We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We arrive the day after New Year, on our annual escape from the bedlam of the holidays. The hotel is in a lovely spot overlooking the mouth of the Connecticut river. Our room was in tip-top condition, with a very comfortable bed, linens and room amenities. We had several spa treatments which were excellent, and great value. The fitness facilities were for real, with classes, a great workout room, heated pool, steam room, say an and jacuzzi. This is a family run hotel, and it shows with the very personal service in all areas. Our only dissapointment was the quality of the food in the restaurant, It was hit or miss, The appetizer and entree menu needs attention for dinner, Although the breakfasts and desserts were excellent. At a time of year when hotels are generally quite empty, and the staff can be a little sparse on the ground and disinterested we were made to feel very welcome, and I really appreciate that. Its a sign of great quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequenttravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

From my boyfriends experience with making reservations down to our entire weekend there the staff is top notch. Katelyn, Paulene and Scott were great. Our guest room was so comfortable and the quality of the food was to die for. We ate in the restaurant twice and stayed for the new years eve party. Great job. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele2pt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointMgmt, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

We would like to express our gratitude, to all, for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming your back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is peaceful and lovely. We had a waterfront room which was huge, and quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Giant, immaculate bathroom. (Two sinks, tub and separate shower). The entire property is very well maintained. Dinners were quite good and staff helpful and friendly. Only semi-complaint would be lighting....room didn't seem to offer enough light! But it is a great place for a getaway. Th town of Old Saybrook has a long main street with interesting shops and very old, handsome homes. The Inn is quite easy to reach from Route 95. Can imagine many scenarios where this place would be perfect. We were there for Christmas with family nearby.....we all met for dinner here one night, and enjoyed a private dining room with great service. A very cozy, comfortable get away. Esp in winter, it would be a great place to spend a weekend.....although that is not the season it's known for. When we first arrived at our room, we were sorry not to be staying for a week! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't mind shelling out extra, the waterfront rooms are quite dramatic and lovely. But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We have been twice and love this place. The rooms are very cozy with working fireplaces. Saybrook is a very laid back and relaxing place for a weekend getaway. Make sure to take advantage of wine and cheese tasting in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetrips93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here with friends in early 2011. Got an amazing rate through Travelzoo. Only there one night but really liked it. The front desk staff was very friendly and the view was stunning. We had a waterfront room with a working fireplace. Unfortunately they were remodeling the restaurant so places to eat and have a drink were limited but I understand construction is complete. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Splurge on a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJtoAXA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointMgmt, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for the nice comments. I think you'll really like Fresh Salt. Admittedly I'm biased but the reaction to our new restaurant has been wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I have been here a couple of times before and loved it, so we returned this past weekend with friends to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, and my wife and her friend had great appointments in the spa.

Over the course of the weekend my wife - who is allergic to pet fur - started to get very congested. We also noticed a few dogs in the hotel We asked about pets at checkout and were told that the previous guests in our room did have a pet and that we were in the "pet friendly wing”. We were not told about this when we made our reservations. If we were, we would have asked for other rooms or found another place to stay.

A call to the General Manager by one of my traveling companions on Monday was especially disappointing. He failed to offer any type of apology and said that the desk clerk had misspoken and there is, in fact, no "pet friendly wing," - the whole hotel is pet friendly. When we asked why that wasn't made clear when we reserved our rooms, he said "that would be bad for business”. We were given the name and phone number of the owner / innkeeper – I called him a couple of days ago but have not received a return phone call.

Despite enjoying the property we can no longer stay there if they can't guarantee us a pet-free room. We can also no longer recommend it even to our pet loving friends given the complete lack of understanding of basic customer service by both the General Manager and the owner.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, ask about a pet-free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeFromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointMgmt, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

I'm sorry our phone call went so poorly and I didn't do a better job of communicating. I am also sorry you had an allergic reaction and were uncomfortable.

We can most certainly offer you a room that a pet has not been in. We've always been able to do that.

When communicating with our guests we show respect by giving honest and to the best of our ability intelligent responses. In the future I will give more weight to the emotional component of what a guest is experiencing.

I'm sorry I didn't seem more sympathetic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I just returned from spending Thanksgiving at this lovely little hotel, and had a great stay. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite, which was expensive but large and beautifully appointed, very comfortable, and with a great water view. The hotel itself is very nice, and has an indoor pool, fitness center and full service spa. The setting is picturesque, right on a marina, but there is not much else to do within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel as a relaxing get-away- book some spa services, bring a good book, and relax in this peaceful setting.

We had Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel, and it really exceeded all my expectations. It was served buffet style, with an enormous selection of all my Thanksgiving favorites, and each dish was delicious. We also had breakfast at the restaurant the following morning, and it was just as good. My only suggestion for Thanksgiving dinner is to book your table well ahead of time, since it fills up fast!

There are two reasons this isn't a five-star review. The first is because of a snafu by the hotel that led to our reservation for Thanksgiving dinner being "lost", which we only found out about when we called the day before Thanksgiving to confirm our reservation. They initially told us that they were 100% sold out and couldn't accommodate us, but after much discussion with various managers they did eventually find a spot for us (thanks to Kaitlin!). The other reason is value- everything at this hotel is expensive, from the rooms to the spa services.

Overall, though, we had a great stay and I would definitely return again soon and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordoftheonionrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
762 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
697 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £179 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing