We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Atmosphere to the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Enjoyed my stay at White Sands Beach Resort, must say, the Caretakers were amazing, made us feel like we were at home. treated us nicely, made sure we were fed or if we were ok. The Owners of White Sands Beach were exceptional, made us feel welcome, always checking up on us, making sure we were ok & im thankful that they spent a little time with us whilst we were on site! Priscilla, that lady is jammed packed with energy, her loud laugh will never leave my head, Priscilla made sure we were well taken care of and that itself made me feel like we were sleeping at a friends house! Priscilla, you made our holiday one that we'll never forget! Will definitely come and stay at White Sands Beach again! love to everyone at W.S.B.R!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Auckland13JflorTaloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you for writing your fabulous review. Priscilla is still on board here and we have another resident wonder woman called Bessie. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my apologies for taking so long to scroll through the reviews and answer after so long. A lot has changed here at the resort and you can see it all in the photos on our new Facebook page White Sands Beach Resort Tonga.
Have a fabulous week.

Cheers
Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

As everybody mentioned, the owners and caretakers (wonderful ladies!) of this establishment are very friendly and kind. White Sands is located on the west side of the Tongatapu island and can be pretty secluded. It is good for a getaway for one who wished to just relax. The next village is about a ½ hour walk (if you do not drive). Walking into the village can be a great experience!

The Utukehe beach, right at your doorsteps, will make this a worthwhile stay. Indulge in white sand beach, clear waters, beautiful corals and a magnificent sunset! At night, fishermen are nearby if you wish to buy any fresh seafood. If you prefer a swimming pool to the sea, there is one here too.

The room is pretty big with a king-size bed, dining area and sitting area. Comfortable with modern amenities (at least 2 fans!), plenty of light (natural and manmade) and multiple sockets for one to charge the many gadgets you might have. My only problems were the insects – such as roaches and huge spiders that have a way of making unannounced visits but this is pretty common in Tonga, so one tends to get used to it. The bottles of insecticide in the room certainly helped a lot! J Shower facilities are basic. There is also free wifi in the room but it tends to go off after awhile, so you need to be at the right place to connect again.

Pancakes breakfast is complimentary and tasted really great! There are two kitchens – one where you can request for dine-in meals or bring your own food and cook in the other.

To conclude, I have no regrets for this accommodation choice. Would I return? Yes! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaZsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you want to relax on a stunning beach and pass the day watching the whales swim past this is the place for you. This is a small resort which was ideal for us as most days as we had the beach and swimming pool to ourselves !!! All the staff were so friendly and we felt very well looked after during our stay .The fresh fruit and pancakes for breakfast were a treat and the staff will also cook you dinner or lunch for a small charge or there is a village shop a short walk away if you want to use the kitchen at the resort and cook your own meals.. We enjoyed getting out and about exploring by foot the local villages talking to the locals etc although if you are not into walking the staff offered lifts to town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveAnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Could not have asked for a better place to relax in Tonga. White Sands was an absolutely amazing place to stay. Clean fales with good showers, a lovely pool, a beautiful private white sand beach right in front of the resort and the excellent service of the staff made our stay perfect. The people at White Sands are super friendly and helpful, we enjoyed getting to know them. Our kids had so much fun running around the beautifully maintained grounds and they loved the beach, the big trees, the hammocks and the pool. We loved the fact that we were able to cook our own meals in the guest kitchen as my partner is vegetarian but everything the staff prepared for us was delicious too. It's not a big resort so I can image that even when all fales are booked you will still have lots of privacy and opportunity to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLNZNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This place is simple but gorgeous! The staff are helpful, welcoming and we would highly recommend White Sands! It is a bit more remote, however this is one of the attractions. We stayed 2 days and wanted to stay longer. The pool is lovely, there's lots of space outdoors (and in) and it's very close to a white beach. It's mostly coral, so not great for swimming - but great for snorkelling when the tide is up.
They put together meals for us on request and these were nice - well presented, thought not amazing, we thoroughly enjoyed them and much preferred over going to another resort or takeaways etc. Breakfast was awesome - pancakes or toast with loads of tropical fruit.
Inside the rooms (we had cabin 1) there is heaps of space, everything is clean and very well presented. Only downside we found was the water never ran hot - but it's so warm it's not really a problem. October is a great time of year as the weather is perfect and not too hot - 27 degrees.
Highly recommended and we'd definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My stay at white sands resort was unbelievable, I have been to Tonga for the last 9 years in a row and their is no place like this.... from the moment we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff and immediate shown to our beautiful room, we were given the very best of service right throughout our stay and everything they said their resort had was indeed available. Hot water, cold water, beautiful pool, BBQ and of course friendly amazing staff and managers.I thought that it was great that the managers of the place took time to come down and spend time with us, talk to us and see if everything was fine. The breakfast was a treat on both days we stayed we were blessed every morning with amazing food. They also offer lunch and dinner options, we did dinner one night which again was amazing. Our room had mosquitoes nets on all the windows and their wasn't any bugs in our rooms which is a first for me in Tonga. The real asset to this place would have to be Cilla a lady who stays onsite and the realness of the managers. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to have a real holiday in Tonga!!! To finish I need to mention the incredible surroundings, the beach was white sand and a scenery like no other, you can watch the sunset or sun rise and if you're lucky even see Whales... Book here you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked good but if you want the best of the best I would suggest the beach view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f_falwasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at White Sands for 3 nights at the start of our Tongan trip and had a really nice time. The resort is located on the more isolated and scenic west coast of Tongatapu and as a consequence costs $60T in a taxi from the airport.

We were impressed with our fale and the pancake breakfast was nice, as was the one fish dinner we had ($25T). The resort has it's own private beach with a lagoon behind the reef. This coast is where the surf is so expect waves crashing onto the reef (there's a good surf break a few minutes drive down the road). The lagoon itself is quite shallow and only suitable for snorkeling when the swells flat and the tides not going out as there is a bit of current flowing through the center of the lagoon towards the reef. On calm flat days you can walk out onto the reef apparently. There's also a nice pool if the lagoons unsuitable for swimming. We also went out at night onto the beach with our torches to look at all the crabs doing there thing - the hermit crabs were especially cool!

The lodge is private (there was only us and a young family when we were staying), and beautiful. But for us, what really made our stay great were the owners Gloria and Ian, and the staff (especially Priscilla). Priscilla is character - even by Tongan standards, and she kindly took us to Tongan church on Sunday to listen to the beautiful singing (Tongan's can harmonize at the drop of a hat). After that she showed us the fruit bats (flying foxes) in the next village which is worth a look. Priscilla and Gloria also let us accompany them into town one morning to do a bit of shopping and have a look around. It was great to get their perspective on living in Tonga and they showed us the blowholes on the way back.

If you have a few days in Tongatapu then I recommend staying here. Just bring snacks for lunch and duty free for sun-downers on the beach!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foui
9.9 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
187 reviews
0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
250 reviews
15.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
186 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Resort

Address: 'Utukehe Beach | Fo'ui, Foui, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Foui
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your White Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing