We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites”
Review of Monkey Farm

Monkey Farm
Ranked #5 of 83 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Full service Bar & dining-room , great food, large menu, reasonable prices. Enclosed porch, smoking deck, Pinball, Pool & Darts. Wifi Juke-Box. Bar is open Mon- Thurs 9:00am - 1:00am Friday & Saturday 9:00am-2:00am Sunday 11:00am - 1:00 am
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pastrami Rueben sandwich is wonderful, the service is great, the drinks are tall. Try their buffalo wings!

Thank Jakerbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thank You for the great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

After exploring the area and hitting a few wineries we needed FOOD! Lucky for us it was mother's day and we didn't want to wait over an hour to eat so we stopped into the Monkey Farm knowing we just wanted some bar food. We sat in the enclosed porch area and the friendly waitress took our drink order. We had chili cheese fries, poppers, and wings. Everything was very good. Nothing fancy. But exactly what we wanted to soak up all the wine we had sampled!

Thank JRZ_Chickieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thank You for the great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great Lobster Rolls, friendly place and people. Quick service. Good menu..............other dishes look good also.

Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thank You for the great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Monkey Farm has a lot to offer: cheap drinks, decent food, casual atmosphere, accessible location. The staff is pretty cranky and this is a place where the summer "boaters" and occasional groups of Harley-riding dentists, accountants and other monied nerds like to frequent on their inordinately expensive chrome-clad, baffle-void steel sleds. The crowd may look a little rough around the edges, but they are generally nice, harmless old men suffering through their mid-life crises. Don't let them dissuade you from going here. That being said, take my advice and do NOT pound a lot of drinks and think you can drive away from this place -- the Old Saybrook PD watch it very closely and they will bust you before you can get down the block. Go here, enjoy some food and drink and have some fun. It is a nice, casual relaxed place and you will enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PatchMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thank You for the great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Leave your credit card at home—it's not honored here.

Leave your specialness at home—it's not interesting here.

Leave your highfalutin sensibilities at home—they'll ruin your night.

I sat down at the bar with my wife. I'm 61, I'm a Presbyterian minister, I'm bored with preciousness. Just give me people being themselves and not caring about who's important or impressive or influential or perfect. The Monkey Farm is a gold mine for these!

"What do you have on tap?" What tap? What's wrong with bottles?

"Okay, can I see the wine list?" Red, white. What else do you need to know?

"Red, please. What's good for dinner?" It's all good, says the scruffy, grey-bearded, bartender in loose fitting jeans. Here [menu presented].

"She'll have the rib eye, medium, with mushrooms and mashed potatoes. I'll have the New York Strip, rare, with baked."

The bartender keeps his cool, no matter what—no matter how many times the knucklehead ordering to take out keeps offering his credit card, which is not a way you pay you bill here. He punches in songs on the jukebox his patrons seem to like. He takes care of the guy by himself at the corner of the bar who doesn't have anyone with him, though people stop by to say hi. He's got a deep voice and, if you look carefully enough, a kind smile of appreciation for people with the decency to respect each other.

The steaks were perfect. We never saw the guy back in the kitchen, but he knew that medium meant a piece of meat a bit pink in the middle, and rare was honest-to-goodness rare, never mind the caution on the menu about how we're all gonna die, if our food isn't cooked brown and/or limp. The green beans? Green! with a little crunch! The asparagus? My teeth knew they'd been in my mouth!

The prices? Typical for what we ordered, but A BARGAIN for what we GOT.

We live 10 minutes away and will be back again and again. And we'll bring friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank jcwareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkeyfarmcafe, Owner at Monkey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thank You for the great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Farm also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Monkey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing