We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great find!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Acres Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Simsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited Green Acres B&B for an extended Fourth of July weekend. We arrived during a heavy rainstorm and were greeted at the door by Jim. Stepping inside we discovered a beautifully restored, immaculate home in which the original 18th century elements were seamlessly integrated with 21st century conveniences.

We went up to our room on the second floor and were absolutely delighted with the amenities we found. Jim and Cathy clearly have a terrific eye for decorating and a genuine appreciation for remaining true to the home's original period. A modern bathroom with jetted tub fit right in with the wide-planked wood flooring. The old wood windows remained in place but were smartly insulated to protect the room's occupants from outside weather and sounds. During our three nights' stay we never had an issue with outside noise. The bed had a premium mattress that was extremely comfortable and had a variety of pillows to suit any preference.

Our room included a mini-fridge fully stocked with complimentary snacks, soft drinks, bottled water, and champagne. A different variety of fresh-baked cookies waited for us in our room every evening, along with a decanter of sherry and assorted chocolates and candies. All complimentary, and all delicious.

Each evening we were provided with the following morning's breakfast menu, and we made our selections for the cooked-to-order meals. Fresh fruits, fresh eggs (laid by chickens who reside right there on the premises - more about them in a minute), parfaits, oatmeal, pancakes, choice of juices ... everything was absolutely delicious. We had our choice of dining inside or out, including poolside. We alternated between indoors when it rained and patio dining when the sun was shining.

The large property can best be described as a cross between a yard, park, and farm. A hammock looked inviting to just relax in the afternoon, while the pool offered a clean, refreshing escape from the summer heat. The nearby pool house was stocked with supplies and refreshments.

The innkeepers have two older dogs that are quite loving and friendly, and neither of them barked a single time during our stay. It was the best of both worlds to have the company of pets without any distraction from noise. What really made Green Acres stand out, however, was their chickens. Jim has a true love of all animals, and his chickens walked the grounds as house pets. I found them to be quite endearing and was amazed at seeing their different personalities, and enjoyed having them around. They were approachable and very tame (yes, I pet a chicken!) and they never got in our way.

Our stay at Green Acres was about as perfect as you could ask for. Jim and Cathy were very friendly, always available but never intrusive. Their warmth and friendship was felt from the moment we arrived and we felt like valued house guests rather than customers. After three days we left with the sense that we had just visited old friends. Now that's what I call a get-away weekend. We look forward to visiting them again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I just got home from Green Acres B&B, and we cannot wait to return. We chose to stay here based on the reviews below, so I had pretty high expectations. Even still, Jim and Cathy managed to go above and beyond what I ever would have expected from hosts.

Pros:
1. The bed was very comfortable. The room was cozy, and there was no noise to disturb us.

2. There were complimentary snacks, soft drinks, sherry, and AMAZING homemade cookies in the room.

3. You get to choose your own breakfast from a menu. Do yourself a favor and choose the skillet - sausage, onions, peppers, cheese, and a freshly laid egg by one of his chickens.

4. You also get to choose what time you want to eat and where. We ate outside on the patio and enjoyed the company of the chickens and Champion the dog.

5. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. You can relax by the pool, go for a swim, relax on the hammock, and hang out with the chickens who walk around on their own. If you ask, Jim will also take you in the barn to see the baby chicks he is raising.

6. After an absolutely amazing evening and delicious breakfast in the morning, we couldn't ask for anything more, but then Jim and Cathy gave us even more cookies for the drive home. They are super thoughtful and just the best hosts!

Cons: NOTHING. The only sad part was leaving so soon. We can't wait to return. Thanks again Jim and Cathy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Trade Room and loved it. It was downstairs and facing the road, but we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We literally just left Green Acres and miss it already! My husband found this little gem and we stayed over for one night.. Wish we could have stayed longer. We were greeted by Jim the innkeeper and his three canine sidekicks. He was so welcoming, inviting us to enjoy his home and showed us the several complimentary sweets and baked goods. We were even allowed to bring our own pup. Ace loved the yard and the chickens!!

We stayed in the Trade Room and the decor and design could not have been more charming. We felt so pampered and well taken care of.

Jim and Cathy were wonderful hosts. Couldn't have guessed we'd be served a 5star breakfast this morning. We were given a menu to fill out last evening and while it all sounded good on paper, our meal this morning blew me away. Fresh fruit, homemade hash, French toast, bacon and fresh eggs of course poached and all displayed so beautifully. Almost too good looking to eat. Jim out did himself. Everything was so delicious.

Cannot wait to find another reason to visit Green Acres again. Such an amazing experience. Thanks again Jim and Cathy!!!

-Dave, Kim and Ace :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmydegi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our hosts at the Green Acres B&B, Jim and Cathy, both made us feel very welcome throughout our recent stay at the Green Acres B&B. We really enjoyed our stay, and have already booked our return visit!

Green Acres is a beautifully restored 18th century farmhouse, and is very conveniently located for anyone visiting the Hartford area (20 minutes from the city center). We stayed in the Trade Room, which is charmingly decorated (I really loved the huge wardrobe). Most importantly the Queen sized bed was very comfortable, and we both got a good night's sleep.

I particularly enjoyed exploring the gardens the next day, which were full of spring flowers, and then relaxing by the pool. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravelCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed with a co-worker for two nights on our week long drive through CT. I am a bit partial, but I liked Green Acres the best of the 3 B & B's we stayed in. The house and rooms were very nice and comfortable. Had wonderful chats with Jim and Cathy - mostly Jim as we bonded over his chickens. Being a farm girl and having my own chickens, I felt right at home with their warm hospitality and chicken talk. Breakfast was absolutely phenomenal and well presented. This was a nice haven on our explorations of Connecticut. I can't say enough good things about Green Acres B & B.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room facing the road, but was tired enough and the room was comfortable enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanniebart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were flabbergasted by the pampering we received. Jim greeted us with fresh baked goodies, a warm smile and an invitation to enjoy his home. The house is beautifully furnished and restored to the original, decorated lovingly w/an eye for the authentic and a punch of modern whimsy it's historic but not stuffy. The room - OMG - it's like being in a 5star hotel...Jim and Cathy have thought of all the details that make a person feel special! Top quality linens, soothing décor, a bottle of sherry, some sweet treats, a jetted tub and cold drinks. The only possible negative is that their property is on a busy road so if you want to enjoy their swimming pool (you really should) it can be noisy - just open a bottle of wine, spend some time unwinding.... Note: They've taken an extra measure to insure you don't hear noise in the bedrooms, the windows are double insulated. Road noise in the room is NOT an issue in the house. Jim is a natural host providing a meal, interesting conversation and a sweet send off with coffee and cookies 'to go'. We'd love to return! Heck...we'd love to move in!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fresh flowers, complimentary snacks & drinks, outdoor pool, friendly and attentive to detail innkeepers, beautiful gardens, huge breakfast with choice of dishes, luxurious robes and towels. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJWRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
2.7 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Simsbury 1820 House
Simsbury 1820 House
#1 of 3 in Simsbury
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
158 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
10.1 mi away
Truman Gillet House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Bed and Breakfast

Address: 444 Bushy Hill Rd, Simsbury, CT 06070-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range: £110 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Acres Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres is a fully restored 18th century farmhouse combining the charm of an old residence with the amenities of a fine hotel. Enjoy a relaxing stay whether sitting by the pool in the Summer or the fireplace in Winter. Dine on the patio in good weather or by the fire in the dining room when the days become cold. Room service is available for those who prefer privacy. Stroll the gardens, swing in the hammock or play with the dogs and chickens. When you stay at Green Acres, our home is yours to enjoy as you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Acres Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing