We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast. Large selection of quality food. Whatever your taste wants. Lots of juice and coffee to choose from. We will definitely use hotel again. Close to beaches and casinos.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location (proximity to casinos) and the free casino shuttle are the biggest pluses for this hotel. Also, the room prices are about half of what you'll pay at the casino hotels. It is your basic Hilton so you can expect pleasant and clean rooms and lobby, efficient check in/out, and professional staff.
I waiver between "average" and "very good" ratings for this hotel because of a few (mostly minor) things. Once in our room, I noticed we didn't have enough towels, and the tissue box and toilet paper were low. To the credit of the hotel, a staff member delivered these items within 5 minutes of my requesting them. The next morning I realized our coffee maker didn't work and had to go to lobby to get some (minor, but annoying). When going to the room for the night, I realized my door hadn't locked upon closing it (would only lock from inside) which was very upsetting because my two older daughters had gone to the room earlier to go to sleep. I let the front desk know the next morning and they were going to send a locksmith up right away (we checked out so I never saw if the lock was repaired). If you're a night person and like to have a drink at your hotel bar after a night at the casino, realize that the Hilton bar closes at 1am. We went to the bar and got a drink just before it closed and went to sit by the outdoor fire pit. We watched as several people returned to the hotel and went to the bar and were surprised that it was closed. Within 15 minutes, a hotel staff person turned off the fire pit flame and said the area was closed for the night and asked everyone there to leave (there were only 4 people around the pit and no one was noisy in any way). I'm sure it's an effort to keep late night partying to a limit but they should use their discretion and enforce their "closing time" rule when it is necessary to do so. The shuttle is a great service but it needs to be run a little better. We were the first outside to wait for the shuttle as more and more people started to come and wait. A small van showed up and said he was going to Mohegan Sun--except for one couple, everyone was waiting for a shuttle to Foxwoods. A little argument started with the van driver but then ended when another van pulled up. The van was too small for all the people waiting so some people couldn't get on (don't know how that was handled). The van we were to take back to our hotel was completely full and pulled away before we could ask when the next one would be there (when booking our reservation, we were told that they come every 1/2 hour). Since we were all tired and saw available taxis, we decided to take one back instead of wait for the next shuttle. Good thing we did, we saw the next shuttle get in at 1am (one hour after the last one) so the $8 taxi fare was worth it.
Putting those things aside, if you're not going to stay right at the casinos, this hotel is the next best thing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmarie27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Elegant entrance with cookies and cold drinks waiting. Very clean room and spacious. Pool on the small size but was refreshing. Enjoy the hot tub outside. We also ate breakfast at the hotel which was $11.25 a person but you could get whatever you wanted and as much as you wanted. Fresh prepared. We did not do the casino but it is close by with tons of things to do. We ate at the Hard Rock Cafe in the Casino which was very good and not super expensive. The hotel stay was very nice with friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King size room with lots of room. It came with microwave and refrigerator. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel during Memorial day weekend with kids. Clean room and hotel; kids loved in-door pool and outside hot tub in the evenings after the busy day out. Great breakfast bufet, the only complaint-flies were everywhere, very annoying considering we were eating inside. Room service-good food, more healthy kids choices would be better though. 20 minute drive from Mystic posrt and aquarium.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elbratka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Loved your hotel. We have given the best rating on your survey for every area. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from the casino's is wonderful so that after traveling a distance, travelers don't need to worry about how to get to the casino's. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn located less that a mile from the Casino. Very friendly staff, convenient shuttle to and from the casino, and spotless hotel. We had a small problem with our room, but it was due to the new-ness of the hotel, and was fixed. Nice A/C, internet and Television in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was definitely ripped off for what I paid for! We all went to Foxwoods and the shuttle service was not always reliable, we weren't sure where they were supposed to pull up and so we were waiting in the wrong spot when it first came, and then the second time it came around so many people rushed to the van that we had no seats so we had to wait for the THIRD shuttle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Angelica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
0.9 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,452 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
798 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,873 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area

Address: 5 Watson Rd, Preston, CT 06365-8828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: £104 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing