We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bartolo

Bartolo
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My wife saw Bartolo featured on the news. This place is very inviting great atmosphere. The food excellent. I had pasta special which all their pasta is house made. My wife had shirt rib ravioli. Prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
3 Thank Thefoodcritic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inventive Italian cuisine in a warm setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bartolo has a contemporary Italian inspired menu with some creative dishes. We tried one of the crostini appetizers, a sliced beet & arugula salad and short rib ravioli to start. All were delicious, and the pasta is made fresh in-house. My husband had sea bass with a roasted red pepper sauce while I had the ribeye. Both were very good. The ambience is warm and inviting, although the space is small. We will likely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cungaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious food..cozy atmosphere...slow service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We didn't realize this was even here for almost a year. Great find! We didn't have reservations and awe were lucky to get a table.

We wanted an authentic Italian restaurant and Bartolo didn't disappoint. Many great choices and we sampled wonderful appetizers, a salad and two entrees. Every onE of the dishes was well plated and Delicious! You can tell the level of refinement in the cooking with the balance of herbs and sauces. All in all thoughtfully prepared and excellent.

Will definitely be back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank FloridawithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared dishes of generous size!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The kitchen is clearly visible from the dining room and the owner and assistants appear to work tirelessly and to freshly prepare the dishes. The room is cosy and comfortable and the waitstaff free of pretense, but the room does get noisy when crowded and some of the dishes (e.g., Tuscan Stew) a seafood play, are a bit too endowed with tomatoes and spices, overwhelming the delicate seafood. The tiramisu, a too familiar dessert, was house-made and one of the best I had sampled. All in all, a solid choice for an Italian themed restaurant in Ridgefield and the lack of pretension makes dining there all the more pleasant. Casual dress is perfectly fine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TruthTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden (literally) gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and good sized portions. Try the pasta with lobster--it was fabulously rich! The servers could use a bit of a tune up and a little more knowledge of their wine selection, but overall they are eager to please. Hard to find. Take the driveway that leads to a back lot and that is where this small place is tucked.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danburymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bartolo also viewed

 

Been to Bartolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing