We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed there for a wedding that I attended in the area. The accommodations were very clean and modern. The bathrooms were especially spacious and the beds were comfortable. What was most impressive was how friendly and helpful the staff were. They were very down to earth and went out of their way to make all of the wedding guests staying there feel comfortable and at home. I was very impressed that the breakfast was far beyond the typical Continental fare.
I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizTee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    164
    36
    22
    9
See reviews for
354
108
26
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Upon our pm arrival, from the Lobby we saw a group of teenagers sitting at a breakfast table stacked high with pizza boxes. During our Nov. stay, the pool was so popular that the floor in the Lobby (loc.down a hallway and away from the enclosed pool area) was always wet with puddles. Kids constantly running around and two even collided with my husband as he was getting off the elevator. Breakfast attire -from toddlers to teenagers- was only pajamas and socks. And when we used the small closet-size Business Center, 6 young girls and 1 toddler came in to use the other computer. No parent or a person in authority was ever seen with these kids during our entire stay. Why? cause this hotel provides excellent babysitting services too! This is such a beautiful hotel, in a great location, with a professional trained staff. Unfortunately, guests w/kids dominate.The Staff tries to handle the occurances but they need Management to put in place guidelines for the safety and enjoyment of ALL the guests. Even with Trip Advisors helpful hints: "a room on the top floor" and "away from the elevators," we couldn't escape them. Kids on the loose were everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is excellent. My wife had to take a 2 day course in the area, so we stayed there on a weekend with our son. I called 7AM the day of the checkin and the hotel took down my name and they reserved my room (without asking for a credit card). they even allowed me to come in early if I needed. I found that very helpful though I did not need to checkin early. The property is very clean and up to date. The rooms were spotless. The only negative is that they did not have baby soap when I asked for it. The 12PM checkout is very reasonable. I would go back if I ever was in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was traveling through CT & MA on my way to NYC, and decided to stay somewhere about an hour outside the city and picked this Hampton based on reviews. I was extremely happy with the stay. The layout of my room was excellent, it was clean and updated, and the staff was friendly. The fitness area had a lot of options and the lobby was beautiful. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind next time I'm in the area. I wish all Hamptons kept up this standard!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmillc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Egypt, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast had a good variety and the few hot items were hot. If staying in Watertown I would highly recommend the Hampton. Very convenient to highway, shopping and a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our room was very nice, the front desk staff and and room maid were very nice and helpful. We were not pleased with the breakfast because we went at 9:30 and there was nothing left even though breakfast was until 10:00.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The pool really makes this Hotel which is obvious by the amount of them there. The slide is really cool and the hotel is clean and well maintained. We were going to Fairfield University which was just a short 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
10.1 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, Lockheed Martin/Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 3 mile radius. We look forward in having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing