We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please Run!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Philly suburbs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Please Run!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The room was horrible! The rug was damp,hot water was intermittent, towels were worn thin and scratchy, stained blanket, mold in bathroom. I could go on but why bother. They need a entire redo. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    31
    11
    22
See reviews for
42
37
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I stayed here because I was attending a wedding and this hotel was one of the ones blocked for family and friends. Upon entering our non-smoking room we were met with the unpleasant aroma of a room that had been smoked in for years. We ended up keeping the windows open and the air conditioner full blast to try to air which was horribly wasteful and of no use anyway. In addition, there were stains all over the floor, blood on the blankets, some sort of black streaks all over the pillows, and mold on the bathroom ceiling. We considered asking for a different room, but upon speaking with other friends and family who were staying there it seemed that every room was just as bad or worse. My uncle said he was bitten by bugs while he slept, and another relative was so disgusted by her room that she slept in full clothing to avoid having any part of her body touch the bedding. The one positive is that the horrendous conditions of the rooms gave the wedding guests who didn't all know one another something to talk about at the wedding. I have no idea how this hotel is able to charge $130 per night for a room because this seems like the type of hotel that would have trouble charging $50 per night in any other location. I guess there are limited options in Old Saybrook based on the options I've seen on tripadvisor. Bottom line, you couldn't pay me to stay here another night.

Room Tip: stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shady Side
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Upon arrival the building looks rundown but inside is definately in need of updating and help. My family and I stayed in 2 rooms, both with a strong musty,moldy, smokey smell, very old bedding which was a little creepy to sleep in, (we removed the top bedspread) torn shower curtain, ceing in bat was cracked and ready to come down in some small areas, air conditioers were load and my daughters leaked on the floor in her room. Would never expect this kind of room for $150.00 a night plus tax!..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cindys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at this Days Inn and are very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the rooms. The owners take care of the lawn and the flowers, the parking area was recently repaved and the entrance to the small lobby is attractive and kept clean. The lobby is small with a few over-sized chairs and the breakfast area where a satisfactory breakfast consisting of juice, coffee, tea, toast, English muffins, bagels and 2 different cereals is served from 6:30 till 9:30AM. Basic but included in the room rate. The room we were assigned had a recently updated bathroom with plenty of towels but an old TV set with a good selection of usually pay-TV channels like TCM. A fairly quiet well working A/C kept the room cool. Wireless internet is free (without any code) and available throughout the building. The room was clean and did not smell; being on the second floor in the back we overlooked the lawn and it was relatively quiet.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Service desk was really helpful with recommending places to eat and the rooms were spacious. Good location--easy to find off the highway and rooms were the right price for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMom43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centereach
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

You could not pay me to stay here again! The room was so gross I could not wait to check out. It stunk like mildew probably because of the amount of it found in the bathroom. The bed had some kind of gross something on the side of the mattress that looked like vomit. When we notified the staff they said they would send someone in...we went to dinner and came back to find a nasty used sponge on our night stand and the stain was not even cleaned. The carpet smelled so bad I would not let the kids take their shoes off. We stayed here with family to take the kids on the Essex Steam train for the Polar Express. We were supposed to have adjoining rooms (we booked it months before) and did not get them...I don't think they have any. People said you get what you pay for but this was not even worth a $1.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn11720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stay away from this hotel. Our extended family stayed in four different rooms. All four rooms were disgusting. When we entered the room we were hit by a horrible odor that lingered throughout the night. One shower curtain had mold on it. The beds were uncomfortably hard with sheets that felt like sandpaper. Our comforter had large stains on it. The blanket on the bed had a hole in it from a cigarette burn even though we were in a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.8 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Blue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Blue Guesthouse

Property: Pier Blue Guesthouse
Address: 1430 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1709 (Formerly Days Inn Old Saybrook)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier Blue Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guesthouse with 50 non smoking rooms, free wi-fi, private parking for our guests, hot & continental breakfast, picnic & barbecue facilities and free beach passes. Within walking distance to restaurants. Centrally located near Premium Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Katherine Hepburn Theater, local beaches, antique stores, and historical attractions. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Casino are 30-45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pier Blue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing