We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise!”
Review of Lodtunduh Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodtunduh Sari
Ranked #1 of 5 Lodtunduh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here with my teenage daughters and friends.
We all thought it was amazing and absolutely loved our stay here.
I never tired of the fantastic outlook over the rice paddies.
The staff are so beautiful and attentive to our whatever we wanted.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Villas are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapphiregreen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Theres not better combination than beautiful place and the nicest staff. Shanti, Yahani and Armay, nobody will be better. So grateful. My best vacation!!! Just make sure to have a scooter or a driver to take you around.
Cristha Reyes, Mexico

Room Tip: Villa Agung is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent a really relaxing time at this beautiful, quiet resort in the middle of Bali.
The room was very spacious, the bathroom outdoors and surrounded by a little garden and pond.
The staff was friendly only sometimes hard to catch.
Breakfast and all other food was delicious, the menu was small but all of the items were freshly prepared.
What was also possible to order food by a vendor from the village, She delivered to the room, nice alternative.
What you definitely need to know, that there is nothing around. It is really a quiet place and the right one for those who want to get away from all the buzzle etc..For a few days exactly what I was looking for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for 3. Weeks and it is simply a home away from home.All our needs were catered for . So friendly , clean and welcoming . Close to ubud centre ..5 min drive ..30 min walk which we found a delight as at night so peaceful away from all the hustle then next day we just arranged whatever we felt like . Food is great and covers all tastes . Value we feel very good at time of writing .

Room Tip: We stayed in the madu villa ..Balinese for honey !! All rooms have good air con ..a must in ubud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It was so peaceful and relaxing that we extended our stay there for 2 more days! We came to Bali to get away from it all and couldn't have found a better place to stay, with very friendly and helpful staff in a beautiful resort, with such wonderful individual details in each room.
We'll definitely be back again......and again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed in Villa Kupu Kupu, for 7 nights with a friend , we had a bedroom each and each bedroom has its own lovely outdoor bathroom, it has a large kitchen/ lounge area , which opens up onto a large private balcony looking out directly over the rice paddies . We were delighted each day in the daily life of the rice paddies with its many ducks, chickens, local farmers, and at night - fire flies and just the beauty of the vista in front of us , sunsets were also wonderful. As we stayed over the New Year period, we also had fireworks in the sky every night. Also at night is the wonderful noise of the frogs, lizards, geckos, roosters …possibly not for everyone… but we loved it.
You can walk to central Ubud (Monkey Forest St) via the rice paddies and small roads in around 35minutes. And it was so nice to be away from the busy parts of Ubud. The property is in a small village of Lodtunduh and it is enjoyable to go for a walk around the area and explore (just not on the main road). All the villas are traditional Balinese dwellings, decorated with local art. The pool is lovely and also overlooks the rice paddies and the staff were lovely and very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we left very reluctantly, wanting our stay to continue. I highly recommend staying here if you want peace and quiet in delightful surroundings and not too far from central Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

When I arrived, I was told I had been "upgraded" - and the room was surrounded by quaint ponds and the sounds of frogs, very bucolic. However, this is in the middle of nowhere, a poor village with absolutely nothing to do; so make sure you have transport.

The swimming pool and restaurant were lovely, quiet and tranquil...UNTIL a drunk, loud and very rude Australian man arrived on the scene smoking. How does a retreat allow smoking in their restaurant??? Unfortunately, his behaviour was so obnoxious, that I decided to miss dinner and made a hasty retreat!!! Into my room!

My room was very dirty, and seemed like it hadn't been properly cleaned in weeks-months; dust everywhere. The outdoor toilet was grimy and so dusty. When I arrived, I was looking at the food menu in the room, and then the Guest Services lady handed me the "new menu" - which just had the same items at increased prices. Very unprofessional.

I enjoyed the sound of nature whilst sleeping. Unfortunately, the floor was literally covered in ants, and seemed to have some food on it. I cleaned up the floor - and it was better after that. This is not an acceptable standard unfortunately.

The Agoda booking website mentioned that booked guests could upgrade to breakfast for 10 000 Rupiah, when mentioned to the guest services lady, she was very rude and actually laughed at me. It was unacceptable considering that that is what they claim in writing on the Agoda website. At least apologise, instead of belittling someone. I don't understand when people involved in service argue with someone, and claim to be right, without even checking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknorth_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Guest Relations Manager at Lodtunduh Sari, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, and any issues raised will be discussed with our staff immediately.
I am sorry that you had an experience with a guest, but unfortunately, who stays with us is beyond our control. We promote ourselves as a retreat, - but we are not a health retreat. Therefore we cannot control smoking. It is really the respect that guests have for each other in a common area that is at question here, and is beyond our control.
We will ensure that menu matters, and cleanliness matters are addressed straight away.
Regards,
Lodtunduh Sari Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodtunduh
1.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#3 of 620 in Ubud
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#11 of 620 in Ubud
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodtunduh Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodtunduh Sari

Address: Ubud Bali | Ubud, Lodtunduh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Lodtunduh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lodtunduh
Price Range: £20 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodtunduh Sari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful brand new traditional bungalow style retreat has houses and villas with ylang-ylang roof is crafted by a local architect. Designed from ironwood, with a mix of wood and glass, the simplicity of this design is based on the desire for peace and tranquility. The villa comprises of 2 king-size bedrooms (air conditioned), each with their own outdoor bathroom. The main bedroom also has a built in day bed, and a bath. There is a loft area with extra bedding and study. The bedrooms step down into a large lounge/dining area with a modern kitchen. Open the doors and step out to a large private deck sitting on the edge of a rice field and overlooking the large swimming/lap pool. Enjoy the extensive views. Private, charming, fully staffed, for rent by owner. Complete with wi-fi, fully self-contained with all kitchen appliances, yoga mats, patio dining, organic cooking, maid, cook, driver, masseuse, we cater for all your needs. Just ask. Whether it be meditation, art, hiking, rafting, nature, corporate retreat, yoga group, family reunion, peace, privacy, wedding, photo shoot, intimate workshop venue- this natural surrounding retreat is for you. Additionally this property forms part of a unique, newly-built private-gated estate in Ubud, Bali: 8 bedroom estate consisting of a 2 bedroom main house (the owner's residence-as mentioned above), 4 single bedroom villas,and a pavillion guest villa which incorporates a bar/kitchen, eating area and lounges all opening onto a large deck overlooking the pool and ricefields. Rent one, or the whole retreat. A beautiful yin-yang saltwater swimming/lap pool on a lushly landscaped acre of perched on the edge of ricefields, and enjoying stunning views of the mountains. For a luxurious retreat from the frantic pace of the southern beaches, this villa compound offers the utmost in privacy and peace. It is conveniently located just a five minute drive (or a 30 minute walk) into the center of Ubud, Bali's culture and arts community, made famous as the setting for the popular book/movie, Eat, Pray, Love. English-speaking. In summary - tropical gardens, swimming pool, rice field view, close to town, near Ubud with a range of activities on your doorstep.All villa's are spacious and well-appointed: all bedrooms are air conditioned, and have private open-air bathrooms, undercover decks, surrounded by their own garden ponds and terraces.The property is fully staffed with charming Balinese to cater to your every whim, and a knowledgeable English-speaking driver is available with car for hire. In-house massage is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodtunduh Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing