We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our anniversary is spent here every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CT
1 review
“our anniversary is spent here every year!”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My husband and I have spent the past few years at this Inn for our anniversary weekend and it never disappoints. The staff welcomes us by name, congratulates us on our anniversary, and seems very genuine in their desire to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The front desk staff knows the area in and out and recommends great restaurants and places to go.
The rooms are extremely clean (and we are picky people when it comes to cleanliness) and spacious. There are always plenty of towels, etc. If you can get a room with a view of the Sound, I highly recommend it. The first year we stayed overlooking the parking lot, and while the room as was pretty inside, the view was lacking. Seeing the fountain and lighthouse is so romantic!
The Terra Mar restaurant on site is worth every penny! The menu is small but the food is superb. Breakfast is included if you buy into one of the many 'packages" available, and we feel it's worth the money also for special occasions-especially in the cold of winter when leaving the premises isn't the best option.
The spa is great, too. Professional, clean, and attentive.
The gym is small, as is the indoor pool. But both are plenty adequate for a short stay.

The only negative (and it's a minor one) is that the TV's do not offer any movie channels (HBO, etc or even pay per view). Selection is limited because of this.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCDCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    145
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
151
353
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PAWLING
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Don't get me wrong, everything was worth it and I guess this kind of experience has always been expensive. I have 2 suggestions. 1. The chlorine in the pool is a bit overpowering, it ruined my wife's bathing suit. And 2. If you are a bit hefty like me, bring your own robe, their "One-size-fits-all" must have been made in country with diminutive people. Everything else was top shelf all the way, from the staff to the silverware, The food to the fireplace, my wife and I were thoroughly enchanted. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Property agents say the three most important things about a house are location, location and location. Perhaps the same is true of hotels - if so, this hotel is unbeatable. We had a huge room with a beautiful bathroom and a balcony overlooking Long Island Sound. In late October I swam in the outdoor as well as the small but nice indoor pool. The restaurant is unpretentious (by US standards) but pretty good - it's just a pity the bar is small and dark. Weekend rates are not cheap but mid-week with AAA discount I regarded this as a good buy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianewestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island,ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We ( 2 couples -well traveled) celebrate a combination Birthday/Anniversary every year in July. I have the awesome responsibility to book this trip. We live on Long Island, NY and will fly, if necessary, to our destination. Saybrook Point Inn and Spa looked perfect for us and we didn't need to fly! We could have lived there! We have been travelling together for more than 10 years, and this was the most relaxing and overall enjoyable trip we have had! We will return!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We were there for a wedding in October. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are great, the locale is splendid, right at the mouth of the Connecticut River. The wedding was wonderful in every way. The staff did a splendid job and the wedding dinner was superb. My complaint? For over $300 a night, they don't do what Super 8 or Holiday Inn Express do for a fraction of the cost and that is include some sort of breakfast! They do have complimentary coffee, but that's it! For breakfast, you can go to their restaurant and buy a $9.00 bowl of oatmeal or drive into town for a more reasonably priced breakfast. One would think at the exorbitant rate charged, an included breakfast would be a given. If Motel 6 can do it, why not this place? For the lack of this fairly basic provision that most hotels offer, I am hesitant to recommend this otherwise fine (and expensive) hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We attended a family wedding in Old Saybrook over an October weekend. The town Itself is not worth the visit. It is however, near the Connecticut River and Long Island Sound. Both of which are beautiful. The wedding was a the Saybrook Point Inn. A beautiful hotel right-on the river. Apparantley the site was previously occupied by Terra Mar a hotel/restaurant that was a hang-out for Frank Siniatra and the rat-pack. The food, service and decor at the hotel was wonderful. The same could not be said for the accomodation we chose for ourselves. We had rented a "beach cottage" in Chalker Beach (part of Old Saybrook.) on Elinor Road. The beach was a drive from the cottage and not a walk. The cottage smelt musty and the beds were very uncomfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Beeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Loved the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa. Had a trip pkg that included meals. The food was delicious! The rooms are breathtaking. The staff was wonderful. The town of Old Saybrook is lovely. Very quiet. Just sit & look out over the sound & relax. Check out my photos & dream! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
142 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing