We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place! I've been twice and can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place! I've been twice and can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Heritage Hotel is a beautiful, relaxing place! I've enjoyed both a romantic visit with my husband, and (on a different visit!) a weekend-long family reunion, and I had a great stay both times. My family enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools, the raquetball courts and the health club. My kids loved swimming and also enjoyed the organized activities. We were very pleased with the food, both at the lovely restaurant and having snacks and drinks by the pool. Our rooms were large and clean, and the staff at the hotel were really nice and helpful. I hope I can get back there soon!

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredmom298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about your stay. From family reunions, romantic getaways, or corporate travel, the Heritage Hotel is an excellent destination. We also hope you can get back soon. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    137
    54
    29
    15
See reviews for
158
102
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

If you are like me, the best thing a business can do, even before offering a good product, is to provide excellent customer service. The Heritage goes above and beyond in this category. Each employee you come in contact with possess a certain eagerness to please their guests that stays consistent throughout your stay. This is the third year in a row that we have spent father's day at the Heritage and it was great the first year and only seems to be getting progressively better. There are constant renovations to the decor and rooms. This year we noticed that they upgraded to nice big flat screen high def TVs in our rooms. Some of our favorite things to do at the Heritage are play ping pong in the family common area, play golf at the on campus course, swim in the large indoor pool, and every now and then try our hand at racquetball. We usually spend one of the night in the hotel bar/grill where they offer a classy atmosphere and two professional pool tables (free for bar patrons). One of the best things is that once you check in, you really don't have to leave because the Heritage is located around a deli, Friendly's, liquor store, golf course, bar/grill, and more recreation than an active person can handle. I HIGHLY recommend the Heritage and will be looking forward to my next stay. Lastly I want to point out that The Heritage is located in a very nice area and town, Sotuhbury. There is shopping, Starbucks, grocery stores, restaurants all within a couple miles.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arodnyy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for your review and for your third consecutive stay on father's day at the Heritage Hotel. The employees at the Heritage Hotel take great pride in providing excellent guest service. Also, our amenities and location do allow many opportunities for fun, excitement, and relaxation while you are away from home. We will look forward to seeing you next father's day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasippany, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We celebrated my father's 90th birthday with a weekend at this hotel. We found the rooms clean and spacious, the staff courteous and helpful & the hotel facilities excellent. Since it was summer, the pools were a big hit with the children. My wife and I used the gym, which was adequate for our purposes.
We found the arrangements that we had made worked very well. Whenever we had any questions or concerns, the staff was right there to help. They also went out of their way to make this special weekend a memorable one.
I would stay here again in a second, and would recommend it to anyone for a weekend get-away or a family trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdavid416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for choosing the Heritage Hotel for your father's 90th birthday. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the property and the service from our staff. We would look forward to seeing you in the future-especially for your father's 91st birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Overall a great hotel. Very clean, and much bigger than I expected. Was very comfortable and the staff great. Only little gotcha was the ceilings and walls seemed a little thin and if you have noisy neighbors, this might be a problem.

Restaurant is more of a pub, which is not bad, but selection could be better. They go from $10+ pub burgers to $25+ steak with not much in between. It says something when people stare at a menu and all wind up with bacon cheeseburgers.

Internet was flaky. Could get to yahoo, but not google. Not sure if was too many people or what, but to check my gmail account, I had to use my phone instead of my laptop. Free may not always be better I guess.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback you gave since it will allow us to improve our service and amenities. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Was at the hotel for a wedding, here are the pros and cons

Pros
-Nice grounds, peaceful setting
-very family friendly
-ample meeting space
-nice recreational facilities

Cons
-In desperate need of updating and attention, numerous lights out, things not maintained(musty smell permeates entire hotel, carpet is old and worn, etc)
-friendly, but unprofessional staff (think summer kids working here as thier 1st job)
-poor representation of food (*hardly any hors devours at cocktail hour, and what was served was similar to what you would get from a grocery store frozen food aisle, and there was not enough. Dinner left alot to be desired with several if not more of us who had the Salmon coming down with FOOD POISONING!!!!
-Service was very very slow... everyone ws done with thier cake for 20min before they even came around with coffee??? And 35min to move the bar cart 20ft from 1 room to another??? Hmmm sounds like they are trying to cut corners and save money on food and liquor

Bottom line... its an ok place to take the family for a weekend getaway if you dont expect frills and dont mind hum-drum. Seems to be a good place for meetings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etiquette101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you so much for the feedback regarding your recent experience at the Heritage Hotel. It is through our guest’s feedback that we are able to continually improve our property. As it relates to your comments regarding the age of the facility and its need for updates, Please be made aware that we are always making improvements to the property to maintain a high level of amenities for our guests. Most recently we added 42 inch flat screen televisions in all our guest rooms.

The feedback that you provided about the event that you attended appears not to have been representative of many of the guests who attended the event, including the wedding planners who assisted in planning of this special occasion. Although we are sorry to understand that you became ill after the event, this appears to be isolated occurrence and not connected to our hotel. Rest assured that we have reviewed all of our sanitation and food service preparation procedures to ensure that we provide only the most fresh and appealing cuisine for all of our guests.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to having you back as a satisfied guest in the near future.

Gus Szkotnicki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

This is a weird review. The hotel was most likely a nice place for a small conference or big weddings. The staff are so friendly and nice. I had a great chat with a janitor or engineer guy. The front of house staff where all very accommodating. The problem is that the hotel is trashed. Plaster is cracked in the room. Wall of the corridors are screwed up and scratched. Furniture in my room was damaged.
So this is what I think.
The Customers Are The Problem. I mean they are destroying this otherwise fine place to stay. People where drunk everywhere. There was a couple yelling at each other in the Hall. Unfortunately my room was over the bar this made matter worse. People, why do you get to a Hotel and think you can be an Idiot. Other guests are staying for many other reasons. Have some respect to others and the property owner!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1whereintheworldami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are very pleased that you recognized our associates for the great guest service that you received. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced due to the behavior and noise of our other guests. Although individual behavior may be beyond our control, it is important to us that all of our guests respect each other and our property. We look forward to your next visit to the Heritage Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I recently attended a meeting at the hotel (end of March). The staff were both helpful and accommodating. The meeting facilities were wonderful and the entire event exceeded our expectations. After the meeting we spent some time in the restaurant / bar area and had the same experience. I am looking forward to having another event there soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inthevortex238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond and your kind remarks. We hope to see you and your group soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing