We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in White Sands for 1,5 days because our flight was delayed and we missed connection, and I am really glad that we had a chanse to discover this hotel.
Rooms are big and clean, with fan, toaster and fridge, where you can find some food like bread, milk, jam and fresh papaya, it is included, and in the morning Priscilla came with fresh and yammy pancakes!
Terrotory is green and immaculate, beach is white, and we didn't see anybody on it despite we spent there almost the whole day. Also we were lucky and we whatched whales there.
The owner of hotel Gloria is very nice and generous person. She was so kind to bring us to Blow Holes, it is really wonderful place.
So it was my first visit to Tonga, and it was unforgettable. So White Sands is really nice place to stay, i recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olesya_Molina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently visited White Sands Beach Resort and would highly recommend this resort to stay at when travelling to Tonga.

It is situated on the most beautiful beach and very close to one of Tonga’s main attractions the Blow Holes.

The staff and owners are lovely and very friendly, they made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. They were incredibly helpful sorting out activities for us to do and gave us lifts to and from town which really helped to save on taxi fares.

Pricilla the resort Manager will cook meals for you at night if you request them which were beautiful we had fresh fish and kumara chips and a chicken curry. We ate here twice then decided to be adventurous and make our own meals in the big kitchen provided for cooking. The kitchen is very ideal if you decide to bring your own food over with you to cook otherwise you can do what we did and buy it from the markets in town and cook your own. They have everything in the kitchen you will need for cooking including spices and sauces.

The grounds are immaculate and very well kept. There is a big pool and our rooms were very spacious and serviced daily.

All in all a great stay and we will be returning to White Sands in the near future 

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen_Darwin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This resort is about relaxing in quiet immaculately presented grounds on a fantastic beach. There is nobar or food available though it ddoes have a kitchen to cook in. The other resorts are close by and will pick you up and drop you off. White sands is fantastic for charging the batteries in well monitored grounds. Those in charge Gloria Ian and Priscilla pride themselves on peoples privacy but are very friendly.
The 6 units are very tidy with toilet and shower excellent.
If you have a car it's a bonus tho the hosts will drop you where you want to go.
The pics I've put in say it all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had 8 people (age 6 to 80 )stay at white sands for 10 days which was our 3rd trip to tonga and by far best accomadation we have stayed in. The rooms were very clean and all the staff were friendly and accomadating. The beach was breath taking and pool was large and crystal clean. Breakfast was served by the beach every morning which was only 20 meters from your door! Pracila and Ian were lovely and even had a annaversiry party for my parents with a five peice band and dancers. Although it was far out of town pracila arranged car hire and many nights out. Will defiantly be coming back in 2013

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Lovely quiet and romantic setting.
We got a great welcome - very friendly owners and staff who will do anything they can to help you and will give you lifts into town when they are going. Can also sort care hire out for you at a good price and give you an idea of where to to on your island tour.

Rooms quiet and private, spacious and cleaned each day.

This is a very isolated resort so it is best some bring some shopping with you from town. If you want party party this is not the place. If you want quiet, beautiful and personal this is the place.

You cant swim here but there are great sunsets and there is quite a nice pool.
one improvement could be some more sun loungers by the pool as there are only two old and uncomfortable one and sometimes more guest than that wanting to relax by the pool.

Would love to go back,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We transferred to White Sands after cutting sort our stay at another resort, and were happy to arrive somewhere so beautiful, clean and welcoming. The owners Gloria and Ian and the efficient Priscilla were very friendly – it was obvious that the reason they were at the resort was because they enjoyed having guests.

The rooms had a bathroom, hot and cold running water, fridge, and tea and coffee facilities but no kitchen. The resort can provide meals but we were self-catering and this was no problem at all because the resort allows the guests to use the resort’s kitchen to cook for themselves if they prefer to do that.

The beach is good and you can go in the water at low tide, but as the reef is close to shore it can be dangerous at high tide. This isn’t a problem because they have a pool in a beautiful setting.

It’s possible to get from there to Nuku’alofa on the bus - you do have to walk about a kilometre to get to where the bus will pick you up, or you could take a taxi (70TOP to/from the airport – less to/from Nuku’alofa which is about halfway).

They helped us rent a van for the day (100TOP) so we could visit the rest of the island and helped us organise a daytrip to Pangaimotu Island where we snorkelled around a shipwreck near the beach. They also organised for us to attend a cultural dinner show at Vakaloa resort show on Friday so definitely do that as Vakaloa will pick you up.

We will be returning to White Sands, and thanks for making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

White Sands absolutely suited our needs to a tee. We were staying on Tongatapu for a week and wanted a small, low-key, peaceful resort with plenty of privacy as a base from which to explore the rest of the island, as well as for R&R when we weren't out and about. White Sands provided this.

Unlike most travellers, we didn't hire a car. Being a flat island (it's 70m at the highest point) with time on our side and a desire to increase our levels of fitness, we were keen to hire bikes and explore the island using pedal power. Contrary to local advice (you see very few people on bikes and certainly not commuting any substantial distances), this turned out to one of our best decisions! Sure the roads were potholed in places, the bikes single-geared, and there were plenty of stray dogs about, but all perfectly manageable.

Having bikes for transport meant that we needed to be organised with our meal arrangements. We soon got into a rhythm of lunching in Nuku'alofa (there are some excellent cafes) or at other resorts and dining in the evening at White Sands. Priscilla - who manages the resort virtually single-handedly - provided us with some wonderful meals - so much so that we didn't bother cooking our own meals - another alternative. Marinated fish and kebabs were two of the highlights. With fish being so available and fresh - it was hard to go past it.

Other highlights for us were Priscilla and her riotous laughter, as well as being so obliging with information and, if we needed it, entertainment! On the Sunday, she accompanied us to one of the local churches - a must-do for anyone visiting Tonga. On our return to the resort and beach, we were rewarded with a spectacular display by humpback whales - cavorting off our beach for what seemed like hours. Fantastic! We also had many memorable evenings and discussions with Priscilla, and Gloria and Ian, the Kiwi owners of White Sands.

Some other guests have commented on the lack of compendiums containing information about things to do and see, and where to dine. While this certainly would be useful, it struck us that, perhaps apart from some of the high-end resorts, this isn't the norm and perhaps for a good reason. Getting information isn't difficult - a conversation with Priscilla, Gloria or Ian will furnish almost any information you need. Also, our experience was that to get the most out of Tonga - you need to work at it. Perhaps bizarrely, this is one of the joys of holidaying in Tonga - not everything is laid on as in more developed Pacific Island resorts such as Fiji or Vanuatu.

We found the standard of rooms, while not palatial (but then again you're not paying top resort dollar), were more than adequate. They were large, airy, clean, and had everything you needed (table, chairs, fridge/freezer, crockery and cutlery, hot water jug and ensuite). Best of all, you had plenty of privacy. Unlike some resorts, you weren't cheek by jowl with other guests and most of the time when we weren't out and about exploring, we found we had the place to ourselves.

If you want a high-end resort with everything laid on, White Sands might not be for you. But for us it was perfect. We highly recommend it and look forward to our next visit.

Malo aupito Priscilla, Gloria and Ian.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms although with only six rooms, this seems to happen automatically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awapiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foui
9.9 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
190 reviews
8.9 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
166 reviews
0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Resort

Address: 'Utukehe Beach | Fo'ui, Foui, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Foui
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing