We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Hampton Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best of the Hampton Inns”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This has to be one of the best Hampton Inns I have ever visited. Brand new and in a convenient location, this Hampton sparkles. My reservation was handled quickly and staff were very professional and courteous. The room was perfect and already air conditioned to my preference. The bed was comfortable and the hotel hallway was quiet for perfect sleeping. Breakfast was excellent! Instead of the usual, they served cheese omelets and bacon sliced sausages. This is a great alternative spin on the usual thin bacon and powdered eggs. Even the standard coffee was perfectly brewed.
I had some time, so I enjoyed the huge pool. Very clean and well maintained, enclosed in a huge indoor area. The slide was not running, but I could have requested it from the front desk.
In short, this is the hotel for Shelton. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    164
    36
    22
    9
See reviews for
354
108
26
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This Hampton Inn was more than we expected. The front desk ladies and staff are so friendly and very helpful in everyway possible. The rooms were clean! Modern! Roomy! and Very Comfortable! We slept very well. The atmosphere was quite. Our rooms were located next to the elavators...Still Quite. We slept well.
Hotel is located near nice restaurants within walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Never thought i would stay at another Hampton property with my on going battle the Hampton Inn Woodbridge NJ getting reimbursed. I was truly surprised at this place. Not your usual Hampton; it's a new property, about 9 mos old. As soon as you walk in you are taken by how lovely this place is. The staff was great and the rooms were nice an large. Very clean. It's in a great location, Lots of different food locations in the area, close to Bridgeport, Stratford and New Haven beaches. Great place for the family, the kids will love the 2 story water slide. If you are a pet owner, great place to bring your four leg family member. The only draw back was the breakfast, not a great variety BUT Dunkin Donuts is right next door. This place is restoring my faith in the Hilton brand. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simbaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel was simply fantastic! Staff was excellent,especially Angelica Miller who's customer service skills were simply superb! She made our stay very comfortable and even recommended a dairy farm /ice cream stand that our grandchildren loved. We stayed here four nights and the rooms were very spacious ,the beds were comfortable and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool. The water slide was also a big hit! This will be my home away from home when I am in the Shelton area, Definitely more bang for your buck than other hotels in this area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank brownsugarbabe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed two nights for a baseball tournament and had a great experience. The rooms are large, nicely decorated and very clean. Even though there were several teams staying at the hotel it was very quiet at night. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff was very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was ready by 6 am even on the weekend, which was great since we had to be at our fields by 7 both days. The pool and slide were a big hit with the boys and the parents!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnM537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Twp., OH
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was very nice; clean, well appointed, comfortable, quiet. We stayed here the first night of our visit to the area and enjoyed it so much we went back for two more nights.
We'll defintiely stay here every time we come back to the Shelton/Milford area.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on the rear at the north end away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhall854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

From check-in to check-out everything in this hotel was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. The pool area was very warm and humid but the kids didn't care since they were too busy having fun on the waterslide. The breakfast was great and had a great variety. If we are in the area again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaseballFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
10.1 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, Lockheed Martin/Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 3 mile radius. We look forward in having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing