We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan in CT”

Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum
Attraction details
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Manhattan in CT”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sometimes we want to see a good exhibit and just are not in the mood for the hour drive into NYC, so it is easily fixed with a visit to the Aldrich. Excellent exhibits, inside and out, openings, etc. Best times are summer evening openings.... try it if you are within an hour or so.... can't miss!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Weird exhibits like a room with giant sheets of tin foil. A bunch of "collages" where somebody ripped some pictures out of a catalog and slapped them on a piece of paper. A video of some people playing the same tune repeatedly on a piano and a recorder with little kids screaming (who could blame them)? You are followed around by staffers as if you are going to steal the crown jewels. Fun because it's so ridiculous - like a tiny MassMOCA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and NOT family friendly!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our first trip to the ACAM and it will be our last. We are new in town and came for an event specifically marketed to families. However, upon arrival we were treated as if our children were spray-can wheeling hooligans. From the moment we arrived the staff was over our shoulders and remained there for our entire visit. We have been to museums all over the United Stated and Europe and we have never been treated so poorly. Our children are well behaved children who were calm and respectful for the duration of our visit. At no time did they attempt to touch or interact with any of the exhibit pieces. Due to the constant surveillance we were under it made the children uneasy to ask questions and it made it difficult for us to engage them in any sort of meaningful conversation It was more than an uncomfortable experience. It was downright demeaning. We will not be back to visit this museum and we will never recommend it to any friends or family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ami4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having this museum in town is just a bonus to living here. The exhibits rotate periodically and they've included some controversial 'art' over the years, but it just makes the whole process that much more interesting.

In the Spring you see busloads of tourists coming up from who knows where just to see what we have in our own backyard.

It's really surprising to have this in a small town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“always fun!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Aldrich rarely disappoints--provocative installations, kid activities, teen offerings (with pizza), 20something minglers, outdoor events, and lectures. Even if you dislike an exhibit, you'll be talking about it--great resource for our town and beyond!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank oliver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing