We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value overall a safe choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hartford South Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Epping, NH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, good value overall a safe choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. This property used to be a marriott but has since converted to spg. Beds were comfortable, food options were good. They have a nice pool and fitness area. The hotel is located in a business park so night time will be quiet. The only noticeable detractors were room service trays left in hallways, I walked past around 5 of them and they were from breakfast. The other point was service of the front staff. It was not as hospitable as you might expect but it wasn't "ugh, what do you want" either. Maybe it was a bad day. I will definitely be back when in Rocky Hill again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfalkingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear J Fakilham ,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We recently have undergone an extensive renovation and we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    99
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
28
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I really wanted to give this place all five stars, I really did. But I just couldn't, because of one glaring, major flaw. But first, all the good stuff. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where every single person on staff said "Hello" to me, like they all did at this hotel. I mean it, every person I came across. The staff is extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. I had to check in late, that was fine. I requested a late check-out, that was fine, too. They really took care of my needs and did it with a very pleasant demeanor. As for the room, it was first-rate. The king size bed was so comfortable, I could have spent all day just enjoying it, laying there and watching television. Because of my busy schedule over the weekend, late nights and early mornings, I didn't get to spend much time actually enjoying the great sleep I'm sure I would have gotten. The room was also decorated very well and was extremely clean. Bathroom was also very clean and well maintained. Like I said, I could have stayed in the room the entire time and been very comfortable. Also great was the indoor pool, which I used early one morning for a swim. The fitness center looked good, as well, though I didn't actually use it. The one thing that I did use, and it's the one reason I just can't give five stars, was the room service. It was so bad, I had to mention it to the front desk guys when I checked out (they were very nice about it). I got lunch one day with my best friend's daughter, who was staying with me while her mom was at work. The pizza she got was so awful, the six year old who usually likes pizza wouldn't eat more than a bite or two. I tried it and could easily see why. The crust was dry, tough and leathery, with lots of sauce and terrible cheese. Also, the menu said "three slices," and the portion we got was enormous, way too much for a kid. Speaking of portion size, the "bread pudding" was even worse. We got two enormous bricks of dried out, tasteless, burnt bread. And it was enough to feed four people, at least, something else the menu didn't mention. There was also a 20% service charge added to the bill, so definitely watch out for that! The food certainly was not worth the $55.00 the bill ended up being (no offer was made from the front desk guys to reduce the bill, which I didn't say anything about at the time). For a hotel that has such high standards and does such an exemplary job at everything else, they really need to bring the quality of the food up to the quality of the rest of their establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments


SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed one night in this Sheraton after a day at an event in the area. Upon arrival it looks like many (chain) hotels close to Highways, but upon entering your perception changes. A nice bright, clean and welcoming lounge with bar area visible, and several computers ready for use. The check-in counter is somewhat hidden on the left. Staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms fresh looking, clean and everything works. Extra amenities in the bathroom such as shaving cream were a pleasant surprise and you generally don't find these in Sheratons. We did not use any of the facilities such as the restaurant (nice menu), fitness center or pool but everything looked well maintained and inviting. Bed was great, somehow more comfortable feeling than other Sheratons but that may be due to the overall feeling the rooms provided. Overall, it was much better than we expected. We know the Sheratons, this one definitely stands out. Great place for one night or a family stay for sight seeing in the area, and of course conferences, nice facilities for relaxing after work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Doublebooked,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

We take these reviews very seriuosly so we can keep offering an excellent experience.

Sincerely,

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I had previously stayed here a few times when this hotel used to be a Marriott, and now it has changed hands and is a Sheraton. What I like about the hotel is the following:

Plenty of free parking
Internet Stations to use in the lobby
A nice pool and whirlpool area


Hotel is rather expansive and I find there isn't a ton to do right in the area, but that does lend itself to the feeling of seclusion. I would have no problem staying here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Boddicker,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Pool, Sheraton Link, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,


SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I used Priceline to find a hotel last minute in the Rocky Hill area and ended up with a reservation at this 4-floor Sheraton. There was a conference going on when we were there and it was obvious that this property is great for meetings (it's right off the highway, has a private open parking lot and a great lobby area). Not being part of the conference, we were not made to feel out of place or as if we didn't belong- we were greeted promptly at the counter and had no problems checking in or out. We only stayed one night and it was very comfortable and pleasant. We only had to adjust the temperature a little because when we first checked in the room felt a little muggy (it was also humid outside). The Sheraton offers a lot of little extras in the room (like a disposable loofa, nail file kit, shower cap, etc) which were a nice touch. My only wish would have been that there was more for lighting- the one shoulder-height lamp by the window along with the 2 lamps next to the bed did not quite light up the room but it was very clean and well maintained. As we were checking out we noticed a guest with a dog, so it must be pet friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Marisa K,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive feedback - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days for a work related training. Very convenient location about 23 miles from airport and right off the interstate. Lots of nearby restaurants. Club level was excellent. Quiet area and very comfy bed and pillows. Nice shower head and toiletries. Very clean facilities. Good breakfast selection. Club room was comfy and had nice computer and printer. Complementary newspapers. Attentive and friendly staff. Loved the fitness center. Weight room, dumbbells, flex balls, mats and cardio machines as well as shallow pool and hot tub. Towels are available there as well. A couple of computer stations in lobby area but printers weren't working. Staff immediately attempted to fix it. Nice restaurant and bar. Easy and free parking. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindySGoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Cindy,

Thank you for the review. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay at Sheraton Hartford South.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hartford Area


Sincerely,

Sheraton Hartford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was a pleasure staying here with my family! As soon as we walked in we were greeted by the most pleasant staff. The quickest check-in ever! The nice young lady that checked us in (I believe it was Mia, I'm horrible with names) was the nicest person to deal with, she gets an A+! The rooms were extremely clean, the kids loved the pool.. I can't complain about anything, we will definitely stay here again!! The kids loved it! A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Veronica,

Thank you for taking the time to review ou Hotel. Its always a pleasure that our guests enjoy the property during their stays. Evenmore when its shared on Social Media.

We hope to see you and your family if your travels brings you back to the Rocky Hill area

Sincerely,

Sheraton Hartford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Rocky Hill
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#2 of 5 in Rocky Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hartford South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hartford South Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hartford South Hotel
Address: 100 Capital Boulevard, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 (Formerly Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Rocky Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hartford South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Hartford South Hotel is located close to Dinosaur State Park and Arboretum, golf courses, and popular shopping venues. We also offer guests over 8,600 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hartford South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Rocky Hill Hotel Rocky Hill
Marriott Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing