We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baby shower” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Pea's Restaurant

Sweet Pea's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Riverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Baby shower”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was there recently for a baby shower. Have lived in the area for 30 years. The food was absolutely terrible (I was very surprised). Baby shower party was split into 2 rooms. Very disappointed. Area is beautiful thou.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great New England atmosphere, good food but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sweet Pea's is your quint essential New England small town restaurant. It is an old historic home. It has a very rustic feel and seating is very tight. Our dinner was good though it did not overwhelm us especially for the price. We got the goat cheese appetizer, lamb, and spinach/mushroom ravioli for dinner which was all good but nothing special. We got tiramisu and lemon cake for dessert which was average and we should have passed on it. The service was very good. Our server was very attentive. Overall, Sweat Pea's has a great atmosphere if you are looking for a dinner with that New England feel with good food but a bit pricey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this sleepy village en route to Lenox, Mass., and ate at Sweet Pea's based on TA's reviews. We were greeted by a very amiable hostess/waitress/bartender for a simple but delicious lunch. They had an awesome mulligatawny soup and another soup that seemed to be constructed from leftover veggies from another offering--I may be wrong about this but it is a compliment to the chef as we appreciate the ethic of not wasting food--either way it was delicious! The restaurant is in an old house and was adorned with antiques, all of which were for sale. The price point was par for the course. A solid meal on a quick diversion!

Helpful?
1 Thank OntheFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, quiet, romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent service with superior food quality and presentation. Sesame baked cod. Salmon with ginger soy and wasabi mashed potatoes. Homemade strawberry, pistachio and basil ice cream and a lemon cake light and tangy. Coffee was tart, slightly bitter and ended the meal perfectly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oganwarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyringham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Creative yet sort of funky menu ... wonderful Sunday afternoon dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hard to fathom the dismal reviews as we had a wonderful dinner. My husband had the rack of lamb that he claimed divine while I thought my salmon in lemon pepper/arugula/Parmesan topped with edamine pesto was wonderful. Loved the mixed veg (broccoli, zucchini & carrots julienned with yellow summer squash topped with gorgonzola butter was fabulous. We had passed by the restaurant many many times but not had the time to stop. Then we too found a groupon/restaurants.com gift coupon and decided a Sunday nite out not having to cook would be good. It was more than just "good" it was "wonderful" Didn't particularly like the Hess Sav. Cab. so Stacey the charming waitress brought a pinot grigio that was just right. It became fairly crowded and I thought patrons not only local or somewhat local but some had (like us, a 1/2 hour drive from Massachusetts) traveled quite far just to dine there and clearly had dined here before. We most definitely will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrafarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Pea's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Pea's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing