We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They really need to clean that filthy pool” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They really need to clean that filthy pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We recently traveled to Old Saybrook to stay for a couple of nights at the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa. Given its location right on the marina and the way in which the hotel's website portrays the property, we were tremendously disappointed by the outdoor pool area. The pool filter / pump were apparently off, because the water was stagnant and slimy, and the pool liner visibly hadn't been cleaned in a while. Additionally, all of the pool furniture was also dirty (both the plastic frames and the cushions) and very uncomfortable. Not to dwell on this topic, but seeing as how this property has a prime waterfront location, and people on their boats and yachts conceivably dock to hang out at the hotel's pool, you'd expect it to be in prime condition. And don't get me started on the indoor pool area - the air in the room where it's located was just plain wet. Enough said.

The spa was overall a pretty nice experience. The relaxation room is not very secluded, so any noise coming from the salon just a few feet away, or from people walking down the hall can be disruptive. The treatment rooms are not adequately isolated for sound protection, so any conversation or noise from passers-by in the hallway is part of your massage.

The room was very spacious and nice, a definite step up from the common areas like the pool. The bathroom in particular was laid out to maximize space and comfort, with a separate soaking tub & glass-enclosed shower. I don't know if the rooms warrant the peak summer rate they demand even on a weekday, as they aren't all that spectacular, but location contributes to the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SethLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    132
    44
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
329
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The room was huge and very nicely furnished. As it was summer we didn't use the fireplace but it made the room look even more restful if that was even possible. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets and duvet were great. We overlooked the parking lot mostly but had a side view to the water. The little balcony was nice. The Flat screen TV was perhaps 32 inches. I loved the bathroom! Didn't spend a lot of time in there but the benches at the dressing tables was a nice touch. Lots of marble with stylish mirrors. The Chinese accents in the room and bathroom were elegant. I loved the free wifi. It worked perfectly both days. Had breakfast outside at Terra Mar. It was a little chilly but service was good and the food tasty. We spent most of our time in Essex and then continued on our trip to Newport, RI. I wish our room in Newport was even half as nice the one at Saybrook Point!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My lovely girlfriend and I were looking for a relaxing place to unwind after a day at the beach. She had whisked me to the Inn once before on my birthday (best birthday I've ever had!!) and since we were not far away at Hammonasset Beach, we figured we'd try the Inn again.

And again it was great. Our room this time also overlooked the water and it was just lovely. BIG room... Huge, actually. With a slider to a balcony. The bed was wonderful and the linens just perfect. Good things happen in rooms like this. :)

The bathroom was lovely and very high end (marble, etc). The tub was only a standard 5' unit - a soaking tub would have made it perfecto.

There was a wedding the evening we stayed and I was at first concerned about the noise. The reception was on the patio overlooking the marina and just below our room. But the hotel isn't huge and so the number of attendees was small and it was actually fun to hear the music and watch the events from our balcony. The party was over by 10 and we had the only the music of Long Island Sound to lull us to sleep.

The pool is small but fine. The waitstaff is friendly although the by-the-pool food service was s.l.o.w.

All in all - it's a great place. Oh and they rent Vespas. DO IT!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprocacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

My husband brought me to thisproperty for my birthday. From the moment we arrived we received a stellar reception.

We have had the privilege of staying at some of the most premier properties/resorts in our country, and our stay at Saybrook Point Inn was just as luxurious and hospitable as any resort property. The room was beautiful, the meal and service at Terre Mar was outstanding, the location on the coast of Long Island Sound tranquil and beautiful.

And I would like to especially point out the attention to detail and service of Chris that showed us to our room. He was warm and welcoming and on top of his game. It just made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Many thanks to the staff on a job well done. And a great birthday memory for me.

I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BVM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

My wife and I spent the weekend for our 1st Anniversary there and could not have been more pleased. We live in the city and it’s the perfect 2 hour getaway if you love big rooms (especially bathrooms) with great views of the sound and equally good service. The management is friendly, yet professional and genuinely anxious to accommodate. The restaurant food, view, service and ambience are true New England and we plan on going whenever we have the time throughout the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

I took my husband here for a birthday weekend getaway. We didnt know what to expect but just wanted to get away from the city. And boy were we MORE than pleasantly suprised! It reminded me of Shutters on the Beach in Santa Monica, CA. Every detail of the Inn exuded beach cottage elegance (picture it) and nice but not stuffy or over the top. Everyone was very nice and always greeted us with sincereity. Bobby was wonderful and came up to start our fireplace and showed us to our room. The bed was super comfy and room service was prompt and delicious. The Terra Mar is top notch and the servers are wonderful. The food was tasty but the polenta fries reminded me of tofu which is good but not as fries! We toured the grounds and they were nice. The pool room was spacious with nice chairs to relax on and very warm (which is nice because it was chilly outside). We noticed they also had a washer and dryer across the hall from the spa. They also had free wifi in room and free parking. And verrry pet friendly! We didnt indulge in spa services because we were out of time but defenitly will the next time we stay here. We WILL be returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We took a short weekend get-away. I'd first checked here and saw the mixed reviews but our experience was all good. Food was magnificent. The restaurant staff are well trained yet warm. After dinner, we were given the remainder of our wine bottle to take back to the room. As to the Inn, most of the Inn staff were attentive and friendly - for instance, on arrival the bellman explained the layout of the building and their services, and was nicely proud about the Inn. A shuttle van's available to take folks into Old Saybrook. Certain rooms are pet-free. Twice we had them light our fireplace. On Sunday for breakfast were told about an alternative of two other nice restaurants nearby, but in the end we stayed for the multi-course Brunch. One time we stopped at the front desk in an off hour and saw a woman wrapping dog treats. It was the joyous way she answered my questions about it that reflected the warmth we found among all the staff. One older guy at the frontdesk was more formal (i.e not particularly helpful) but once I asked about the Eagle watching cruises in Essex; young woman next to him who wasn't attending to us heard our question, jumped on the internet and printed directions and an answer, all while we were still talking to the other fellow. We didn't see the fitness room, although we looked for it. The pool was well attended. Some reviewers here mention a weekend package, but we didn't know of or have one. Expensive, but we are happy with the Inn and our time there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing