We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Blue Guesthouse(Old Saybrook)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Old Saybrook)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clinton Motel(Clinton)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
527
160
49
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
160
49
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh saltthree storiessaybrook pointoverlooking the marinasteam roomoutdoor poollong island soundsmall balconyconnecticut riverwater viewromantic weekendmarina barcouples massagelobster rollnew englandsitting areaon site restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you are looking for a quintessential New England Inn, this is it. It is located in the tucked away, yet lovely, Saybrook Point in Old Saybrook. From the moment you walk into the lobby, you are surrounded by warmth and luxury. The staff is fantastic, and willing to go the extra mile. No task is too small. The rooms are just beautiful. I stayed in a lovely junior suite overlooking the harbor, and couldn't have asked for a better view. The bed was like a dream. One of the most comfortable beds in a hotel that I've ever stayed at. Overall this hotel has a ton of charm, and is worth the cost. Fresh Salt, their restaurant, is worth the visit. Simply delicious dining.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meggyfresh410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Reading that you describe ours as a "quintessential New England inn" made my day! Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for following up with such kind words. We'd love to have you back next time you're in Connecticut!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just stayed here again and used the Sanno Spa as well. The hotel is lovely and the location looking out into the sound, magical. The rooms have been redone since we were here last and they did a very good job on the renovation.
The staff were courteous and helpful. The room was spotless.

We ate at the Fresh Salt restaurant on site and the food was amazing. Great menu.
The Sanno Spa- great massage and products. Shout out to Sarah.

The cons- the pool which is where the sauna and steam rooms are located, was once again filled with screaming children. It's a shame they did not move these into the spa area itself to really make it a full experience in there.
The pool locker room was tiny and pretty trashed from the afore mentioned kids.

We were in room 326 which has a lovely little window overlooking the sound- it also overlooks the back of the kitchen and the staff are out there smoking at all hours.

And just an FYI- They use DuraFlame logs in your fireplace, if you request a fire. Not a fan of that product myself.

Don't want to end on a sour note, as they do so much - so well here. It is a lovely destination hotel and we will return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tojopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for coming back to see us! I'm sorry you found the kids in the pool area disruptive, but I hope you'll understand that moving the sauna and steam rooms is quite the undertaking — one we did not plan on for our most recent renovation. To us, it makes sense for these to be close to the pool, but I certainly understand where you're coming from!

Similarly, I apologize if the smoke from our break area bothered you when you were in your room. That is the designated spot for our employees to relax when they're not working, but I can see how it could affect the guests in 326. We'll be sure to keep this feedback in mind going forward!

Thanks again,
Andy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have to start by saying that we live locally and haven't needed to stay at the Inn for a few years. We first stayed here 11 years ago in a horrible blizzard while scouting an area for retirement. We had such a nice time that we used the hotel several times and eventually bought a house in Old Saybrook. We last stayed a few years ago in the special Lighthouse Suite for our anniversary. We come to the Inn often to eat at their Fresh/Salt restaurant and we're also members of their health club. Saybrook Point provides a great service to the community.

I had to stay here for a night last week due to a serious plumbing problem at home. The Inn has been renovating rooms and is expanding just down the street. The room was wonderful, the bed was comfortable and the staff was helpful as always. And you can't beat the view of the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound, even in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

It sounds like our inn is a home away from home for you, and I couldn't be happier to hear it! Thanks for taking the time to write us such an incredibly thoughtful recommendation. I trust we'll be seeing you at the health club soon!

All the best,
Andy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Saybrook Point is truly a New England hidden gem! There is so much to do on property and this Inn has such a rich historical tradition, it makes for an amazing stay. Even on a winter day, this property offers spectacular bay views, scenic walking and biking paths surrounding the Inn and other amenities like mini golf, a full spa, full fitness center, pool and hot tub.

The Inn’s restaurant Fresh Salt is right on the marina and has great food, great cocktails and an extensive wine list. The entire wait staff and bartenders were all very friendly and helpful. I recommend the burgers, lobster and clam chowder! I stopped by Fresh Salt on a Thursday night which is ladies night and this place was very lively, had a lot of support from the locals and offered food and beverage discounts as well as really nice live music.

The room was spacious, well maintained and had a great marina view from the balcony. Waking up to the sunrise over the bay was a great way to start the day. This property is also green and very environmentally conscious which is a great benefit to the entire town. If you have the opportunity to experience Saybrook Point, you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room over the marina!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks for recommending us, Justin! It certainly sounds like you were able to take advantage of all our inn has to offer, and that's ultimately what we want for each of our guests. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip out this way!

Safe travels,
Andy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the Inn. The room was on the #rd floor large, terracem fireplace and huge bathroom. Located right on the water we found it to be very bright and cheerly. Int he middle of January we are in the outdoor pool - can you believe it! The water indoor/outdoor pool in the 80's....The spa was excellent - had reservations for massages and we enjoyed them. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

We can't wait to have you back, Karen! Thanks for following up with us. Your recommendation is very much appreciated!

Until next time,
Andy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews