We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for the Price of Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average for the Price of Exceptional”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My girlfriend was kind enough to purchase a spa package for us at The Saybrook Point Inn in late January 2010. We were looking for the opportunity for a romantic, cozy break for a Saturday evening and based on the statement on the inn's website, expected an "abundance of thoughtful comforts".

We arrived at 2pm, about 2 hours before our scheduled check-in time, and had no problem getting early access to our room. The receptionist handed us the keys and directed us to the elevators. Although there is a bellman desk in the reception area, nobody offered to take our bags or even asked if we needed help. Perhaps this was because we're younger than the typical clientele?

After schlepping our bags to the room we found a nice suite with fireplace and view of the sound. (Our view was technically west - a building of guest rooms was blocking our southern view). One of the first things we noticed was that the bed had goose down pillows and a comforter, which unfortunately I am allergic to. So I immediately called the front desk and requested down alternative bedding. We also noticed was that the room was COLD, and felt a cold draft from the doors to the balcony, so we cranked up the thermostat to 75.

The fitness center was smaller than expected. They had a nice array of weight machines and dumbbells as well as several treadmills and a couple of eliptical machines. It was very clean and was actively maintained.

We headed to the indoor pool area to relax after the gym. Yikes. There was paint peeling off the walls, and the entire area felt a bit dingy and in need of an upgrade. It wasn't horrible - just below our expectations based on the website pictures, and on par with most "chain" hotels I've stayed in for far less money. We decided to soak in the hot tub, and immediately noticed an excessive amount of chlorine in the water. The chemical smell and toughness on the eyes was compelling enough to get out within minutes.

We then entered the "steam room," which looked more like a shower stall. They should just shut this down and remove from it the website as an ammenity. It was tiny and smelled like mold. Yuck. We were too disgusted to sit down and headed to the sauna instead. The sauna was very nice and after heating up in there, were felt we had milked that area for all it had and headed back to the room.

Once our suite had heated up, it was much more cozy and we called the front desk to have the porter light a fire for us. He was up within minutes with one duraflame log. After lounging in our room for awhile, we decided to head to the bar for a drink - the bartender was impressive, and the bar was clean and comfortable.

By the time we left for dinner, our goose down pillows and comforter had not yet been replaced. On our way out we checked with the front desk to make sure they were replacing the linens and they mentioned that the request had been noted. We returned around 9:30 and asked the front desk to send up the porter for another fire.

We arrived into the room and were slightly surprised to find a pile of linens and pillows on one of the chairs. Could it have killed them to have simply remade the bed with the linens we requested? We had no problem replacing the linens ourselves. But we both agreed that for the money, a little higher level of service should be expected - I would most definitely expect the bed to be remade at any similarly -priced resort.

Meanwhile, a half hour had passed and where was the porter with our duraflame log? We called the desk and they said he was sent up within minutes of our request - but we didn't really care. We just wanted a nice fire in the room, not any excuses for why he hadn't arrived. Ten minutes after my speaking with the desk the porter appeared and proceeded to explain that there was a miscommunication with the front desk.

On Sunday morning we had a couples massage and found the spa to be VERY nice and relaxing, and multiple echelons above other parts of the resort. Our guess was that the spa is seperately managed given the high level of professionalism among the staff and the attention to detail in the massage and waiting rooms. One interesting note on the spa: When my girlfriend booked the spa package, the front desk wouldn't book our massages - instead they told her to call the spa directly to book. Um . . . perhaps they could train the staff to handle all the reservations at once?

After the massage we checked out, but mentioned that we were staying for brunch and asked if we could leave our bags with the bellman. After NOT asking us whether or not we enjoyed our stay, the receptionist pointed to the bellman desk and said "You can put your bags over there." Hmm, it's Sunday afternoon, and there is apparently no bellman at the bellman desk?

The brunch was very good and there were plenty of options that would leave most people full and happy. It seemed overpriced and we were a bit annoyed that our package only included a full breakfast and/or $10 credit for brunch as opposed to the full brunch. Worth noting, at check-in we mentioned to the receptionist that we were planning on Sunday brunch, and she never said anything about needing a reservation. So when we arrived at the dining room at 11:30ish on Sunday, we were a bit surprised to find that it was fully booked until 1:30. It would have been nice (and practical) for the receptionist to suggest a reservation when we originally checked in on Saturday.

So overall, our experience was fine but we left feeling that something was a bit off with the management of the resort. The quality of the facilities were uneven, and the employees aren't great at taking initiative or going to extra mile to ensure the complete relaxation the inn advertises. If they were charging the same as a regular Marriott or Starwood, it would have been in-line with our expectations. But since they're charging as much as higher-rated resorts we've stayed in before, we left feeling dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nyctraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    145
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
151
353
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I took my husband for a two-night midwinter Spa vacation to celebrate his birthday in January. The trip was perfect. The room luxurious. The hotel staff and Spa staff could not be more accommodating and helpful. Fireplace in our room was nice, but only paper logs allowed. Might not be worth the extra cost. The pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna were such a welcome respite from the cold. We walked to the "Dock and Dine" for Lobster -- 25% off for mid-week special!
The town of Old Saybrook did not have much, but Essex (10 min. drive) has some lovely shops, a nice Connecticut River Museum, breathtaking views and a wonderful old Pub called the "Griswold" that features live music almost every night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanneSouthamptonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Recently fully renovated, this is a gorgeous Inn. We had requested a water view room and had a beautiful view of the Marina (empty of boats at this time of year) and the water. Very pretty and peaceful. Our room was tremendous (Room 230), as was the bathroom. Actually, quite exceeded our expectations.

I could go on for pages about the restaurant. AAA rates it 4 stars and we fully agree. The Sunday brunch is fabulous as were all of our meals. Really interesting menu (Polenta Fries, anyone?) and everything we had was delicious. We had reservations somewhere else our second night, but after that first dinner, we cancelled them and headed back to the Inn restaurant and were equally delighted. I am a vegetarian and was quite happy with the Pumpkin Ravioli the first night and would have happily had it again, but there were quite accomodating and made me a plate of sides (spinach risotto, etc.) Everything was so perfectly prepared and the presentation was amazing. My carnivore friends were equally happy. Don't miss the chocolate cake with peanut butter - it was completely unexpected - both in presentation and what it turned out to be. That's all I will say - trust me!

Spa treatments were also excellent. It was a very nice Spa experience for all 4 of us. Both guys got Men's Facials (first time for each) and really liked them! The massages were all great - and we needed them! Took a nice walk along the water and ended up right where Kate Hepburn lived. Overall, quite glad we ended up here.

The town of Old Saybrook is lovely too. Plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeChloe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The Saybrook Inn and Spa boasts of having just renovated all of their guestrooms, yet the rooms look tired and old and in need of an update.. The lighting is very poor, with only a small light on each nightstand and a small light on each side of the fireplace, leaving the room very dark in the evening. The carpeting is thin and not soft to walk on. The rooms are extremely drafty and on a cold day, you can actually hear and feel the wind coming through the window. Even without the wind, the room always felt quite cold. We kept our heat at 78 degrees in order to keep our room warm. This is an old, creaky building and should be made more winter proof for the cold temps in the area. The bathrooms are not at all like the pictures on their website which show a beautiful bathroom with marble countertops. In reality, the "marble" is formica that looks like marble and is a very cheap look ! The tile around the bathtub/shower and on the floor also looks like marble on their website and is actually a ceramic tile meant to look like marble. The free internet does not always work, and the hotel admits that. The hotel offers a morning newspaper drop in front of your guestroom door, and they charge for this. I always request a newspaper in the morning when I travel, and I have NEVER before been asked to pay for it. There is one restaurant in this hotel, and while very expensive, the food is good. The restaurant is advertised as being one of the best in the area and it is not -- the food is good, not excellent. The service in the restaurant is good, but slow. The restaurant is also quite cold, with drafts of winter air coming through the windows as they do in the hotel rooms. The indoor pool is extremely small and not worth noting. All in all, this hotel is in a beautiful location on the Long Island Sound, but needs A LOT of updating !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT 06460
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2009

My friend and I visited the spa at old Saybrook Inn for a day of relaxation. We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to a locker room to change into a robe. The robe was too small for me and I was provided another one. WE began with a swedish massage which was excellent and lasted 50 minutes. We were then escorted into a waiting area which was very cold in temperature and only had chairs with ottomans to relax in. That was the only disappointing thing about the whole day. No recliners to relax in after our first treatment and the room could have have dimly lit or had candles, instead it was very bright. Our next treatment was a 50 minute facial which was extraordinary! We then got dressed and headed to the restaurant for lunch. All in all it was good but it can't compare to Norwich Inn and Spa for comfort.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIsaD1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My husband and I have spent the past few years at this Inn for our anniversary weekend and it never disappoints. The staff welcomes us by name, congratulates us on our anniversary, and seems very genuine in their desire to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The front desk staff knows the area in and out and recommends great restaurants and places to go.
The rooms are extremely clean (and we are picky people when it comes to cleanliness) and spacious. There are always plenty of towels, etc. If you can get a room with a view of the Sound, I highly recommend it. The first year we stayed overlooking the parking lot, and while the room as was pretty inside, the view was lacking. Seeing the fountain and lighthouse is so romantic!
The Terra Mar restaurant on site is worth every penny! The menu is small but the food is superb. Breakfast is included if you buy into one of the many 'packages" available, and we feel it's worth the money also for special occasions-especially in the cold of winter when leaving the premises isn't the best option.
The spa is great, too. Professional, clean, and attentive.
The gym is small, as is the indoor pool. But both are plenty adequate for a short stay.

The only negative (and it's a minor one) is that the TV's do not offer any movie channels (HBO, etc or even pay per view). Selection is limited because of this.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCDCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAWLING
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Don't get me wrong, everything was worth it and I guess this kind of experience has always been expensive. I have 2 suggestions. 1. The chlorine in the pool is a bit overpowering, it ruined my wife's bathing suit. And 2. If you are a bit hefty like me, bring your own robe, their "One-size-fits-all" must have been made in country with diminutive people. Everything else was top shelf all the way, from the staff to the silverware, The food to the fireplace, my wife and I were thoroughly enchanted. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Old Saybrook
142 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing