We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the cost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Let me first say that the inn is very well kept, the bathroom is very nice and the bed very comfortable. The staff at registration and checkout are very friendly. They have a shuttle that will bring you into the small town and pick you up when you call which is a nice perk. Now what I consider to be the bad points. I picked this place to get away for a night to a nice place, that had some entrainment, a happy hour with reasonably priced appetizers to try some new things, have a balcony to sit on in case it rained and have a nice breakfast in the morning. I read reviews and went on the inn's website. The website claimed they had a happy hour with a live band and rooms with balconys. To ensure there were balconies still available i decided to call to reserve rather than book online. I explained to the person I wanted to ensure that there was a balcony to sit on with a view in case it rained. She assured me that they had such a room. I asked about the cost of the room with the morning breakfast for two and it was $403. Per night. Although I thought that was a little steep for one night I figured it was going to be worth it to enjoy a nice night. What I got for the price was a nice room, with a balconey with a tiny table and two tiny chairs that my husband could barely fit on. I could have dealt with the small balcony, but what I had a hard time with was the balconey was not covered so since it did rain as I expected it would, I could not sit on it. At 5:00 we decided to go to listen to the music and go to the happy hour. When we inquired at the reception desk where the band was we were told they were sent home because it was going to rain. Nowhere on the website did it say weather permitting. We then asked about happy hour and was told they don't do that during the busy season. Again nowhere on the website does it say that. Needless to say I was very disappointed for the money I paid, but would just have to deal with it and was looking forward to a nice breakfast the next morning. I don't know if we got there on a short staff day or what the problem was but it was one of the worst breakfast I have ever had. My husband and I both had a glass of juice and he ordered an omelet with potatoes and wheat toast and I ordered two scrambled eggs with sausage, potatoes and wheat toast and we ordered waffles to share. About 5 mins. Later the waiter came back and said they were out of wheat toast. This amazed me since it was only 8:00am and they were already out of wheat toast, but oh we'll we ordered sourdough instead. After what seemed like a long time the breakfast came and it was honestly the coldest breakfast I have ever been served. It had to be sitting there for at least 10 minutes before it was served to us, the toast was like a piece of hard stale bread and came totally plain, no butter, no, jelly, no nothing and there was nothing on the table either. I did not get the sausage I ordered and there were 5 little barely cooked potatoes on each plate. When I had enough of disappointments, I just wanted to leave but I needed to know about gratuities and was told that even though we were on the breakfast package they would be bringing the bill to sign off on which will also show the full cost of the meal so we could base gratuities on that. When the bill came it was a little over $50. In my option they should be ashamed to serve food in that condition and charge that kind of money. I would say that if you want to stay in a nice room ,you don't care about anything else and money is no object than stay here. Otherwise stay away. I would also like to mention that when I returned from my stay there was an email from them asking about my stay and I wrote pretty much what I wrote here. That was almost a week ago and I have received no response from them, not even an Im sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Guess they only respond to good comments and don't care if people are not satisfied. Luckily all was not bad, the next night we stayed at a Hilton garden inn for a third of the price and it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anywearbuthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to reach out to us here and via our guest survey, Sandie. While I'm sorry you had so many disappointing experiences during your stay at our inn, I appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit in such great detail. This kind of feedback helps us pinpoint what we're doing well and where we can improve, and I know yours will help us do just that.

Again, I hope you'll accept my sincerest apologies for any unnecessary frustration we caused you; please know this wasn't our intention.

Sincerely,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    132
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
328
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed four days from June 30 thru July 4th. From the time we checked in we knew we were in for a great experience. We booked a room with a water facing balcony, and that turned out to be a great move, as you can oversee the entire patio area, and listen to the live music that plays on the patio Mon thru Thursday. Plenty of amenities to keep you entertained, two pools, a sauna, a steam room, and a fully equipped fitness room with treadmills, at least 8 different weight machines, dumbells, etc. The bed was the most comfortable we have stayed in, the chairs provided in the room were equally comfortable, and the bathroom was laid out nicely, though there is no Jacuzzi for this room. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Though the Inn is not cheap by any means, it was money well spent, and we never left the property except to bike ride the area during the four days. We ate at the restaurant or ordered at the pool side bar and the food was very good, though pricey. There is a full service spa in the hotel, though we did not utilize it. I would recommend this Inn for those who want to be pampered and are willing to spend a little more money for it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay away from the patio as events are held there, however, if you like to hear li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
The most comfortable bed you've ever slept in? What an amazing compliment! Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at our inn. Hope to have you back again to take advantage of our spa!

'Til then,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
276 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Treated our son to a 2-night stay with his wife, toddler and Miniature Schnauzer. They had a great stay, loved the place. Not a pet-friendly beach, so that was a drawback, but otherwise a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
I'm thrilled to hear your son and his family had such a wonderful time at our inn, Ken! Did you join them on their getaway? If not, we'd love to have you stay with us soon!

Many thanks,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My friends and I shared a wonderful dinner at the Saybrook Point Inn's restaurant, Fresh Salt. We sat outside on the patio with a view of the marina, water, and fire bar. We enjoyed the oysters sampler appetizer and the seafood cioppino along with some fine wines. The service was gracious, and the food was delicious. Our most guilty pleasure was the baked Alaska. The Inn is impeccably well maintained and beautifully appointed. Fresh Salt is a great destination for a romantic dinner or a dinner out with friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for your kind words, Heidi! We work hard to keep our inn running smoothly and looking beautiful, so it's great to hear you took note of our grounds. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're looking for a place to stay in Connecticut!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our daughter's wedding reception was held at Saybrook Point Inn, and families, wedding party and many friends stayed at the Inn. Our guests are still talking about the terrific cocktail party on the deck overlooking the marina and the wonderful reception. The food was delicious, the service impeccable, the ambiance perfect. The rooms at the Inn were spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The staff, especially Sarah and Paul, could not have been more accommodating. The marina staff even hoisted marine signal flags on the dock to spell out the newly married couple's name! All in all, a "picture perfect" wedding celebration at SP!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyFamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you so much for following up with us after your daughter's wedding, Reilly family! It was our pleasure to host you and your guests, and we're honored you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion at our inn. There are few things we love more than a wedding!

I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Paul and Sarah. I know they'll be as grateful for your kind words as I am!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Rooms are beautifully decorated, and very relaxing.
Massage was OK, have had better. Hotel restaurant Fresh Salt was excellent.
Overall experience was great, and nice little gateway in upstate Connecticut.

Room Tip: Request a room with Marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your getaway to our inn! It sounds like you felt right at home in our rooms, which is exactly what we want for each of our guests. Hope to have you back again soon!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I asked for a quiet room and the one we had on the third floor was just that and it was lovely and spacious. The bathroom too was spacious and the shower was hot, a pleasure!
Everything at the hotel looked well cared for and the staff was very pleasant to all. Breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the marina were delicious with many choices. We explored nearby CT towns and so the whole trip was a successful relaxing one for us. I recommend the breakfast package. Ellen S., Newton, MA

Room Tip: We liked 348, no one above you, quiet, king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for your recommendation, Ellen! I'm delighted to hear you and your husband were able to kick back and relax when you stayed with us — that's exactly what we want for each of our guests. We'd love to have you back next time you need a getaway!

'Til then,
Andy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing