We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Hamptons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Hamptons”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was traveling through CT & MA on my way to NYC, and decided to stay somewhere about an hour outside the city and picked this Hampton based on reviews. I was extremely happy with the stay. The layout of my room was excellent, it was clean and updated, and the staff was friendly. The fitness area had a lot of options and the lobby was beautiful. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind next time I'm in the area. I wish all Hamptons kept up this standard!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmillc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    160
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
346
102
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Egypt, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast had a good variety and the few hot items were hot. If staying in Watertown I would highly recommend the Hampton. Very convenient to highway, shopping and a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our room was very nice, the front desk staff and and room maid were very nice and helpful. We were not pleased with the breakfast because we went at 9:30 and there was nothing left even though breakfast was until 10:00.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The pool really makes this Hotel which is obvious by the amount of them there. The slide is really cool and the hotel is clean and well maintained. We were going to Fairfield University which was just a short 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were originally booked in another hotel. Upon arrival they informed us that they could not accommodate us in our adjoining rooms even though we had a reservation. We called the Hampton Inn in Shelton. The staff could not have been more helpful. This was at 10:00 pm on a Friday night. They quickly checked us in to two adjoining rooms. They went above and beyond to make this a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were in town for a family funeral and found comfort staying at the Hampton Inn...wonderful place and great comforts! The room was quite nice and roomy and the breakfast was nicely laid out. The staff was terrific and our stay could not have been better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, AL
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The air conditioner in this hotel is controlled by a programmable thermostat made by Coastal Green Air ... details at coastalgreenair.com. Long story short, it appears there is a range of temperatures (roughly 72 to 78 deg F), that you have control. Should you go below or above that, the air conditioner will lead you to believe it's working, but will not maintain the temperature outside of the 72 to 78 range. It does this through a combination of programmable ranges, motion detector, and timer. According to the website, it's customizable by the hotel. Again, details can be found at coastalgreenair.com.

It's my custom to turn down the AC a bit given there are no light blankets. I can use either the comforter on the bed or the blanket in the closet. Both are too heavy for the programmed range. Hence, why I turn down the temperature. The problem is I go to sleep all nice and cozy only to wake up sweating. In my sleep, I kick off the comforter and then I wake up freezing. For the first 3 nights I consistently woke up between 3 and 4 AM playing this game.

On the third trip to the front desk, I asked to speak to the General Manager. He refused to talk to me, but did have maintenance disconnect the wall thermostat so I could control the temperature from the window unit. This is the second time I've asked to speak to the General Manager and have been ignored. During an earlier stay, they had no hot water and a barking dog next door to me.

At breakfast, the seasoned potatoes and bacon were not properly cooked. On two mornings, there was no meat of any kind. Hard biscuits and white gravy aren't my idea of a hot breakfast. Throughout my one week stay, there were routine shortages of eggs, coffee, orange juice, and milk. During my late visits to the breakfast area, the garbage cans were over flowing. There was also no attempt to clean up around the various serving containers.

The one bright spot during my stay was my check-in. The young man on duty went above and beyond expectations in his dealing with housekeeping trying to get me into a room quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: To get a good room in Shelton, I suggest the Hilton Garden Inn ... I've also had trouble at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
10.1 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, UTC, Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 10 mile radius. and we look forward in having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing