We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful staff and an easy overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Delightful, friendly staff at both check-in and check-out. Basic continental breakfast. Great location in Old Saybrook and one of the better-value hotels in the area.

Room was clean, but had a very musty smell. The window was wide open when we arrived, obviously in an attempt to eradicate the smell. Everything else was okay, though as per some other reviews below, the walls are VERY thin and we could definitely hear our neighbours walking around, watching TV, talking etc. Also, as the smoking rooms are situated on the level BELOW the non-smoking rooms, the smell of cigarette smoke often drifts up into the upper rooms. Not always pleasant.

I've stayed in better hotels ... but I've also stayed in much worse! The lovely staff and clean room make it a welcoming place for an overnight stay, but I probably wouldn't stay here for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ModernWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

When we checked in late afternoon and we were given a room that was far from acceptable. The toilet was dirty an there were dust webs around the windows and walls. There was a very strong bad odor in the room. I asked at the desk for a different room. The second room was better, but not much. There were foot prints on the wall and the smell was mot much better At least the toilet was clean.
I had reserved the room on line at an agreed price. My husband checked us out and they over charged him $30. I had to call them to have it corrected. Some of our relatives stayed at the same time and their room was better. We stay in this area often because my daughter lives there. Take my advice and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Porear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi there,

I'm very sorry your stay was anything but satisfactory. However, I do appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback that I will pass on to the staff. We are working hard now and in the coming months to improve our facility so that all our guests have a pleasant stay at our Inn.

Kind regards,
Sanjay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Days Inn Old Saybrook is a clean, clear and peaceful place to stay that is exceptionally affordable. The management and staff is extremely kind, helpful and friendly. While hotels like "Days Inn" and others like it may not be the "fanciest" around, I found this particular Days Inn more peaceful and energetically clear and calm than most other high-end hotels. As someone who is sensitive to energy and noise, I really appreciated the serenity and safety I felt in this hotel. I would choose to stay at this hotel for this reason over the other fancier, more expensive hotels in the area. Plus, it is located next to a beautiful pond and backs up to trees and nature, which adds to the peace and ambience. I highly recommend Days Inn Old Saybrook, and found it more clean and clear than any other Days Inn I have stayed at. The management is very loving and I could tell they truly enjoy their business and that makes a big difference and is reflected in the quality of life at this hotel. Thank you, Days Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Allison,

Thank you for your glowing review of our Inn! You have a wonderful way with words and you express the essence of our neighborhood very nicely. I hope your journey brings you back to Old Saybrook and our Inn in the future.

As a family owned and operated business, we take great pride in trying to give our guests the most value for their hard earned money. Your kind words are very much appreciated and I will share your review with everyone at the property.

Thank you and be well.
Sanjay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for a business luncheon nearby during the off season in May. Staff were all very friendly and hotel met our needs. We even stayed over an extra day to take advantage of some of the local restaurants that were open. Very relaxing stay. Gotta be careful in the parking lot though as very tight and some of the guests race through it. Very basic breakfast provided free and eating area is very small but got the job done.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm happy to hear your stay was satisfactory and all your needs were met.

We hope we can serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sanjay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall the stay was fine but could have been much better. The walls are so thin that you can literally hear people breathing/snoring next door. I was repeatedly woken up throughout the night and early morning by the people next door by either them snoring speaking or their television. It was the most restless sleep I have experienced in a long time. The rooms were average bathroom was super clean (thank goodness) The front desk was super friendly

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your honest and candid review of our facility. I'm happy your overall stay was fine but I'm very sorry you didn't sleep well because of noise. I hope to have this issue resolved soon so that other guests won't have the same experience.

You're welcome to stay with us again and please mention the issues you had so we can make sure it doesn't happen again.

Kind regards,
Sanjay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank QuantumTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInnOS, Owner at Pier Blue Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
3.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
760 reviews
2.8 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#5 of 7 in Old Saybrook
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
11.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Blue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Blue Guesthouse

Address: 1430 Boston Post Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1709 (Formerly Days Inn Old Saybrook)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier Blue Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guesthouse with 50 non smoking rooms, free wi-fi, private parking for our guests, hot & continental breakfast, picnic & barbecue facilities and free beach passes. Within walking distance to restaurants. Centrally located near Premium Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Katherine Hepburn Theater, local beaches, antique stores, and historical attractions. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Casino are 30-45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pier Blue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing