We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You ate, paid your bill, now get out!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Tree Cafe

Maple Tree Cafe
Ranked #24 of 55 Restaurants in Simsbury
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You ate, paid your bill, now get out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We thought this would be a great place to go before the Willie Nelson Concert last Sunday.
The service was erratic. The wine and calamari was good, however the pizza was dry and had an unusual flavor. Minutes after we paid our bill the owner came to our table and asked us to leave so he could seat others. Besides being rude, there were several tables empty. The restaurant claimed to be Italian, but I question its authenticity.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

For years, I had seen the Maple Tree Cafe in Simsbury but never had the chance to go. This Father's Day, I decided to take my husband there as it showed up as an Italian Restaurant. We also had Willie Nelson tix at the Simsbury Performing Arts Center right across the street. The experience at Maple Tree was disappointing. Calamari was undercooked and the pizza (meat lover's) had a strange almost cinnamon like taste. As soon as we paid the bill, the owner asked us to vacate our table as others were waiting for outside seating - there was plenty of room in the lower seating area. His approach was rude to say the least. The restaurant was busy and it was apparent he was overwhelmed. My husband and I had just paid an adequate bill and were asked to leave after having wine, apps, and pizza. Needless to say, we will not be returning ever again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorriegWestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Owner at Maple Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello,

I apologize for your experience on Father's Day. Between it being Father's Day and the concert rush things were certainly very hectic. I will say that whomever approached your table was certainly not an owner as we were setting up our concession stand at the concert venue where we were a vendor. I again apologize for your experience and if you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to try and make things right. We would love you to be our guest again and have another chance.


Regards,

Ryan Krieger
ryan@mapletreecafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Was part of Appollo Restaurant. Owners retired. New owner kept up with the great entertainment but food went downhill. (Don't mess with success)New owner and chef are coming soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KPJP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See the Tree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Not your gourmet stop but warm and friendly. Stick to the basics and you can't go wrong. Pizza is very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great local bar...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We previously lived in Avon for 30 yrs and were back in the area for a wedding. Just had to stop for a short visit to the bar on a Friday afternoon. Totally miss the home town atmosphere at the Maple Tree. Our bartender was so much fun and service was great. The locals filled the bar by 5:00 and it was standing room only. Great place to visit. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maple Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maple Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing