We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Grant's, 1754
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Pequot Tower(Mashantucket)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Trees Inn(Mashantucket)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohegan Sun(Uncasville)
US$1,500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellissimo Grande Hotel(North Stonington)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Uncasville(Uncasville)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
139
37
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
37
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadelaide roomhomemade jamsother guestsbed and breakfastthe main housecream cheesenext morningold housewonderful hostslots of historycouple monthsmystic seaportown bathroommohegan sungame room with poolbeer winechampagne toast
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a wonderful B&B. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and did not want to leave. Carol and Tad are such beautiful and trusting people. The first night we had the entire Inn to ourselves as the owners do not stay in the Inn themselves. So we did a little Ghost Hunting and snapped a mess of pictures in the Inn and out back in the lost hidden cemetery and got tons of photos loaded with Orbs and Mists.

The breakfast's where AWESOME and the interesting thing is that Carol and Tad actually sit down to breakfast with the guests.

We highly recommend this B&B and are planning on returning. Close to the Casino's and Mystic.

Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I'm very sorry to say this because the inn keepers are very nice, but the fact that reviewers have told you about that the inn needs a GOOD THOROUGH cleaning and this hasn't been done upsets me. It's very dissoppointing since I'd like to return but need to know the issue is remedied. (E.G. Carpets shampooed, tubs bleached and mildew removed, and furniture moved/through washing with oil soap.) We also saw old (not new) cobwebs hanging from the ceilings as well. It makes you question if detailed cleaning as been overlooked for awhile. Maybe hiring out to a service vs doing themselves may resolve this?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturemama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaiGrants, Owner at Captain Grant's, 1754, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

I am sorry that this couple had a negative experience. After breakfast the guest told us of the mildew and the cobwebs. My husband does not like to hear about dirt problems and as soon as possible took the staff to the bedroom to check it out. He got into the tub, examined the jets, got out, turned on the jets and there was no problem. He checked for webs and found one. Nevertheless he told the staff to wash down the entire room. This was done. It took an hour and a half.to clean the room. The guest still saw dirt everywhere. At 9:15 we got a call that our staff had taken their charger and that they didn't have enough towels. They had received 6 new towels that morning. Our staff has been with us for over 12 years and we knew they didn't take the charger. I told the guest that he could get towels out of the storage cabinet just outside their room. I knew we would get this bad review. There was something wrong here and it wasn't us.They didn't come for breakfast the next day but left a tip?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Captain Grant's based on the reviews we read here. And we can't wait to go back!!! Can't say enough about how beautiful the house was. Our room was perfect, the bed so-o-o-o comfortable. Ted and Carol...so nice, so friendly...and a delicious breakfast. You can't beat the location for the casinos, Mystic, and other points of interest. Ted and Carol know how to make you feel like family...the perfect B&B. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Marie'...on the small side, but we were still very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeandricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a delightful one night stay at this lovely B&B. I had read the reviews and was kind of nervous, thinking it was haunted. How exciting! Well, we didn't get to meet any of the ghosts, but we did get to meet Carol and Ted, awesome innkeepers. Our room was delightful, a four poster bed with a step stool to get up on the bed. We were served a delicious breakfast out on the porch, the table was set beautifully. Carol makes jams and jellies, even a strawberry rhubarb compote which was yummy spread on the homemade pancakes. Ted was very helpful in guiding us to a very nice Italian restaurant very close to the Mohegan Sun Casino. The cost of our stay was quite a good deal and we would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandma6Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very cute B&B. We stumbled upon this when looking for a cheaper place to stay than Mohegan Sun. At $160 per night, this easily met the bill considering Mohegan Sun wanted $400 per room. Best part, it's just 4 miles from Mohegan so it was close for us.

The B &B is in an old historic house. Our bedroom, the Elizabeth room, had a large canopy bed with a private bathroom and complimentary sherry in the room. The house also had complimentary cake and wine and beer throughout the day. Very nice touch.

The breakfast served was also great. I've read other reviews though and it did differ on the day we were there. Still, it was eggs, sausage, and pancakes, with tea and coffee.

We found out after breakfast that many people believe the house to be haunted. If you look on their website, they list quite a few articles that reference this haunted B &B. Some of the articles claim this is one of the top 10 hotels in the country to see a ghost. They were hosting a seance after breakfast on the weekend we were there and it seemed like everyone else was there for that. If you believe in ghosts, this might be either a deal-breaker or a total plus.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews