We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Courtyard Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Shelton
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is not your ordinary Courtyard: Much larger bar, larger layout, quiet location. As always, great bed and sleep experience with friendly staff and consistently high quality. Clean, great housekeeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Our associates pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review of our hotel the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton will certainly be shared with them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    55
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
59
29
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Courtyard Marriott was very nice inside and out. The landscaping was colorful and well maintained. The lobby was very sleek and modern. The hotel staff was courteous and efficient. The hotel rooms are spacious and has beautiful décor. The rooms are equipped with coffee pot, microwave and mini fridge. There is also, a restaurant and bar area onsite. Indoor swimming pool looked really great. I really like the location because it is centrally located among restaurants, retail and grocery stores. Shelton, CT is a beautiful city. I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and our hotel the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. We pride ourselves in being service professionals! We also hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a great hotel. I stayed for the latter part of my trip to Bridgeport Connecticut. At check in I would have thought they could have accommodated my room type request but the desk agent really didn't even try. Other than that - I love staying at Courtyard by Marriott anywhere because you always know what to expect. This hotel is no different - it has the consistent quality you expect from a Courtyard. My room was very spacious, bright, and comfortable. Great bed. I didn't have the time to eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Request your room type PRIOR to arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastor Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are glad to read how much you love staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. Thank you for such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I book hotels for corporate guests form my company in the Stratford, CT area. The staff at the Courtyard are always extremely accommodating to my guests needs and are easy to work with. My guests constantly comment to how nice the hotel is and especially the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for booking your corporate guests here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. We appreciate your business and look forward to a long friendship. Your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stay at a lot of hotels throughout the country and this Courtyard is one of the cleanest, friendliest, and most professional of them all! Its conveniently located near restaurants, shopping, and the highway, and has one of the best in-house restaurants/bars. Parking is free and the lot and surrounding area is very safe. Always look forward to staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddog488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for being a return guest here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton and for writing such a great review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasant experience and the hotel was refurbished and had the complete courtyard experience

Only the elevators weren't refurbished and is a bit dodgy

The hot breakfast is good and it is close to a number of restaurants in Shelton

The staff is helpful and overall a pleasant experience

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are glad to read you had a pleasant stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. Thank you for such a nice review and for your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently stayed one night here while visiting our daughter at a local college. The hotel has been renovated in the past year or so. We were greeted upon our arrival, the desk person was pleasant and explained where everything was. The room was very clean. The hallways appeared to have new carpeting. Their was no noise in our room, no loud heat or ac noise. We did not eat here but they do have a full bar and the menu did not look extremely overpriced. The pillows on the bed appear to be a bit smaller than standard bed pillows. Not sure what that was all about. Their is a Bertucci's to the left of the hotel, a Longhorn Steakhouse to the right and many other choices for food very close by. You could walk to the Bertucci's but not the others. The road can be busy and I would not walk it at night. We have stayed here many times and we have not been disappointed at all.

Room Tip: I have always stayed on the higher floors facing the back. Their is no highway out front, just a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton . We are happy to know in your many visit we have always given you a great stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shelton

Property: Courtyard Shelton
Address: 780 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4734 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shelton Hotel Shelton
Marriott Shelton
Shelton Marriott
Shelton Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing