We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodtunduh Sari
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Jiwa(Ubud)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
84
15
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
15
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsbanana pancakespeace and quietdelightful staffbalinese mealpalm treesducksized poolbeautiful placehome away from homemonkey forestaway from the hustle and bustlescootertaxiubudsettingtoilet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed in Villa Kupu Kupu, for 7 nights with a friend , we had a bedroom each and each bedroom has its own lovely outdoor bathroom, it has a large kitchen/ lounge area , which opens up onto a large private balcony looking out directly over the rice paddies . We were delighted each day in the daily life of the rice paddies with its many ducks, chickens, local farmers, and at night - fire flies and just the beauty of the vista in front of us , sunsets were also wonderful. As we stayed over the New Year period, we also had fireworks in the sky every night. Also at night is the wonderful noise of the frogs, lizards, geckos, roosters …possibly not for everyone… but we loved it.
You can walk to central Ubud (Monkey Forest St) via the rice paddies and small roads in around 35minutes. And it was so nice to be away from the busy parts of Ubud. The property is in a small village of Lodtunduh and it is enjoyable to go for a walk around the area and explore (just not on the main road). All the villas are traditional Balinese dwellings, decorated with local art. The pool is lovely and also overlooks the rice paddies and the staff were lovely and very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we left very reluctantly, wanting our stay to continue. I highly recommend staying here if you want peace and quiet in delightful surroundings and not too far from central Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

When I arrived, I was told I had been "upgraded" - and the room was surrounded by quaint ponds and the sounds of frogs, very bucolic. However, this is in the middle of nowhere, a poor village with absolutely nothing to do; so make sure you have transport.

The swimming pool and restaurant were lovely, quiet and tranquil...UNTIL a drunk, loud and very rude Australian man arrived on the scene smoking. How does a retreat allow smoking in their restaurant??? Unfortunately, his behaviour was so obnoxious, that I decided to miss dinner and made a hasty retreat!!! Into my room!

My room was very dirty, and seemed like it hadn't been properly cleaned in weeks-months; dust everywhere. The outdoor toilet was grimy and so dusty. When I arrived, I was looking at the food menu in the room, and then the Guest Services lady handed me the "new menu" - which just had the same items at increased prices. Very unprofessional.

I enjoyed the sound of nature whilst sleeping. Unfortunately, the floor was literally covered in ants, and seemed to have some food on it. I cleaned up the floor - and it was better after that. This is not an acceptable standard unfortunately.

The Agoda booking website mentioned that booked guests could upgrade to breakfast for 10 000 Rupiah, when mentioned to the guest services lady, she was very rude and actually laughed at me. It was unacceptable considering that that is what they claim in writing on the Agoda website. At least apologise, instead of belittling someone. I don't understand when people involved in service argue with someone, and claim to be right, without even checking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknorth_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Guest Relations Manager at Lodtunduh Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, and any issues raised will be discussed with our staff immediately.
I am sorry that you had an experience with a guest, but unfortunately, who stays with us is beyond our control. We promote ourselves as a retreat, - but we are not a health retreat. Therefore we cannot control smoking. It is really the respect that guests have for each other in a common area that is at question here, and is beyond our control.
We will ensure that menu matters, and cleanliness matters are addressed straight away.
Regards,
Lodtunduh Sari Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed 12-16 Dec 2013, one bed room villa. Best value ever for my 2-week bali, lombok journey.

The property situated in a quite surrounding with view of rice paddies. Room is clean, bed is comfy, furnitures are elegance, and the private garden with the gorgeous landscaping is over the moon.

As we may be the only guests during our stay - the pool is just for us, make us feel like we r staying in a pool villa.

The staffs, the 3 lovely girls, they are the most friendly staffs that we have met in Bali! Thank you guys!

Suggestion: pest control needed. I realised there is a little friend living with us on the ceiling on my last day.

Regards
Qian

Room Tip: The villas
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sino-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is situated a few kilometers from Ubud town centre at the end of a dirt road. Lodtunduh is a poor village and the area surrounding the hotel is visually confronting. We paid up front for a 2 week stay, big mistake. We stayed in a 2 bed villa which had nice views and a comfortable bed and being regular visitors to Ubud at $125 ++ a night we expected much more. What we got was cold showers because of ongoing hot water problems, the staff were very nice but seemed disinterested, with a salary of less than $3.75 a day no wonder. House keeping was of the bare minimum and hot meals very often served cold.many times there were no staff when needed probably because there were very few guests. This was our worst stay ever in ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Manager at Lodtunduh Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

The owners, management and staff of Lodtunduhsari resort appreciate all feedback and we like to respond where appropriate to some of these. It is our policy to refund any parties who are not happy staying with us - a full refund. This is payable on check-in if they are not happy with our resort, or pro-rated if there is a problem with the accommodation which we cannot solve. We do not want any guest staying with us who is not happy! -- We do not pay refunds after the guest has stayed the entire period, and then makes a complaint two months after staying. We understand that there were water problems during this guests stay, and compensation was offered - either to leave, or to use another villa. Both offers were not taken up. We are continually striving to improve our small resort - with an upgraded water well and pump installed four weeks ago. This will end any problems that were experienced during this guests stay.
Regarding comments on our staff - this is very sad to hear. Our staff are never disinterested, and are one of the main reason's we have return guests. Their care and attention is very special, and enjoyed by all. We are proud of our staff, and have the highest regard for the services that they offer to our guests.
Regarding the comments of a poor village, and the pay -- we provide highly sought after jobs for people from this village, and pay the normal industry salary. It is unfair to compare a place, its village or staff pay to the standards that some expect in the western world. It is also not known to a guest exactly the service tips and extra's that are provided to not only the staff - but to the village as a whole. If someone finds a place such as Lodtunduh (south Ubud) confronting, they should not seek to stay in traditional areas of Bali. This is also one of the main reasons Ubud attracts such a high percentage of tourists - travellers like to experience the traditional aspect of Bali.
Regarding our meals, our staff work within their abilities to serve all food hot, and again - this is not promoted as a five star restaurant. It has been created to provide a service to our guests who do not want to venture out - and no complaints have ever been received before.
Most of our guests come to our resort to find peace, harmony and a touch of traditional style that we take pride in. As with any resort in Bali, there will always be upgrades and maintenance, as again - this is not a five star resort. Any problems that are reported to us during a guests stay are monitored and a solution to these problems are sought immediately.
We are very sorry that the guest in question was unhappy with their stay - we would have been only too happy to find a solution, provide alternative accommodation or provide a refund during their stay. It is very hard to find a solution when a complaint is made so long after the guest has vacated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was lucky to have the oppertunity to join my husband in Indonesia as he traveled for work. We took the chance to visit Bali happeninging upon this really special place. If you want a secluded place to chill out & be pampered, this is the place to go. Hiding on the outskirts of Ubud, a 15 min walk or a $5 taxi ride, Lodtunduh Sari is cocooned in the lush countryside.
This is the perfect escape spot. Beautifully private cottages with your own treatment area, at a cost you can only dream of. The attentive local smiling staff did everything to fulfill our requests. That was the tip of the iceburg.The juices were amazing, I never dreamt I could have had that many options. Life is even slower here than it is in Ireland. We ate two evenings meals in Ludtunduh Sari, both freshly cooked with local ingredients & amazing flavours. While the food appears at a leisurely pace, it left us pleanty of time to enyoy the spectacular sunset from the infinity pool looking out over the lush rice paddys. An experience I will never forget. Such a pity it is so far from Ireland.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews