We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay - great location for a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Southington, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay - great location for a decent price”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We've stayed here several years ago and thought it was fine, but since then, they've made some changes that we absolutely loved! The rooms are nice and spacious, check in clerk was very nice and helpful, they now have an indoor pool, bar and restaurant. Since it's not right on the beach and you have to drive a bit to get to it, having an onsite bar was a definite plus. We had teenagers with us, so it was Mom and Dad time at a friendly, lively Saturday night bar (karaoke and very happy crowd). We ate lunch when we got there and I was hoping for a nice seafood selection but the food was very good. Friends of ours booked a motel down the road in Old Lyme and after hearing what a nightmare their room was, we were beyond happy to have found this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    89
    53
    25
    28
See reviews for
117
73
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Average, average, average. Very clinical receptionist--efficient, businesslike--directed us to a room that was spacious, but one of those remodeled old "other chain" hotels. Nothing wrong with that, it's just out of the 70s, that's all. Bedcovers and sheets worn; wore shoes on floor, breakfast unremarkable, value okay. Would not make this a destination, but no harm staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChessyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
I appreciate you writing a review about our Hotel in Old Saybrook. The owners have recently spent more than a Million Dollars in renovations to really make this place special. We also opened our Comfort Cafe which has great food and delivers to the rooms. They also have entertainment on Fridays an Saturdays in the bar. So we would love for you to give us a try again as we feel with the upgrades in service and product, you wont be disappointed! Love to see you back!:)

Ken Spino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The hotel is in need of a overhall. First impression when you arrive is the smell of stale cigarette smoke in the lobby from the front desk staff smoking in the back.We stayed on two occasions. The first time on the third floor adjacent to long term renters who looked like they moved in permantly. We asked to be moved due to the language of the long term renters. Second time the heat in our room did not work. We called the front desk and were told they did not have anyone on call to fix it and it was to late in the evening to relocate our room. I am in the hotel management business and this place is pretty rough. You get what you pay for. The only reason we booked it was due to the indoor pool for our kids to use in November but ended up leaving early. The online site makes it look like a castle.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bostonbrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldsayci, General Manager at Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
I appreciate you writing a review about our Hotel in Old Saybrook. The owners have recently spent more than a Million Dollars in renovations to really make this place special. We also opened our Comfort Cafe which has great food and delivers to the rooms. They also have entertainment on Fridays an Saturdays in the bar. So we would love for you to give us a try again as we feel with the upgrades in service and product, you wont be disappointed! Love to see back!:)

Sincerely,

Ken Spino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I have to go with the majority and say that this Comfort Inn was just fine. I really don't know where the nay-sayers are coming from.

It's not charming or elegant, but you knew that, right? However, the room was spacious, the linen was clean, the bathroom was immaculate and the shower was hot (well, hot enough, anyway) and plentiful.

We paid $112.50 a night (AAA rate) plus tax. By the way, of the various booking agencies that Trip Advisor brought up when checking rates, only Travelocity listed the AAA rate, and they also listed Senior rates.

Two more positives. The free breakfast, though it was just muffins, fruit, and waffles, was acceptable, but the coffee was actually very good -- even approaching excellent. The person manning (actually, womanning :-) ) the breakfast room was very friendly and helpful, especially to the large number of kids who were present. I gave her a tip.

The second positive is that I think I saw signs saying that high-speed internet is free. I didn't use it, so I'm not completely sure; but I think Trip Advisor or Travelocity (I forget which) says you have to pay for internet.

On the negative side, the check-in lady whom we encountered at midnight was rather nasty and the furniture in the room was worn. The furniture thing didn't bother me, but I saw it bothered one reviewer. I didn't find it depressing or shabby or in bad repair; it was just not new. The check-out man in the morning, on the other hand, was just fine.

To summarize, we just wanted a place to stay. We knew we'd be arriving late and leaving early in the morning. If we were going to stay in this beautiful part of Connecticut for a few days, as we've done in the past, and if we had really wanted a base of operations that we'd be returning to often, we might have spent three times the amount for a "pretty" place. But for our needs on this visit, it was just fine, and the price was right.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and spaciousness of the room, price
  • Disliked — Nasty lady at check-in
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2008

My husband and I stayed there for only one night, not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but were pleasantly surprised with overall appearance outside and inside. The room and bathroom were "very" clean and king bed was very comfortable,with extra pillows.
The continental breakfast was "o.k." for free, waffles, bagels, cold hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice,etc... but it was very busy and people had to wait long for their waffles to be made as their was only one person working the breakfast area who was doing her best to accomodate everyone.
My husband would have preferred to go to a restaurant for breakfast but it was enough for me.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MAMATCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2008

friendly staff very helpful nice big rooms loved the indoor pool very clean

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 51murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2008

My fiance and I were staying there due to an outage. We stayed there for a little over a month. We reserved a single and got put in a double with a 'tough luck' attitude from the Manager. Keep in mind we made this reservation a month before hand. Once there, our mini-fridge was broke (full of water) and the handle on our sliding glass door was broke in half. When we asked for them to fix it they claimed they would and never did. The charged my card twice in one week, which caused my bank to become over drawn (thank you bank of America for understanding). When I brought that to my attention they cussed me out and said I was foolish and they did no such thing, I had both receipts (charged twice in one day) and they still wouldn't do anything about it. Finally my fiance came home from a 12 hour shift and brought all the same paper work to their attention. After an hour they finally cleared up their mistake. The manager has an awful attitude, the two female co-workers I had the unfortunate mis-pleasure of meeting were very rude. They had an attitude like, "you are disturbing my online experience, why are you even up here?"

The over all room, aside from everything being broke and never fixed, was ghetto and had an awful smell to it.

I work at a hotel, I understand what it is like to be a housekeeper and a front desk clerk. I was highly offended and feel very over charged from staying there. This is a place my fiance and I will NEVER return to.

  • Liked — Breakfast I suppose
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tumble82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
63 reviews
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook

Property: Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Address: 100 Essex Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1405 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Old Saybrook (NOW 100% Non Smoking Hotel) is conveniently located off of I-95. The Quality Inn is just minutes from many great attractions including: Essex Steam Train, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods casino, Mystic, Goodspeed Opera house, Hammonasset beach state park, and downtown Essex. Discover spacious and comfortable accomodations at the Quality Inn Old Saybrook. We are proud to offer well-appointed guestrooms that feature a number of great amenities such as, free wireless high-speed Internet access, expanded cable television channels, premium bath amenities, free local calls, and free 24-hour coffee and tea in our lobby. Start off your day with our free hot, fresh and healthy continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, and so much more! Relax, unwind and enjoy in our large indoor heated salt water pool. Business travelers can take care of all their needs with access to copy and fax services, lobby business center and our Fitness room. Great location, affordable rates and superior accommodations make the Quality Inn Old Saybrook your top choice in lodging for Old Saybrook hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Old Saybrook
Comfort Inn Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing