We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place - high price for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    31
    11
    22
See reviews for
42
37
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very old and outdated. We felt dirty just being in the room. We were scared to touch table and bed surfaces or walk around room without shoes. We paid over $120 for the room when it was worth about $50.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Although the owners were very nice the hotel needed much updating,
there were signs in the reception area stating they were remodeling, but not sure what was being done. Our room and the other couple we were with needed a big face lift. The rug was old and needed shampooing, the small vanity in the bathroom needed to be replaced, as did the bathtub. for 2 nights underneath our room there was a dog that barked for 3 hours. Told the manager about this they gave us 10% off our bill, not enough as far as we are concerned. The owner of the dog should have been told and put that person and his dog in another room far away from the other guests!!!!!!! Would not stay in another Days Inn again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I booked my room on Booking.com for a short visit to Old Saybrook. I am glad we chose this place because the room was nice and clean and at an affordable price for the area. We had never been to Old Saybrook but will definitely visit again and stay here. The lady at the front desk was really friendly and helpful. She was patient with us and helped us to find places to eat in the area and also directions to where we wanted to go, There is a Italian restaurant very close by, and we would also recommend that. We will be back at Days Inn Old Saybrook again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here because it was the only hotel in the area that wasn't $500/night for the weekend of some friends' wedding. Our room reeked of cigarettes and mold, even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. I saw a big bug run across the floor right before we checked out. Awful. I would have been happier sleeping in my car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CDaly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel in the last 6 months and I have to say the staff have consistently provided great service.

Rates are very reasonable for the area. The room I had was clean and well kept. They were out of newspapers for the day, but I later found the newspaper I wanted outside my room door. Never got a chance to thank them as I left early in the AM but I hope this review helps.

Overall a hassle free and good stay. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Nice backyard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.8 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Blue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Blue Guesthouse

Property: Pier Blue Guesthouse
Address: 1430 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1709 (Formerly Days Inn Old Saybrook)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier Blue Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guesthouse with 50 non smoking rooms, free wi-fi, private parking for our guests, hot & continental breakfast, picnic & barbecue facilities and free beach passes. Within walking distance to restaurants. Centrally located near Premium Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Katherine Hepburn Theater, local beaches, antique stores, and historical attractions. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Casino are 30-45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pier Blue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing