We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice, renovated”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I went for a short Valentine's vacation. We went to the spa and had massages. I've had many massages, and this one was one of the best. The spa is renovated and nice. There is still some evidence of age--like the shower heads, for example, are yellowed plastic--and the whole pool area is pretty worn and aged-looking. But it's a lovely, big pool with hot tub. My husband liked the fruit and nuts they had available for snacking. It's not a spa I would go to for the day, but if you're staying in the hotel anyway, it's perfect.

The room itself was very nice--perfectly clean, quite big, newly renovated with a wood-burning fireplace and a big jacuzzi tub. The view looked out over the parking lot, and beyond that, the water. There was a little balcony, but even if it had been warm enough to go out there I wouldn't have wanted to stand over the parking lot to look at the water 250 yards away.

We ate at Fresh Salt, which was very good. The menu wasn't distinctly interesting or inventive, but the raw bar had a great selection of really fresh oysters.

We ordered room service for breakfast, which arrived a little late and very cold. It was probably very good twenty minutes earlier, but rather disappointing by the time we got it.

Still, I would definitely go again. It's a very nice place for the price, and all the staff were outstandingly friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    143
    46
    30
    18
See reviews for
148
351
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First time there for my spouse and me. We were extremely pleased with the quality of our room. Comfy king bed, desk area, sitting area, microwave, fridge, minibar, largest bathroom ever, beautiful decor, very clean, nice view of the pier / ocean. The restaurant (we only had breakfast) was excellent in terms of quality of food and service, as well as ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 30th Anniversary at this a wonderful resort and spa.
This entire property is so inviting and the staff is wonderful. We had a beautiful room with a fireplace and a great view of the water. We had to call to have the fireplace lit - which at first I was concerned about, but honestly, they responded so quickly, it was not a problem. The food at Fresh Salt was amazing - and I was even talked into trying oysters for the first time! I guess it you are going to try something new you should start with the best. I spent some time enjoying the spa - my massage and facial were great! Again - the staff was so helpful and accommodating. The town also has a lot to offer with quaint shops and restaurants. We will definately return to enoy this property again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room that overlooks the water - the view is so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawnmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We went with another couple and were greeted by a very friendly staff. Bob took us to our rooms and explained all the guest services. Great representive of the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa! The roooms were spacious and very clean. The bar was very nice and the restaurant was great also.
The only negative was that in the hall only, not in the rooms, there was a chlorine smell.
The TravelZoo deal was terrific and we highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copiague, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I planned a last minute retreat for myself and my sister (she was dealing with a health crisis) that was much needed. I found a great deal on TravelZoo, so we were off to CT for the weekend. OOOOOMMMMMGGGG!! To say that THIS was the perfect place for what she needed, what I needed, is a complete understatement! From the moment we arrived, every staff member was completely professional and genuinely courteous. We had fire logs delivered to the room several times that weekend, just so we could enjoy the peace and quiet (sans spouses and children) and renew our spirits. We relaxed by the pool, took a dip in the hot tub, all the while completely enveloped in warmth. We ordered room service for breakfast from the on site restaurant, Fresh Salt. The food was well presented, plentiful and delicious. Kudos to this amazing inn and spa for all that you do! Thank you soooo much to the reservations department and their manager, Betty (you really took care of us). We left there with a peace that goes beyond human understanding......and we will return, again and again!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a sister or best friend, I would recommend a double queen with fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I visited the property just before Christmas as a pre-holiday getaway, it was fantastic. We loved sitting by the fire in our room and we enjoyed lounging in the warm pool area while it was cold outside. The service is always great and the reservation process seamless. I will review the dining experience separately, but it was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit in the spring!

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least a junior suite with a fireplace, so romantic. Worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PankeyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had stayed at this property located at the very mouth of the Connecticut River
-Katherine Hepburn country- in the past. It has since undergone a complete renovation to become an environmentally green property. Reservations were seamless--off season package looked pricey but included $100 voucher for Fresh Salt -on site signature restaurant, and breakfast for 2 the next morning. Our room had a land river view and included king bed, fireplace, sitting area for two, work area, and a very ample bath room with tub and separate shower. All soft goods were well above standard.
Staff was superior,friendly, mixed ages, and very efficient. Old Saybrook is a wonderful old Ct community and the Inn is a vital member and supporter of it. Old Saybrook is the home of the Katherine Hepburn Cultural Center-ie The Kate. The center is a 21st century focal point for great music, and dramatic events. Tickets can be arranged for by the Inn at a modest discount. We had a perfect experience!!

Room Tip: Look for off season specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
136 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing