We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robinson Club Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Robinson Club Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dream Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been to Robinson Club during the period 24 June – 6 July 2014 and we were in honeymoon. We firstly have to say that since many days before the holyday the Front Office staff has been very kind with us in answering to all our questions and our worries which is natural, we think, to have when you go on honeymoon and you wish everything to be perfect. The travel to Robinson is quite long because of the distance from Male which forces you to take an internal flight and a ship to the resort but this service is very well organized by Robinson itself. When you arrive for sure the only thing you can say is: “wow, we are in Paradise!” The weather was good, the sky blue and the island appears so beautiful. Unfortunately our baggage has been lost during the first flight and it arrived to us just the third day of holidays. However the Management and all the staff has been so ready to help us in this difficult situation that I must say that we didn’t suffer too much for this problem.
The staff is one of the strong points for the choice of this resort because everybody, from the housekeeper, the waiter, the entertainer, the cook etc. to the management, is very kind and always smiling and for this reason you always feel a great happiness.
A special thanks goes to Manager Graziano for his ability to stay near to the guests always making feel that he’s taking care.
The island is not big, you can make the round by feet in 15 minutes, it’s all surrounded by a beautiful coral reef with many different fishes: you can see also turtles, stingrays and many sharks especially if you go snorkelling on the so called “shark corner”. The beach villa we had was great: big, with a comfortable open and closed bath with Maldivian shower. The room cleaned two times a day.
On the island you can find also a lot of scheduled activities which can add something more to do than only relaxing, but, good thing, nobody comes to you forcing to do them;
We had a very good time at the gym (well furnished with modern machines) where the two trainers are very well prepared and where you can find a lot of courses like yoga, aerobic, stretching and so on.
You can go on orgniazed kanoa or snorkling group, there is a beach volley field and during the night there are many events like gala dines, dj set, live music etc … but the good thing is that nobody forces you to do something and if you prefer just relaxing, you can stay in you veranda reading a book or whathcing the stars. Another strong point of Robinson is the food: I’ve been three times to Maldives but this is the place where I had the best food; everything cooked at the moment, fresh, delicious … we enjoyed many hours at the table eating, drinking (the wine included in the full board accommodation is very good) and having fun. So…do I suggested Robinson Club? For sure!
Alessandro and Giorgia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gi0rgia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    39
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
191
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

we just checked in Robinson...what a nice welcome with great food.as i am a comfort lover appreciate the room.amazing word is even less for the garden villa...nice huge spacious room indulge with morden facilities and beautiful outdoor bathroom.thanks to Ruwan nd his wife to make us comfortable with this place

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajpoot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are a family of six with two boys aged 13 and 17, two girls aged 10 and 15. We booked a package deal including air and seven nights to the Robinson Club in early April 2014.

Overall - We were all happy with the resort and what there was on offer in the way of activities. The clientele is mostly German and Chinese, but all the staff spoke English and most of the guests so it was not an impediment to communication or socializing.

Staff - Excellent, they went out of their way to make you feel welcome. They promote a club atmosphere so there is socializing between the staff and the guests during meals and after hours at the resort activities.

Rooms - We booked two rooms, one beach villa for the kids and one water villa. Our water villa was 1113 which was at the end of the walkway next to the presidential suite. Our kids were in 1308. It was a long walk between the two, approximately 10 minutes, but we were fine with it. It helped to work off all the calories we put on at the meals! Plus the further out you are, the more privacy you get. Our porch essentially had a beautiful unobstructed view of the open water. Villas closer in will have to contend with the people taking pictures out on the sand bar, or the water sports jetties. Rooms were very clean, spacious. Water villa had a glass floor in one section that was great for looking at fish late at night.

Meals - All very good. Nice variety. One night was a set menu of five courses which was excellent and one evening was a beach barbeque. Waiters were very attentive.

Dive Shop - Did seven dives and my oldest son got certified. Dive guides were all very friendly, helpful. Boat was good size with plenty of room to wander around. Diving inside the atoll is not as good as outside the atoll. I took a three tank "dive safari" which was by far the best day out. House reef is excellent. Plenty to see and experience just around this island. Did one day of big game fishing. Difficult to time the weather and we had a very rough day. Nonetheless we came back with 4 fish and a fish head. Unfortunately, the biggest catch of the day got chewed up by a shark on the way out :-( Parasailing was good, all of the kids loved it and wanted to do it again. If I remember correctly there is also jet skiing, kite surfing, sailing with catamaran, and windsurfing.

We did a photo shoot with the photgraphy outfit which we were very happy with. We also saw a pod? of dolphins on our boat ride leaving out.

It does take a long time to get there. Once you get to Male, you still need to take a domestic flight to the southernmost atoll and then get a boat ride that takes around 30 minutes.

Our kids were fine and happy with the place, but we did not find any kid specific activities. Our kids are of the age that they can take care of themselves, plus there was a great pool which was mostly unoccupied. Pool bar was mostly deserted during the day. They had a wild pool party on one of the days.

Sundowner bar was a great place to chill out at night and watch the sunset. The main bar was fun in the evening. Sometimes had a DJ or at least some sort of theme night.

Spa was excellent, a little pricey, but we went in twice and had the best massage of our lives.

Room Tip: The further out on the pier you are, the quieter and better view you have, just a longer walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank couchczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at the Robinson Club in March 2014.
I have traveled extensively and stayed at both many 2 star and 5 star hotels throughout the world, and at many,many beach resorts.
I find many of the complaints about the Robinson Club somewhat naive.

The bottom line is when you are in a far away out island like this, you should not expect the same quality of service as if you were in London or NY. Be Real ! Given it's remoteness, the Robinson club deserves an A plus for effort.
Of course, it's not up to true 5 star quality.

Here's my review
Rooms.....nice+ considering the location. A/C very inadequate
Food.... Great Breakfast, average lunch and dinner....
House (no charge) wines were poor quality
Beach....typical for the Maldives, lots of coral in the sandy bottom
House reef...Excellent
Getting there.....requires a lot of patience, plan for 2 hour delays each way

Frankly, if you want a very similar experience with better food, more reliable
connections, better prices, but less prestige,......take one of the better rooms
at Bandos. Its a much better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertmk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

What everyone has said about the amazing snorkeling and beautiful island is correct. So, I am not going to go into length on that. However, I do want to point out a few draw backs that we noticed, so that you know the whole picture before you go:

1. we felt "nickel and dimed" at checkout. Our boat off the island wasn't until 545pm so we asked if we could stay in our room until we left. They said that they had nobody that needed the room that night so it was fine, but only if we PAID $150 TO STAY IN THE ROOM. After spending tens of thousands of dollars for the 10 days we were there, that seemed awfully rude, and left a bad taste in our mouths. throughout our whole stay, they were constantly trying to get you to spend more money, like ordering "special wine" at dinner (not included, only the house wine is, but sometimes they don't even tell you that's an option, and you have to ask for it yourself). I think squeezing guests of $150 at checkout shows no class.

2. skip the "special" candlelight dinner on the beach that they try to sell you. the "lobster dinner" we had there was one of the worst meals we had the whole trip, definitely not worth $99 per person and I'd say it was worse than just going to the buffet. the Friday night theme dinners they do are spectacular, so just wait for those.

3. the water is perfect for snorkeling, and has tons of fish of coral. however, that means it's shallow, and has rocks and coral which make swimming very difficult. it is calm water that is perfect for snorkeling, but don't expect a traditional beach experience with waves and deep water.

4. the cocktails aren't great. we could barely drink half of the pina coladas we had at the pool. stick to beer and wine. their wine is surprisingly good.

5. lots of mosquitos - bring bug spray. we had an overwater bungalow, which probably had less mosquitos than the mainland, but there were still a lot. we were very conscious of always keeping our doors closed to the oustide patio and going in and out quickly but still we were bitten a few times on most nights, and especially when eating dinner on the island - got bitten most nights.

6. if you have an overwater bungalow, you have no guaranteed space at the beach. my husband and I are very fair skinned and have to be in the shade at the beach. all of the beachside bungalows have special palapas and beach beds reserved for them, but the guests with overwater bungalows do not, which means you have to walk and walk along the beach until you find an unreserved palapa that also doesn't already have someone else in it. we were able to find them every day, but sometimes took 15 minutes of walking around. and they were typically by the rockier part of the beach.

7. they do not offer massages on the beach. I guess I'm just used to caribbean resorts that always have couples massages on the beach but when I asked for that here, they looked fairly shocked at such a request. I think it would have been a nice touch to be able to get the massage outdoors in the beautiful weather rather than in a tiny room facing some random trees.

all of this said, we did have a great time, but the $150 extra charge at checkout really stuck out in my mind as absurd and tasteless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just returned from Robinsons, where we would like to go again sometime in the future. The corals are beautiful, it is full of all sized and coloured fish and the food is really absolutely amazing by all standards. There is no question that the Maldives are a piece of Paradise - wherever you go - and most of the reviews talk about this. So, I will not write about the lovely paradise feeling, as I fully agree with all the best reviews. But I also have to agree with Franciso N's review called "Strange island". To explain myself, a list of goods and not so.
1. Transfer is painful. However U plan it, U will probably have a couple of hours layover when arriving in Male ( we had 3 after an all night flight), then U fly one hour by Maldivian air to Kaadeedhdoo airport, 30 min for the luggage transfer to the boat and then another 30 min by boat. Sometimes the plane stops on another island to pick up some more tourists and this is known only one day in advance. For example, the day we left, we had to leave at 13.30, allthough our flight out of Male was at 19.45. When U arrive, U are so tired, it takes about 24-48 hours to be able to fully enjoy paradise. Also don't plan too much for your last day. So if U want to enjoy full 7 days, plan to stay 8 or 9 days effectively.
2. When deciding which accomodation to book, I found it very unclear what beach villa, beach bungalow type 1 or 2, bungalow sea side and bungalow sea view meant. So I asked at the reception and here is what I found out: beach villa and beach side bungalow are one and the same and they are the bigger accomodations to the right of the arrival jetty on the plan. They have a larger beach opening and and the width of the beach is bigger as well. The bungalows type 1 and 2 are the sea view ones, left to the arrival jetty (and going around the tip of the island) and they are called sea view, because the opening in the shrubbery ca be quite tiny at times and the beach is also very narrow in front of them. The difference in price indicates the larger or smaller opening towards the beach. They have all a lovely view and the shade is a godsend. The garden bungalows are the cheaper version, U have no view and probably feel like beeing in the middle of the jungle as the island is styled to give U a Robinson Crusoe feeling. If U can upgrade to something with an even tiny view to the sea, do so. The overwater bungalows are probably more luxurious, but U have to run in the scorching sun over a very long plankway every time U want to eat or do any activity and people from over there arrived flushed at the restaurant even if trying to shield themselves with umbrellas from the sun. And, yes, they do look kind of ugly, especially the unnecessarily oversized wooden planks which take up all the view.
3. A lot of posts mentioned here that the pillows were very hard and thin, so I vaccumedpacked 3 pillows to take with us, as we have problems with our backs. But we found that the pillows were ok and they did not differ at all from those found in other hotels world wide. We stayed in a seaview bungalow. The aircon was quite loud and they had to fix it twice. But the rest was perfect.
4. The food is sublime. Lots of fresh local fish, sushi, sashimi, salads, but also pizzas, pastas, indian food. All U can wish for. Example for the once weekly set menu: vegetable millefeuille, sweet and sour chicken soup, sail fish, Argentinian steak and a dessert buffet, all presented as in a gourmet restaurant, decorated and extremely tasty. Another night of the week we were offered a fish barbecue on the beach. Miam!
5. The sports facilities are excellent. Pilates, yoga, tummy programe, back programme, watergym, PowerPlate, FlexiBar. Most of it for free. Well equipped gym. Perfect to be able to work off a little part of the good food.
6. Snorkeling was great! Much better than the 2 other times we were in the Maldives. Coralwise and fishwise.
7. The water in the lagoon is not very clear, so to see the fish well U have to get out on the rim. The portion between the beach and the rim is quite shallow on the northern narrow part. The bottom is full of corals and stones, so U need beachwear or flippers to be able to get out to the riff rim, and U risk falling down due to waves and slippery surfaces. As well we, as our neighbours (young family with a kid) got some ugly scratches from brushing against corals or stones when trying to get towards the designated exit places to the riff. The water near the other jetty south part smelled a little. So it is not like in other islands where U can have a leisurely swim in the lagoon. Robinsons is really advisable for those who want to view the corals and fish over and over again. U can't get enough!
8. The staff is very helpfull and friendly and they seem to treat the employees much better than on the other islands we have seen, as employees do not tend to shy away from the tourists and sometimes U can even strike some conversations. It is difficult to tip waiters as they rotate all the times.
9. The spa is HEAVEN. Some have written that they found it to rough, but U do fill out a form where U write how U want the massage to be done and they ask U all the time if pressure is OK. So if U can communicate, it should be just as U wished. For me it was perfect.
10. They spray every night against mosquites, but I still got bites. Luckily however, they didn't give me an allergy as they usually do, so I didn't mind.
I wont repeat all the other lovely things. It is really worthwile, well organized and U will love it.

Room Tip: Beach side bungalow or sea view bungalow north side (arival jetty)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Li3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Robinson from 2nd February until 7th February. This was my 2nd visit to Maldives, and first time to Robinson. Like most of the visitors, I was also hesitant to choose this place because of the distance from Male. But on the other hand I wanted to explore one of the best Marine life in the country, which is not anymore available in North Male. The feeling of taking another domestic flight after the long international flight was kind of frustrating. After we arrived at Male we were greeted at the Airport by a Robinson staff, and placed in a lounge, which helped us relaxing the long international flight. Then we took the one hour flight to South Male followed by a 30 min. speed boat trip. At the end you feel so tired, but as soon as you arrive to the island, you forget everything. You feel you came to a paradise. The staff welcomes you with nice welcoming drinks, and snacks. The island is very small, 300mX600m, which you can walk in 20 minutes. But you can get lost the first day, if you don’t know around the area. Food was OK, tasty but a bit salty. Every day there is fresh fish and meet (frozen). Spa facility is amazing, and you get a free 15 min back massage.

The Sunset bar is a perfect relaxing and chill out area. Must try the cocktails. Main bar got the happy hour between 7-9pm (or 8pm). We stayed in a beach bungalow, and it was one of the best location on the island, just next to the water sports facility. I’d recommend this area if you choose the beach bungalows, as it is always less windy and no waves. The only problem were mosquitos inside the bungalow. I had asked the staff to spray my room against mosquitos before going to dinner. Staff was always smiling, and very helpful.

The house reefs are very rich, and at one of the dive with my son, we saw two turtles, one reef shark, and a black ray. That day we were so lucky. If you are a diver, you need to go the Safari Diving, an amazing drift diving experience with lots of sharks to see.

Thanks to all staff, to the front Office Manager Osman, and special thanks to the Diving Instructor Gernott, who made an unforgettable diving experience for me and my 10 years old son.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zagazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villingili
21.3 mi away
AYADA Maldives
AYADA Maldives
#1 of 1 in Maguhdhuvaa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
5.5 mi away
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resor...
#3 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Residence Maldives
The Residence Maldives
#1 of 1 in Falhumaafushi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Havodda Maldives
Amari Havodda Maldives
#2 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
18.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
#1 of 1 in Hadahaa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jumeirah Dhevanafushi
Jumeirah Dhevanafushi
#1 of 1 in Meradhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson Club Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson Club Maldives

Property: Robinson Club Maldives
Address: Funamadua, Villingili 20077
Region: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Villingili
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Robinson Club Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Robinson Club Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Club Maldives Hotel Villingili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing