We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Never thought i would stay at another Hampton property with my on going battle the Hampton Inn Woodbridge NJ getting reimbursed. I was truly surprised at this place. Not your usual Hampton; it's a new property, about 9 mos old. As soon as you walk in you are taken by how lovely this place is. The staff was great and the rooms were nice an large. Very clean. It's in a great location, Lots of different food locations in the area, close to Bridgeport, Stratford and New Haven beaches. Great place for the family, the kids will love the 2 story water slide. If you are a pet owner, great place to bring your four leg family member. The only draw back was the breakfast, not a great variety BUT Dunkin Donuts is right next door. This place is restoring my faith in the Hilton brand. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simbaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    153
    32
    20
    9
See reviews for
326
100
26
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel was simply fantastic! Staff was excellent,especially Angelica Miller who's customer service skills were simply superb! She made our stay very comfortable and even recommended a dairy farm /ice cream stand that our grandchildren loved. We stayed here four nights and the rooms were very spacious ,the beds were comfortable and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool. The water slide was also a big hit! This will be my home away from home when I am in the Shelton area, Definitely more bang for your buck than other hotels in this area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank brownsugarbabe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed two nights for a baseball tournament and had a great experience. The rooms are large, nicely decorated and very clean. Even though there were several teams staying at the hotel it was very quiet at night. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff was very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was ready by 6 am even on the weekend, which was great since we had to be at our fields by 7 both days. The pool and slide were a big hit with the boys and the parents!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnM537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Twp., OH
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was very nice; clean, well appointed, comfortable, quiet. We stayed here the first night of our visit to the area and enjoyed it so much we went back for two more nights.
We'll defintiely stay here every time we come back to the Shelton/Milford area.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on the rear at the north end away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhall854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

From check-in to check-out everything in this hotel was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. The pool area was very warm and humid but the kids didn't care since they were too busy having fun on the waterslide. The breakfast was great and had a great variety. If we are in the area again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaseballFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wow! Huge room... really HUGE! Everything and everybody was so nice! We have a ball checking in - even though it was midnight, the staff were friendly and lively. The room was lovely and very well appointed. The bed was SO comfortable... my son especially appreciated the "bed desk" - a lovely touch we have NEVER seen in a hotel room before. It's a very lightweight "desk" that you can put on your lap and put your laptop, I Pad or whatever on top and sit in bed and work. Breakfast was lovely and when I could not carry everything to my room, the attendant actually went with me to carry what I could not. AMAZING. Love this place. I have the good fortune of going back next week!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaDeCarina2834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked this hotel as a convenience stop between our visit to New York City and our cruise port in Boston. We couldn't have had a better experience. The hotel is crisp, clean and bright, the staff very accomodating, breakfast was fantastic, the price was fantastic, the pool with the slide was unbelievable (couldn't get my kids away from it).... I could go on and on and on EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheilah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, UTC, Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 10 mile radius. and we look forward in having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing