful and cheerful lady. She gave us a quick tour of the place and provided some of the interesting history on the property. She then proceeded to show us our room, which was upstairs through a narrow stairway, down a small hall and out back, via a tiny door with the door handle down around your knees. All cute and not a big issue in the scheme of things. The room had a working fireplace, which we didn't use because it was plenty warm without it.

The bathroom was nice with a few quirks, the least of which is that the plug for a hair dyer is down behind the sink, which meant you needed to sit on the floor to blow dry your hair. The other small issue was the Jacuzzi -which nice, needed a bit of up-keep as the part where the tub met the wall, was a bit grubby.

The first floor in the building we were in, had an Ice Cream Parlor, Candy Store and a Mediterranean Restaurant. I'm to fussy for my own good, so we didn't eat here, but I will say, it sure smelled great, and others we spoke with said it was outstanding.

We did have breakfast each day, and while it was a light breakfast, it was very good.

Room Tip: Not sure if the second house has rooms in the back, but if you are a light sleeper, you might want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Pratt House in beautiful Old Saybrook. When I booked it I didn't realize it was over mother's day weekend but I think we might make this an annual trip! The B&B is a historic house that has just enough upgrades and amenities to make for a relaxing, comfortable stay. We were in the Miss James room located in back of the soda fountain building. During the day you will hear everything going on in the store/restaurant but by the time you are ready to go to sleep all you will hear is the bubbling fountain out back (and only if you open a window). The room is warm and inviting, the bed is comfortable, and the whirlpool bath is relaxing. We spent the day exploring the area and visiting wineries near Mystic. There is no lack of delicious restaurants to choose from throughout the area to meet any budget but you must sample the ice cream on the other side of the bedroom wall because where else can you get Rockin Morroccan ice cream?! The innkeepers are friendly and ready to take care of anything you need. We had a hot breakfast on Sunday consisting of spinach and cheese strata, smoked sausage, and potatoes. During the week they serve fresh fruit and homemade baked goods--homemade not store bought. Coffee, tea, juice, yogurt and granola. The grounds are beautiful as is the town of Old Saybrook. Come here to relax and forget about work for a few days. And if you can leave the kids with the grandparents over mother's day weekend then that to me is a win-win! Already looking forward to the next stay....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRZ_Chickieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at "The Suite" with our 12 year old daughter. The room was immaculate, our daughter was in heaven because her room and our room was separated by pink french doors with lace curtains. Breakfast was great! Beautiful, warm, homy environment. We played chess in the living had some coffee, tea, fresh cookies. The jacuzzi tub was really nice. Everything was perfect!

Room Tip: We chose "The Suite" because it was the only room that accommodated kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianna70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We received a gift of a two night stay at this B&B. we enjoyed our stay very much, our room was very large with a nice bathroom with a spa tub. There was also a fireplace in the room . It was a very comfortable room. The breakfast on Sunday-morning was very good, we shared our meal with some very nice and interesting people...our host Beth was a very lovely person, informative and pleasant. The breakfast on Monday was a mix of very nice home baked breads and muffins. The shopping area was nearby within walking distance, also very nice restaurants nearby. There is an ice shop next door that also makes homemade Moroccan food, we had dinner there. It was great, it is run by two sisters (one was the chef) We both loved the food

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you love a gorgeous, original, historic home with friendly staff and quiet luxury, this one's for you. It has everything you need for a nice stay in a lovely old town.

The rooms are pretty and you have access to a living room, dining room, kitchen and powder room besides your own bedroom. Many of the rooms have working fireplaces and spa tubs in over-sized bathrooms.
You can expect some quirks in a house dating from 1746 - that's 268 years old folks - so if you are visiting in the winter you might expect a draft here or there and you might discover the floors are squeaky in places or a door fits in its opening at an angle. All of this just adds to its charm.

The Inn is located on a sometimes busy road. We've read the reviews posted before ours, and want to say the we stayed in The Library, and although it is at the front of the house, facing the road, we slept soundly. The traffic noise is not much and what is there is mostly there during morning and afternoon rush hour.
We enjoyed two nights at the Deacon Timothy Pratt house during the winter for an excellent price that included a special offer. Excellent value for money and we would highly recommend.

We enjoyed the breakfast of home-baked pastries and muffins, cereal, fruit, eggs and coffee and tea. You will love the coffee-cake muffins if they are available! The B&B has a 'K Cup' machine with lovely selection of coffees and half and half, too!

We liked the relaxed way the Inn is run with the freedom to come and go as you please without having to explain where we are heading, etc, as you might expect with B&Bs that have a reception area. We enjoyed the trust the owner has in allowing the use of his home, which is a wonderful thing these days, isn't it?

Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful home, Richard, and for your professional staff and a beautiful welcome to Old Saybrook, Connecticut.
We'll be back when we visit this glorious area of the country once again.

Room Tip: The Library is easily accessible for those with handicaps or arthritis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffalogirl14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
1.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
727 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
661 reviews
4.2 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast

Property: Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast
Address: 325 Main Street, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2375
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and enjoy the splendor of yesteryear in this magnificent center chimney colonial bed and breakfast inn listed on the National Historic Register, featuring elegant rooms with fireplaces and whirlpools. Located in charming New England village of Old Saybrook, Connecticut (CT). Built in 1746 by Deacon Timothy Pratt, this charming home boasts many fine original details. The guest rooms are romantically furnished in period style. A formal, candlelit breakfast is served in the elegant dining room w/ fireplace on fine china. Relax in our picturesque grounds with pretty gardens, a 3 tier fountain, inviting sitting areas, and 2-person rope hammock. Located in the heart of the historic district, on a pretty gas-lit main street, walk to quaint shops, restaurants, cafe's, art galleries, coffee houses with entertainment, town green activities, spas, and the water. Next door to old-fashioned ice-cream parlor and cafe; across from an old house museum and pillared white church. Beautiful area for walking, bicycling, and scenic drives along the CT River and Long Island Sound. One mile to beaches, lighthouses, sightseeing cruisecruises, waterfront dining, and waterfront golf and mini-golf. Beach passes, maps, and advice provided! On the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound, Old Saybrook embodies the spirit of a charming, small New England town with a rich seafaring tradition. Come enjoy its charm, beaches, pretty coves and beautiful setting at the mouth of the CT River! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deacon Timothy Pratt Hotel Old Saybrook
Deacon Timothy Pratt b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing