We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inn”
Review of The Simsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Simsbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice inn”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed here for 2 days for a wedding that was held at the Simsbury Inn. Found the front desk staff inefficient and quite terse. The hotel was full the first night we stayed and seemed like the staff was overwhelmed. The continental breakfast is NOTHING, don't count on it. Saw a bunch of different rooms (since other family members were there) and the accommodations vary greatly room to room. Pool and Jacuzzi are nice, fitness room is just barely adequate.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    81
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
50
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We heard so much about the Simsbury Inn and decided to stay there while visiting with family in the area. We were greatly disappointed by the staff that was rude, cold and indifferent, the rooms were worn down, bed miserably uncomfortable and the bathrooms screaming for an upgrade (the toilet was even loose!!) Unfortunately there isn't much to pick from around the town and we can only hope that they "clean it up" to keep the reputation the locals think it is like.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed here for a wedding that was on-site. From the Simsbury Inn's website, I got the impression that this was a luxury property. It's not. It's probably a 3.5 star hotel. It also didn't have the "inn" feel that I was expecting. The rooms (I saw a few of them visiting with friends) were a bit shabby (chipped paint, stains on walls, TV remote missing the battery back) and the TV was old. The bathroom was very basic and the toilet paper wasn't very soft (a pet peeve of mine). The walls were very thin, and I could hear every single thing that went on in the noisy next room. To go in the pool, you had to walk through an unheated area, which was a no-go in December. The staff members were very friendly, so that was a nice plus. The free continental breakfast was just some tiny pastries and random fruit. You really couldn't get your whole day started with that, although it was a nice little snack. The room service was ok -- I had a delicious goat cheese appetizer, but the beef sliders I ordered were tough and tasted past their prime.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranky_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We wanted a weekend away- the hotel was clean, in a pretty setting with friendly unobtrusive staff. The pool is large, the jacuzzi moderate size, the "health club" very limited with one bike, one elliptical, universal and free weights and a treadmill that wasn't working. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are small- with just enough room for a sitting chair and a small desk, and the free continental breakfast amounted to juice, coffee and a choice of three sweet breads...the hotel's cafe did offer a reasonably priced breakfast with a full menu though seating was limited- some people arriving at 9:45AM on sunday had to wait....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megatnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We chose the Simsbury Inn this weekend for several reasons: 1) it was close to our daughter's house in Avon, 2) we wanted something different from a chain hotel, and 3) we needed a hotel that allowed dogs. We were impressed by everyone that worked at this hotel. They acted more like concerned owners than paid employees, even asking if we needed dog food for our labradoodle,

The lobby was attractive and functional and the very large sitting area to the right of the lobby was a perfect gathering place with sofas, wing chairs, and a roaring fire. Coffee and tea was always available and juices and breakfast pastries were set out in the morning. It was a treat to walk around the pine tree ringed perimeter of the property each morning on our doggie walks. There was plenty of parking. The indoor pool looked inviting but we didn't have time to use it. We also didn't have a chance to eat at their restaurants because we were only there for two days and already had reservations at Old Avon Farms and were taken to other restaurants by DD and family.

The room and bath were average but clean. DH thought the bed was too hard but I thought it was fine. There was no HBO but there was free wifi and there was a nice little sitting area. An assortment of Bath 'n Bodyworks toiletries were provided and it was appreciated.

We will definitely return to the Simsbury Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vettebuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Stayed one night. Very quiet. Hotel is back a bit from the road helps as did a room facing towards the back. Room itself is pretty much hotel standard, except for the 4-poster bed. Smallish, but the king room was adequate for 2. Bathroom, as others have noted is ok, but nothing special. Coffee maker and small fridge included; the last a nice feature. No hair dryer. The free continental breakfast is about as minimal as they can get away with. Paid breakfast in the Nutmeg cafe, off the lobby, was very good. Right off the grille. Based on our experience, avoid their Evergreens restaurant. See separate review.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaStat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I live locally, but the recent cold weather caused a pipe to break in my house (boy was that lots of fun). In order to keep my kids, and husband :), out of the plumber and clean up people's way we stayed at the Simsbury Inn. We had eaten the brunch there a few times (which was always great), but had never stayed.

The lobby is beautiful with high ceilings, and a neat little "nook" off to the side with a fire place. Check in was quick, which was good since the kids were starting to get a little cranky from having to deal with the hectic stream of people in our house fixing the issues. The staff was very friendly and we were greated with smiles by everyone.

The room had a sort of elegant country feel, dark wood and blues throughout. The bed was beyond description, my husband and I both commented on how it was the best night sleep we had had in years. Soft, and lots of pillows. I would have slept until midday had my children let me.

The pool was the highlight for the kids though. Indoor and well heated, the kids (6 & 9) were all smiles. For me, the cleanliness, the stonework, and the copious amount of windows gave the pool area a great feel (which was good considering how hard it was to get the little ones out). My husband and I loved the jacuzzi. The staff told us there was a workout facility, but we never made it there.

We ordered room service after the swim, and it came quickly (not the normal cold room service I am used to). There was a good selection, so both of the kids had something they liked. My husbands said his steak was great, and I had the a walnut salad which was simple, but very tasty.

All in all, we were sad to have to leave, and we have already started to talk about finding an excuse to go back.

  • Liked — The beds were heavenly.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CTMomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
3.3 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
8.7 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 6 in Farmington
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
7.7 mi away
HYATT house Hartford North/Windsor
14.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Simsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Simsbury Inn

Property: The Simsbury Inn
Address: 397 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Simsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel located 14 miles west of Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Simsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Simsbury Hotel Simsbury
The Hotel Simsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing