We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
“better than perfect”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Roseledge is a hidden treasure.My boyfriend and I were attending a concert at Foxwoods but weren't looking forward to the atmosphere of a casino. We were so fortunate to find Roseledge herb farm on line. They are an easy drive and minutes from Foxwoods. We were greeted immediately by Gail who was working in one of their many gardens and given a tour of the grounds and their beautiful home. Being the home owners of a circa 1763 home in Connecticut with acres of gardens and our own koi pond, it was going to take a lot to impress us and were we ever! The rooms were beautifully decorated and so cozy. The gardens were so beautiful we spent the whole afternoon lounging under a huge tree on their very comfortable wicker furniture drinking wine and eating sushi. We hardly wanted to leave to see the concert. Coming and going was even a treat, Gail had lit the pathways with candles and pumpkins. Just as we had read about, Gail made the most delicious breakfast with their fresh eggs and herbs right out of the garden. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    16
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
york pa
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We could not ask for a more welcoming or pleasant place to stay. This was the most enjoyable and relaxing B&B we have ever visited. The accommodations, service and amenties are outstanding; the hosts, the most pleasant and informative we have encountered anywhere. And the breakfasts are simply the greatest! A more homelike atmosphere you'll not find anywhere. The history of the place is an added bonus. We truly enjoyed our visit. L&MS

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alosa1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed the first night in Mystic Village at hamptons inn, pretty ok, but we wanted a change, and found this amazing bed n breakfast on the net, spoke to gail, and she was so warm and welcoming.
It was love at first sight!! What a beautiful home Sandy and Gail maintain, yum chocolate brownies and rhubarb pie awaited us, coffee was brewing, and the garden awaited us.
The rooms remind one of Alice in Wonderland. Quaint and cute. Detailing of the interiors is just terrific.
A visit to Roseledge Farm is a must.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I wanted to surprize my fiance' with a special evening to celebrate his 50th birthday. He had never stayed at a B&B before and was not sure he would like "staying in someone else's home". We had plans for dinner and a trip to the casino, as well, so everything worked out perfectly. The casinos are minutes away - this made staying at Roseledge an ideal location, for our plans. We arrived at the historic home, it was charming and lovely, as was our hostess, Gail. (Sorry Gail, the historic part doesn't apply to you - smile -. You are an awesome lady!) I want to thank you again, for making Carl's birthday, as special as I had hoped it would be.
Our hosts; Gail and Sandy made us feel at home, comfortable and special. Cake, champagne and a fireplace ready to be lit, in our room, awaited us on our return from the casino. We awoke in the morning and Gail served us our coffee and a delicous breakfast, by a lit fireplace and a candlelight. Gail and Sandy were great. I can tell you that Carl's first experience at a B&B was wonderful and we will definitely return to visit the Beechers again, to enjoy seeing the herb farm and the lovely nature setting that surrounds their home. This experience was so much nicer than any hotel stay, would have been. We loved it ! It made me want to return and visit for each season change! I hear Halloween is a sight to see when everything is decorated. We have set a wedding date for this October 31st,.... so who knows, we may need to book the night for our honeymoon. I can't imagine anything lovelier. Carl and Margaurite (the future Mrs.Carter)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonBaby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Our stay was wonderful. Gail's hospitality is amazing. She is helpful and great cook. This a great country escape.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — It was a little chilly
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My wife and I and our two young children just stayed at Roseledge farm, and we had a wonderful time. My 6 year old son said it all - I asked what he liked best about our trip (which included visits to the nearby submarine base, aquarium and native american museum), and he said that he liked staying at the B&B the best because Gail was so nice. The house is an authentic colonial-era place with a lot of original charm, and the hosts are warm and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfast was wonderful, and we liked the fact that the location was so convenient to all the area attractions in Mystic and Groton. We also liked that Roseledge was so welcoming of families. We highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Rooms were a bit chilly
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Cozy, warm and inviting...definitely describes Roseledge. My husband and I frequent B&Bs as often as we can. What a treat to stay with Gail and Sandy!

Many elements made our experience a memorable one. We will definitely stay with them again when we travel to the Mystic, CT area.

The historic nature of the home, the warm hospitality, the delicious breakfasts - we are still sharing recipes. The inviting environment of the Avery Browning room even inspired me to spruce up our bedroom at home. The home has many stone fireplaces. An obvious favorite was the fireplace in our room. The warm crackle was a little taste of heaven before retiring for the night and while enjoying the fabulous breakfast in the morning.

Thanks again for opening your home as a Bed and Breakfast.

Sincerely

Liz and Bryan Wutzke

  • Liked — The historic accomodations really set the mood for the week!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer and that it was December, but that made the fireplace all the more inviting.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TakeFiveSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
7.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
778 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,413 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,325 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop

Property: Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
Address: 418 Route 164, Preston, CT 06365-8112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Country Inn Bed and Breakfast in the historic home of John Meech circa 1720, rich in history and filled with gracious touches.Surrounded by antique stone walls and gardens galore you will be delighted you have chosen to stay at Roseledge. Organic eggs from our hens, homemade muffins and the best home fries ever are just some of the claims to fame from 23 years of inn keeping. Crackling fires in the winter and refreshing lemonade in the summer just may be what keeps you on property all day! Located in the heart of the Mystic Country our Inn is just 5 miles from the Foxwoods Casino and Tanger Outlets, 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and 12 miles from Mystic. The Farm Shoppe (seasonal)is open daily 9-5 and filled with an eclectic collection of country and antiques, quality consignments, perennials, herb and seasonal plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing