We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfy place”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at the Heritage Hotel for a President's Day weekend tubing trip. The rooms were pretty average/basic, but the desk staff was very attentive and accomodating. The breakfast buffet was great. The spa was only average. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2TeachNBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you! We enjoyed serving you in February and are glad you and your group found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We are also most pleased that the breakfast buffet in Eight Mile Brook exceeded your expectations.

The Heritage is a great destination for the summer also and we feature both indoor and outdoor pools, volleyball, hiking, bikes, tennis and golf. We hope you will consider us a four season destination and would look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at this hotel last weekend. We had been there before, but our friends had not. We are all impressed with the facilities available at this hotel. The staff at the front desk, Kamela in particular, was very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and well maintained. We, as well as our friends, will definitely be back here in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the North wing, as those rooms are more updated than other rooms at this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveC8353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

All of us at the Heritage Hotel are thrilled that you and your friends had such an enjoyable experience during your recent visit with us. I will certainly pass along your kind comments to Kamela at the front desk for providing you with excellent service. We do offer a great number of activities such as bikes, tennis, golf, and both indoor and outdoor pools not to mention all that the region has to offer.

We certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future and experience another wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A recent stay at the Heritage Hotel in Southbury, CT was like a return to a dependable site. While the staff was particularly friendly and customer-focused, the facility is showing signs of needing an update. Rooms are clean, but need updated flooring, wallpaper, plumbing fixtures, etc.

My only real complaint involves the location of the restaurant. Wishing to stop in for breakfast, access required using several sections of stairs. This was all but impossible for one member of our party, thus we did not return for future meals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paintpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to let us know about our very friendly and customer focused staff. Our people really make the difference to our guests at the Heritage Hotel and we are glad that you noticed their pro-active hospitality.

Eight Mile Brook our main dining room is easily accessible by elevator and I sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of that during your stay. Any of our staff would have been delighted to direct you and we hope you will use this option on your next visit.

We are continually working to improve the Heritage, and recently have completed a rooms upgrade which included new carpet and 42 inch HD TV's. We have multiple improvements planned in the future and we hope you will return on your next visit to the area. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I were in town for a family reunion. This hotel was beautiful. The only reason I did not give it a 5 rating was due to the restaurant. The waitstaff was rude and the quality of the food was poor. But the hotel, indoor/outdoor pools, jacuzzi and the landscaping was great. Would visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam_barton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Pam:

All of us at the Heritage are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We certainly will take your comments on food and beverage and try to make immediate improvements in this area.

We hope that you will come often and enjoy the pools, jacuzzi, golf, tennis and spa and the many attractions in the Litchfield Area.

With kind regards,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great hotel for families, outdoor and indoor pool, Squash courts and bike to rent. The stuff is kindly and respectful, The room was big and clean.

Room Tip: If you are a family choose the 1st flour its close to the pools,
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thanks for staying with us at the Heritage! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. We offer a great number of enjoyable activities for families including the indoor/outdoor pools, bikes, golf, tennis and great weekend children's activities at the pool. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to let us know that the staff here exceeded your expectations and that you found your room spacious and clean.

We hope you will come back often and look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable weekend.

Sincerely,

Judith G. Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I came upon this hotel thru Tripadvisor. Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights. All of the staff members we encountered were wonderful and accomodating. We loved the indoor pool and hot tub. We did not use the outdoor pool due to rain but it looked great too. Everything seemed clean with little wear and tear ( a rip in the upolhstery in the armchair in our room). I would recommend it. There seemed to be plenty for everyone to do in the hotel and in the area. I do wish that they would provide a map showing the layout of the property as well as a list of amenities upon check in. I agree with others that it was a bit hard to find the actual hotel at first because all of the buildings along that stretch are almost identical and so many named Heritage.... it was tough in the dark but do-able. We will try to stay here again if we travel that way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Heritage Hotel and your pleasant visit with us. I am so glad that you and your party enjoyed our warm and welcoming staff members. We certainly would be glad to have you back as our guest should your travels bring you to the area again.

Warm regards,
Judith Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The GPS gave us wrong directions. We turned in a drive on the opposite side of the street. The area is very dark and lighting and signage is very poor. Heritage Hotel sign hard to see. It seems everything around the hotel is "Heritage" something! The parking area is a bit of a walk to the front door. One person also staying here said you can't walk up or down the front steps and hold the hand rail due to a shrub on the lowest step. The hotel is sort of a dark , rustic color that blends in with the darkness and make it even more difficult to see at night.

Check in and out went smooth. Desk clerks were courteous. The rooms we had were clean. The bed was comfortable but creaky, as was the wood floor underneath the carpet. Pillows were decent - but I bring my own.

The dim desk lamp was equiped with a CFC bulb which could not be swapped out for an incandescent light bulb. Apparently the lamp socket will only accept a pin type CFC light bulb. I guess I will have to start bringing my own desk lamp to Hotels..

The room had a high vaulted ceiling and it took the Air Conditioner a long time to cool down the room. One wall was painted wood beams and other walls were wall papered. The AC is an AMANA unit that has a sensor over the door to detect movement in the room. The AC cycles off if there is no movement.

The bathroom was very clean and up to date. The Pedestal Style sink was big, but the water flow was slow, but piping HOT if you wanted hot water....To the right, on the wall was a round swing out magnifiying mirror for shaving or doing make up. A Sunbeam 1500 hair dryer is also on the wall. There is a digital alarm clock radio on the night stand. The bath tub could have used a re-caulking job.

Saturday night there was a group of noisey kids in the hotel and a barking dog outside the window. The hallways doors are very loud slamming doors, with no weather stripping or tensioners to ease closing. At night, there was plenty of light bleed coming from under the door. Had to lay a towel down at the door.


For $150,00 a night our rooms did not have a microwave or refridgeratior, but did have a 40" Plasma TV.

Heritage Hotel is about 4.5 miles from Quassy's Amusement Park.

Room Tip: Try to get here when its light outside.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Heritage Hotel. I do apologize you had difficulty locating the hotel at night due to your GPS. We do have fairly large signage on the road but I will certainly see if there is something we can do to further identify our entrance especially in the dark.

I am glad you found our staff pleasant and polite and the rooms clean. We have gone to more environmentally friendly bulbs in our rooms as the new government mandates no longer allow us to purchase 100 watt incandescent bulbs for environmental reasons. As far as noise, I hope you will call me the next time you plan to be in the area. I would be happy to make your reservation personally and insure that it is in a very quiet area of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Judith G. Kalfon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
304 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
784 reviews
11.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
506 reviews
19.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
10.4 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range: £83 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing