We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Saybrook - An intresting town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bethesda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Saybrook - An intresting town”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We attended a family wedding in Old Saybrook over an October weekend. The town Itself is not worth the visit. It is however, near the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound. Both of which are beautiful. The wedding was a the Saybrook Point Inn. A beautiful hotel right-on the river. Apparantley the site was previously occupied by Terra Mar a hotel/restaurant that was a hang-out for Frank Siniatra and the rat-pack. The food, service and decor at the hotel was wonderful. The same could not be said for the accomodation we chose for ourselves. We had rented a "beach cottage" in Chalker Beach (part of Old Saybrook.) on Elinor Road. The beach was a drive from the cottage and not a walk. The cottage smelt musty and the beds were very uncomfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Beeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    145
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
151
353
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Loved the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa. Had a trip pkg that included meals. The food was delicious! The rooms are breathtaking. The staff was wonderful. The town of Old Saybrook is lovely. Very quiet. Just sit & look out over the sound & relax. Check out my photos & dream! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My husband and I went for a few days for our 25th anniversary. Didn't want to go far from NYC, but wanted it to feel like a vacation. The rooms were large and beautiful with a terrace facing the water and boats. For meals we were always seated facing the water and boats as well. The food was great. The spa was fabulous - we had side by side massages and facials the next day. The staff was very helpful, very courteous. The fact that is was a little after the season meant it wasn't crowded and we got a lot of attention, always addressed by name - felt like we were celebrities. We borrowed bikes and had a nice ride, and the surrounding towns are quaint and cute. Indoor pool, steam room, sauna, jucuzzi were great too (wasn't weather for the outdoor pool). All around terrific 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenRuns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We wanted a quiet family holiday somewhere close to New York. Friends from Connecticut recommended the Saybrook Point Hotel but we were on a limited budget. When we contacted them they told us they had two self-catering condos on a property adjacent to the Inn and we booked there instead of the main hotel. The apartment was one of the best condos we have experienced - about 2,500 sq ft, with a large lounge/diner, kitchen, king bed and en suite bathroom on the ground floor; and a large twin bed suite upstairs. Free internet, loads of space and a 100yd walk to the hotel where you can enjoy the bar, restaurant and spa facilities with a 10% discount. To a man (and woman) the staff were accommodating, kind, helpful and pleasant. The food was very good and reasonably priced for an upscale hotel in the expensive US north east. One word of warning for prospective hotel guests - the hotel is a wedding reception sausage machine - one reception on Friday night, one on Saturday lunchtime, another on Saturday evening and two on Sunday - if you were staying in the hotel and were NOT a member of the wedding party I can imagine it being very noisy and intrusive - but over the road in the condos all is blissful peace and quiet. Lovely setting and great for a relaxing time only 108 miles from midtown Manhattan - just don't forget that a 108 mile drive up I-95 can take 4 hours of stop/start driving surrounded by manic New Yorkers trying to escape for the weekend. Be warned!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymraegBeirniaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I just got married at the Saybrook Point inn and everything is perfect. Our wedding coordinator Liz Sullivan was absolutely amazing. The staff thruout our wedding were so incredible. The room we had was gorgeous. I couldn't have asked for a better stay. The pool was great during the day and the waiter was always quck to bring over drinks. The check in was easy and fast. I would recommend this place to anyone. The views are awesome, and the staff is the best. You will find a little peice of Heaven in Saybrook, CT

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwoodDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi-Town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I had the great pleasure of staying at the SPI for a conference and was very pleased with the hotel. The room was large as was the bathroom. Also, the room had a very large flat screen TV and the internet connection worked quiet well.

The staff members were very amicable and efficient. The hotel grounds and marina are picturesque and make for wonderful surroundings. Also, our conference had several meals at the SPI and these were excellent.

I will definitely consider the SPI for a personal vacation, so I can make full use of all the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_B10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I travel with three other friends on an annual three night stay. We stay at different location every year.
Saybrook Point Inn and Spa was a great place to relax and unwind. We couldn't ask for a more gorgeous, clean and beautifully decorated room. The room comfortably fit the four of us. The staff was great and the restaurant food was extremely good. The brunch alone was remarkable.
My friends and I were very impressed with this "green" establishment. Amazing what new "inventions" are available to save energy, water, etc.

The reservationist was extremely helpful.
I was impressed with the waiters at the restaurant.
Service at the front desk was good.
I was not thrilled with the outdoor pool as it was quite small, chairs were at a premium.
The spa was ok, but I have been to better. The steam room and sauna were a big disappointment. Massage therapists were very good.

All in all it was a great place. Would go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
142 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing