We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN SHELTON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Shelton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN SHELTON”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Whether you are staying for a night or a week, the Hotel Sierra will meet all your needs.
Travel frequently for business and have stayed at all the Shelton hotels, and Hotel Sierra exceeds them all because of the cleanliness, most comfortable King size beds, all rooms have a fridge and a microwave oven (whether a suite or not) as well as a large flat screen TV. The bathrooms are well appointed and also have a make-up mirror. We like the fact that this is a "green" hotel whereby there are soaps, shampoos, etc, in dispensers. There is a breakfast buffet each morning that includes cooked to order eggs and omelets. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and you can walk to Chili's or Long Horn Steak House. It is across the street from a TJ Maax and a Shop Rite. Hotel parking has sufficient parking even when hotel is full. There is also an indoor pool and a small business area.
The only thing this hotel is lacking is a place to sit outdoors like a courtyard during the nice weather.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    122
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
163
96
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Sierra, in Shelton, CT while attending our nieces wedding. The King 1 Bedroom we stayed in was fantastic, with a really comfortable King bed and a pull out sofa for our daughter. The room also had a full size refrigerator, mircrowave , stove top, dishwasher, sink, dishes, glassware, and flatware!
The Hotel Staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our two night stay! The Hotel Sierra is also centrally located with easy access to shopping, dinning.
The Room rate was super, and included a full breakfast every morning, not only the usual cereal, and muffins, but great scrambled eggs, plus an made to order omelet station, bacon, sausage, home fries, and waffles or pancakes even fresh fruit! We really felt right at home and our entire family up to 100 members stayed and enjoyed the great hospitality of the Hotel Sierra Shelton!
Now if they would only have a few pet friendly rooms this Hotel would be perfect!
If you have to stay in the Shelton, CT area, this is the Hotel for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy05255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of September during a trip to visit friends nearby. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed in a King suite which was a large room with kitchen area complete with full size fridge/freezer, microwave, hob and dishwasher.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the large flat screen TV swivelled easily so you could either watch it in bed or whilst sitting on the comfortable sofa.

The staff were extremely helpful, especially Mike who went out of his way to help us without us even asking.

The hotel is clean, smart and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is substantial and the made to order omelettes were delicious. We would love to return and hope that we can find an excuse to visit that area again in the near future.

Room Tip: King suite is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzygeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel was amazing. Front desk staff nice, breakfast staff nice, even the housekeepers were sweet and friendly, stopping to tell me how nice I looked-there for my brother's wedding. The rooms were clean, spacious, GREAT bed (comfy), flat screen tv, kitchenette with fridge/dishwasher, IPOD docking station. The bathrooms were clean, and had great amenities, inc. hairdryer, lotions, and robe in closet, with iron. Everything you need. I definitely will be back. Breakfast was DELICIOUS and they kept it coming. Great selection, very hot. We needed it, being up at 6am for makeup. I definitely recommend this hotel. Please keep the standards up !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here to attend a near by wedding. The king suite we had was very nice. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. We had to leave early because of Hurricane Irene and the hotel cheerfully refunded one night's stay. Our only complaint was the pool water temperature was quite warm. Felt more like a hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I've been to many hotels with family and friends and I've never had such an amazing experience with the staff. They were soooo nice and accommodating and the hotel is beautiful, well-kept and new. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prozackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here one night prior to a wedding. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Check in was easy and the room was great. It has a small kitchenette stocked with all the supplies you could need. It even has a dishwasher! The room has comfortable space to eat, watch TV, and sleep. We only had one bathrobe, but I assume that is die to the fact that most guests are solo. If you stay, request an upper floor since the ground floor rooms face the parking lot and the foot traffic by the windows means little privacy. There is a steak house and a Chilis in the same parking lot if you need to eat dinner. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast spread in the morning.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Shelton

Property: HYATT house Shelton
Address: 830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4717 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelton Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 127 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind in the indoor pool. Conveniently located near Yale University on Bridgeport Avenue, known to locals as “restaurant row”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing