We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This Comfort inn has been renovated in the last several years and is in great shape.
The staff from the hotel are very friendly and helpfull. They serve a full breakfast
in the morning and the beakfast ladies are very helpful and courteous. The hotel is
in a great location for Old Saybrook, Old Lyme, and New London. It has a small
restaurant and bar attached but it is a separate operation. The food there is just
bar food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

We wanted to thank you for the great response. We continue to make improvements and hope to see you again.


Sincerely
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

First of all we almost had to cancel room, we had a death in family. Asked for proof, who does that? Cruel! Rooms appear clean but saw a roach and flushed it down toilet, should have saved it because they didn't believe us! Senior discount is pathetic! Way too expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pas3amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for contacting me in regards to your recent experience with the Comfort Inn of Old Saybrook. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a less than exceptional encounter with Comfort Inn.

Comfort Inn takes great pride in delivering quality service, and I am sorry that you did not receive the service that you deserve.

Please contact me with your reservation information so we can discuss your issue.

Sincerely
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Good Points: Accessible to interstate as well as shoreline towns, room size decent, staff at front desk (Julie and Sanjay (sp) outstanding and very helpful .. breakfast staff you couldn't ask for nicer people - particularly Linda and Lauren ..

Not so Good Points: Updating is definitely needed at this hotel. The cover of the a/c heater unit was falling off and more likely than not to be on the floor, the hair dryer housing was falling out from the wall but dryer still worked .. maids were unable to speak English and on multiple occasions during a week long stay just barged in .. no knocking .. no calling out .. just came on in .. they backed out immediately but I ended up having to keep the dead bolt thing on whenever I was in the room .. tub didn't drain for hours after showering ..

Unacceptable IMHO: Management seems to be kind of lax here .. even at check out .. when asked 'how was your stay' it was superficial and disinterested in reality of issues during the stay .. the breakfast area has great staff .. not so great selection of anything to eat, particularly in comparison to other hotel offerings. The fruit was almost 'gone by' .. the doughnuts/pasty certainly not fresh .. the cookies at the front desk were fresher and more tasty than the actual breakfast food offered by this hotel. There aren't any ramps at door entrances to roll luggage in easily .. you have to jump the curb to get to door .. and if you're lucky your pass key is coded corrrectly so you don't have to go around to the front lobby. There is a definite 'stench' of smokers ..

Apparently the head managers work only during the day .. possibly two .. not sure .. but if you stay here you need to catch them when they are there .. the main manager was overheard making negative remarks about workers in their presence .. is unpresentable/sloppy (shirt untucked etc) and could probably use a stay there as a secret shopper to see what it's really like ..

Overall: Location is great .. price isn't too bad considering the area .. and you get what you pay for .. not a whole lot ;o(

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking to avoid the odors and make sure before you accept the room it's all in work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for contacting me in regards to your recent experience with the Comfort Inn of Old Saybrook. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a less than exceptional encounter with Comfort Inn.

Comfort Inn takes great pride in delivering quality service, and I am sorry that you did not receive the service that you deserve. However I am not aware of your complaint/issues.

Please contact me with your reservation information so we can discuss.

Sincerely
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The person I dealt with when making reservations was very rude and not pleasant at all. The young lady at check in was very pleasant, but never saw her again during my 3 night stay. The woman at check-out must have been the person I spoke to while making reservations as she was not pleasant at all. She did not look directly at me, ask if everything was okay and did not thank me for staying there. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room had a frig and microwave. Also, there was an in-door pool. The free breakfast provided was great-had eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yougurt, fruit and donuts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Owner at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for the positive review. These comments help us to be a better Hotel. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We come to this hotel 2 or 3 times a summer. We use to own a vacation house in the area. Our two young grandsons love the indoor pool that has an area where you can go outside to enjoy the sunshine. A free breakfast is provided with the room and includes freshly cooked eggs, breakfast meats, cereal, baked goods, toast along with orange or apple juice. coffee, tea, and milk. The rooms are basic, including a TV and two lounge chairs plus a small table along with what you would expect. It is clean and staff is accommodating. If you take advantage of the pool it's a very good deal. I recommend this hotel especially for families with children.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredonia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Owner at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. These comments are very helpful for improvements. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were in town for a wedding- the bride had set up room blocks for us. We received a reasonable rate, and were told for future visits the AAA discount would be 10%. The lobby was inviting, and the staff was very nice. Our room was ok- felt stuffy and the AC helped a little. The floor looked like it had warped under the carpet- I tripped on bumps a couple times.
The beds were clean and comfy, and the bathroom was clean and well stocked with towels, toiletries and extra TP. Our office chair was a little dirty, but overall we were pleased with the room. The location was great- close to 95 and easy to drive into town.
One of the other couples in our party were across the hall from us and had a very nice room with a fridge and sitting area. We would have liked a fridge...
A few other guests in the party had issues with their rooms- one had to switch rooms due to mold all over the chairs in the room, one couple had a stench in their room that they tolerated, but were not happy with, and another couple had to fix their own toilet because it wouldn't flush when they arrived. When we were checking out I heard one complaint about the plumbing in a shower.
Everyone seemed to enjoy the Comfort Cafe bar/restaurant attached to the hotel.
Overall it was an ok visit- not great, but I would give it another try...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, Owner at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for the review! Your comments will help us improve for the future. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Based on a recommendation from a friend, we stayed here recently for two nights. The room was very clean and decorated in a very modern style with comfortable beds and plenty of pillows. The bathroom was very clean. Our room had a microwave, coffeemaker and fridge (which was great for storing cold beverages before we left for the day). We were able to take advantage of the heated swimming pool. The hotel offers a free breakfast which was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and gave us some good suggestions (and directions) for dinner. We would recommend the hotel to others not only for its close proximity to attractions in the area but also for its “Comfort”. We plan on visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigaily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

I just wanted to thank you for the great response. We hope to see you again.


Sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
2.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
751 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
199 reviews
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook

Address: 100 Essex Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £80 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Old Saybrook (NOW 100% Non Smoking Hotel) is conveniently located off of I-95. The Quality Inn is just minutes from many great attractions including: Essex Steam Train, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods casino, Mystic, Goodspeed Opera house, Hammonasset beach state park, and downtown Essex. Discover spacious and comfortable accomodations at the Quality Inn Old Saybrook. We are proud to offer well-appointed guestrooms that feature a number of great amenities such as, free wireless high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television channels, premium bath amenities, free local calls, and free 24-hour coffee and tea in our lobby. Start off your day with our free hot, fresh and healthy continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, and so much more! Relax, unwind and enjoy in our large indoor heated salt water pool. Business travelers can take care of all their needs with access to copy and fax services, lobby business center and our Fitness room. Great location, affordable rates and superior accommodations make the Quality Inn Old Saybrook your top choice in lodging for Old Saybrook hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Old Saybrook
Comfort Inn Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing