We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously helpful staff and a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulously helpful staff and a great hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I will not even mention the cleanliness and other great things in this hotel because those were all great, no question about it.. What I will mention though is the extremely helpful staff right from the manager Fernando to the front desk (Jon, Andres) to the drivers (Louis, Kofi, Gilbert) to the kitchen and room service staff - they were all very very courteous, helpful and always were with a smile... On this trip, I stayed for over 5 months in the hotel, and I did not have 1 single complaint... Brilliant...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank DiK153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    157
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
337
103
26
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Beds were very comfortable, indoor pool was convenient and water slide was great for kids. Make your own breakfast waffles were delicious. Hotel had been recently renovated and everything was new. A great value for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank kidshoecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The title says it all, but truly modern, comfortable rooms, nice beds, free continental breakfast, pool with a water slide, great location. Wonderful place to stay! Would recommend to anyone coming to stay in Connecticut.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver4LifeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here as a stooping place between Boston and New York. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, a large indoor pool and a big water slide, great cookies, coffee and tea in lobby 24 hours, free breakfast, helpful staff, lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, NJ, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very impressed with the service and facilities. I have no complains. The room was clean. Complementary breakfast was better than in other hotel. Check in and out was fast. Nice pool with a slide. Gym has is very well equiped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ang0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed there for a wedding that I attended in the area. The accommodations were very clean and modern. The bathrooms were especially spacious and the beds were comfortable. What was most impressive was how friendly and helpful the staff were. They were very down to earth and went out of their way to make all of the wedding guests staying there feel comfortable and at home. I was very impressed that the breakfast was far beyond the typical Continental fare.
I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizTee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Upon our pm arrival, from the Lobby we saw a group of teenagers sitting at a breakfast table stacked high with pizza boxes. During our Nov. stay, the pool was so popular that the floor in the Lobby (loc.down a hallway and away from the enclosed pool area) was always wet with puddles. Kids constantly running around and two even collided with my husband as he was getting off the elevator. Breakfast attire -from toddlers to teenagers- was only pajamas and socks. And when we used the small closet-size Business Center, 6 young girls and 1 toddler came in to use the other computer. No parent or a person in authority was ever seen with these kids during our entire stay. Why? cause this hotel provides excellent babysitting services too! This is such a beautiful hotel, in a great location, with a professional trained staff. Unfortunately, guests w/kids dominate.The Staff tries to handle the occurances but they need Management to put in place guidelines for the safety and enjoyment of ALL the guests. Even with Trip Advisors helpful hints: "a room on the top floor" and "away from the elevators," we couldn't escape them. Kids on the loose were everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
183 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, UTC, Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 10 mile radius. and we look forward in having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing