We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stanfordville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Weekend Retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay at Roseledge Country Inn and can't seem to stop talking about what a wonderful time we had. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and the house charming. We stayed in the John Meech room which was nicely decorated and the bed was VERY comfortable. There were views of the gardens from 4 windows. We slept peacefully and woke up each morning to a delicious breakfast. The first morning we had organic eggs with basil, green peppers and zucchini, sage potatoes, fresh baked blueberry crumb muffins, orange juice, coffee, and lemon water. Our second morning we had cream and fruit stuffed French toast with freshly picked blackberries and blueberries, lemon scones with sassafras jelly, and minted watermelon, orange juice, coffee, and lemon water. The food was divine!!!!! There was an assortment of coffee and tea available all day and evening, along with lemonade and sweet treats (chocolate squares, lemon cookies, chocolate chip cookie bars). There was also red wine available in the evenings. The gardens were great to lounge around in and plenty of places to get comfortable with a book. Gail, the owner, was welcoming and more than accommodating, She was wonderful to get to know and she has created a relaxing laid back environment to recharge and enjoy nature. There are tons of attractions very close by (we went to a local agricultural fair, walked around downtown mystic, went to Foxwoods), but honestly we were just as happy enjoying the serenity that Roseledge offers. We will definitely be back! -Lacie and Justin

Room Tip: We enjoyed the John Meech room. It has great garden views and a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Much of the food was harvested on the day it was prepared.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LacieAndJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The house itself has a lot of history. You feel like you are in another time, like in a museum but real. Very nice caretaker, great breakfast, especially the raspberry soup and the rhubarb muffins were delicious. Beautiful garden for relaxing and discovering. Highly recommended if you are looking for something else than a standard hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have nothing be praise for Gail and her beautiful inn. From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. The gardens are absolutely spectacular. So much so that we actually spent our first night in the garden, relaxing. There are numerous places to sit and relax, including a very roomy hammock. As the air became chillier, we spent time in the little living room area, which was also quite comfortable.

Our room, the John Meech room, was much more spacious than we anticipated. My fiance and I both agree that the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! The bathroom is completely up-to-date with a jetted tub.

Breakfasts were superb -- rhubarb muffins, blueberry French toast, farm fresh eggs and sage home fries, cinnamon apple pancakes on Sunday. There was no better way to start off a day of sightseeing than a hearty breakfast in the beautiful garden.

The inn itself is spotless. We truly felt like we were home away from home. Gail made sure that every detail was perfect, and we were always asked if there was anything else that we would need or want. Upon arriving back at the inn after spending our days in Mystic (only about 20 minutes away) and Stonington (about 30 minutes), we could grab a glass of fresh lemonade and cookies/cupcakes. There was also a Keurig at our disposal for coffee, tea and hot cocoa throughout the day, as well as ice water.

I have stayed in a B&B before, and I was underwhelmed with the experience. Gail has completely changed my opinion of a B&B experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Roseledge again and again!

Room Tip: We loved the John Meech room. It was sunny in the morning, but there are very good black out curtai...
See more room tips
Green Features: You could tell that Gail is a very green innkeeper! The flowers were from her garden, as well as herbs and eggs.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieBear013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful house (circa 1720) and gardens. The smell of the flowers and the overall setting is wonderful. Lovely spot to sit outside and have breakfast. Sunday morning pancakes!! Enjoying our time here at Roseledge. We would definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Gail greeted us the moment we drove up. She then provided us with a brief history of this charming 300 year-old property. Our room contained furniture just as charming as the house itself. Our bed was very comfortable and somehow it was equipped with pillows which matched the ones at our own home. We therefore slept as sound as we would at home. The home cooked breakfasts were excellent, but we failed to learn the secret recipe of the very tasty apple cinnamon pancakes we had on our second morning there. Gail quipped that it needs to remain a secret so as to encourage us to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

From the moment we arrived at Roseledge, we felt as though we were part of Gail's family! She immediately greeted us with an irresistible charm and warmth, welcoming us into her little piece of history. My fiance and I had the most incredible stay at the Inn and could not think of any improvements possible from the home cooked food, to the decor to the antiques and everything in between! It was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and we definitely made the best choice! Her home made apple cinnamon pancakes for breakfast were hands down the best pancakes we have ever eaten. You simply can't go wrong staying at this place! Absolutely recommend a visit to this little slice of heaven if you are in Connecticut and need a break from the ordinary!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Tsakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseledgefarm, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Apple pancakes are really yummy and I know the secret recipe! Thank you for choosing us, and come back soon the gardens are just beginning to wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the moment I spoke with Gail on the phone I knew this would be wonderful. Gail was so very friendly and there was a great sense of peace and relaxation throughout the house. A beautiful 300 yr old house. We felt so very welcome when we arrived. There were fresh cupcakes and cookies in the coffee/tea room. A very worm feeling. And Gail keeps the fire going in the room. She made certain it was going when we came down for coffee in the morning, just before breakfast.The bedrooms are so very comfortable. One of the best nights sleep.It had a fireplace all ready to light if we so chose. And in the morning, breakfast was amazing. Banana walnut pancakes with warm maple syrup.
This was the perfect quick getaway from the usual grind.It was the little details which could easily be neglected which made this so special. The things that you wouldn't think twice about if they weren't there, yet you notice when they are.Gail is a wonderful hostess and Innkeeper. I highly recommend this delightful gem.
We can't wait to come back in the spring.

Green Features: Gail is very conscience of being green.It is a 300 yr old house, but she asks her guests to be aware of lights and appliances that do use electric. Coffee maker is turned on only when needed.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseledgefarm, Owner at Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Spring at Roseledge is one of my favorite times on the farm too! From the wisteria to the roses and everything in between its enchanting! Can't wait to share it with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
789 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,423 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Property: Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Country Inn Bed and Breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720, rich in history and filled with gracious touches.Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 23 years of inn keeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods Casino and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The Farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing