We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Spa Director(Tara) is rude.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Spa Director(Tara) is rude.”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I had a facial with Tara and it was horrible. The prices are high to begin with but to have an aggressive esthetician who was more of an obnoxious salesperson was disappointing. Her style did nothing for relaxation. She pitched every product that was used. It felt rushed and generally not "spa like" at all. The Hotel is okay but overpriced. They are the only game in town on the water so they can get away with it. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were outdated and dirty. They need to clean up their act. It could be a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bw4ol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaybrookPointMgmt, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2010
We really care about our guests opinion. We clearly are interested in selling our products and services.
Once in a while we may get a little carried away and come across as pushy. I will work with our staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We do believe in our products and are passionate about them.
I am sorry we went too far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    137
    45
    30
    18
See reviews for
146
338
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here for my brother's wedding. Had a lovely stay, cannot fault the hotel in any way. Staff are courteous and helpful. For example, the night before the wedding we were staying at a different nearby hotel and came to the Point Inn and Spa for the ceremony rehearsal and a dinner (again not at the hotel) but they arranged for us to get a lift from their courtesy bus when we were not technically guests. The hotel is expensive though, but you get what you pay for. I would recommend the hotel for a romantic break, its a lovely location and the hotel feels luxurious but friendly. The children loved the pools as well. Food quality was very good at dinner and breakfast. The room we had was a standard room but was very spacious and nicely furnished with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueted_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Very nice hotel directly at the harbour. We had the one bedroom suite that was spacious. With two balconys, fridge and supper table.
Nice Indoor and outdoor pool, nice spa with friendly staff.
Breakfast in the Restaurant Terra Mar- very good! Try to get an Bed and Breakfast Special you will enjoy it!
We had a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at this fine place for 3 nights, four days, September 4 to 7, 2010 in Room 301. The room was absolutely lovely and spacious and well laid-out. Our view from the balcony couldn't have been nicer and the bathrooms are beautiful and roomy. The in and outdoor pools were excellent as well as the Fitness Center. The property is one of the best we have every stayed at in that area. We are always traveling, so we can say that knowingly.

The reservation manager, Karen is so helpful and the front desk staff and valets are very congenial. We would highly recommend this fine hotel especially if it can provide a 4-Star restaurant---which they are lucky they have a 1-Star restaurant presently.

The only thing not to do when you stay here is go to their restaurant the Terra Mar Grill. I have written a separate review which we can checkout.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, NY
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

BEWARE of the photographs- they bear NO resemblance to reality. I took my fiance there for her birthday mostly because of the location and SPA. The positives were the room (very large nicely appointed) and the food in the lounge/restaurant. The SPA, according to my fiance was good as well. Everything else was disappointing. The building itself looks like a Microtel, while they have a great location the building is not situated in a way that takes any advantage of the view. The indoor and outdoor pools are small, crowded and reek of chlorine. You cant get down to the water via the dock (its all locked for the boat owners or transients). The lobby is crowded and overly ornate-theres no business center to speak of. While the photos might lead you to believe this will be Ritz/Westin type experience believe me it will be far from it. Not cheap either.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FJBBronxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a great location with clean and nicely-furnished rooms. That said, we were shocked, disappointed and outraged that, after booking a weekend getaway and paying about $400 for our room, we were 1) greeted with extreme rudeness at the front desk at check-in, 2) refused a polite request for extra towels (there weren't enough in our room) and 3) refused seating in the hotel's informal lounge restaurant (even though our children are very well behaved and there were plenty of tables available). We ended up having to drive off-site late in the evening to eat elsewhere! They clearly do not welcome children here. (Our three are ages 5 and under.) A complete and utter disappointment and a waste of money. We vacated the property early the next morning. We couldn't even get the attention of the front desk to describe our experience, and - frankly - we didn't want to waste another minute of our precious family time on this place. If you have children, don't bother. If you don't have children, you may want to think twice about patronizing a boutique hotel that thinks itself above providing basic hospitality to its guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nasdaq6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Everything about this place is lovely. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The baths are large, modern and spotless. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous. The bartender makes excellent drinks. The breakfast is not to be missed. It is hard to find fault with anything at this charming inn. If you are in the area, book it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
20.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Property: Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saybrook Point Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing